Dottie J. (pippin2) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 49 - Page:
16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove, Bk 1)
16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove, Bk 1)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 571
Review Date: 3/28/2006


Love her books. This is the first in the Cedar Cove series and a very fast read.


After Midnight
After Midnight
Author: Merline Lovelace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 1/8/2006


A really good romantic thiller set in Florida


The All-True Travels and Adventures of Lidie Newton
The All-True Travels and Adventures of Lidie Newton
Author: Jane Smiley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 11/18/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Enjoyable reading, but not the book I thought it might be, but fun nonetheless. Very good author, like her other books.
Dottie J


April 1865: The Month That Saved America
April 1865: The Month That Saved America
Author: Jay Winik
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/8/2006


Great insight on the end of the Civil War


Back Story (Spenser, Bk 30)
Back Story (Spenser, Bk 30)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 1/8/2006


Robert Parker does it one more time with a good Spencer story.


The Ballroom On Magnolia Street
The Ballroom On Magnolia Street
Author: Sharon Owens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/15/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book, Sharon Owens always has a unique slant on modern, N. Irish living. But, to be truthful I did enjoy the Tearoom on Mulberry Street better.


Black and Blue (Inspector Rebus, Bk 8)
Black and Blue (Inspector Rebus, Bk 8)
Author: Ian Rankin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 1/4/2006


If you like police mysteries, set in Scotland you will like this one.


Bold Spirit : Helga Estby's Forgotten Walk Across Victorian America
Review Date: 1/4/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent story about an amazing woman at the turn of the century. wish there was more known about her.


Bones of Coral
Bones of Coral
Author: James W. Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/4/2006


Being a Floridian I love any books by Florida authors, and this one is a treat.


Bus 9 to Paradise
Bus 9 to Paradise
Author: Leo F. Buscaglia
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/29/2006


Leo Buscaglia gave years for lectures regarding human relationships. This is his 9th book and deals with how we get through the day....the way we take the journey through life. Very positive message.


Christmas Crafts to Make Ahead
Christmas Crafts to Make Ahead
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/15/2006
Helpful Score: 5


A variety of Christmas crafts (cross-stitch, crochet, quilting, woodwork, knitting, etc., some would make good Christmas Bazaaritems, but others are large projects.


The Cove (FBI Thriller, Bk 1)
The Cove (FBI Thriller, Bk 1)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 550
Review Date: 1/8/2006


A very scarey romantic mystery


The Dante Club
The Dante Club
Author: Matthew Pearl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 372
Review Date: 1/4/2006


I was given this book by a friend to read, as I like historical fiction, but really did not find it to my taste...but others might enjoy historical mystery.


Elizabethan Cross Stitch
Elizabethan Cross Stitch
Author: Barbara Hammet
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/8/2009


I just love this book. I never knew it existed until I noticed it on PBS and I put in on my wish list. When I received it after waiting a few months it is wonderful. There are so many projects in it I would like to do. I love cross-stitch, I love crewel work and I love color, so this book is a synthesis of all that. I probably will be keeping this book rather than resubmitting it, as it will take me quite ahwile to complete those projects.


Review Date: 10/17/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Interesting, well done synopsis of many things that we know we should be doing. Isn't particuarily in-depth, but covers the subject well.


Flying Finish
Flying Finish
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/2/2007


As ever Dick Francis has written another terrific mystery. The theme this time is air transporting of horses. It is is amazing how much one learns while enjoying a good mystery.


Forever Favorite Crochet
Forever Favorite Crochet
Author: Better Homes And Gardens
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/15/2006


I do not crochet (but I do knit) bought this book because I thought I might learn from it, and never really have taken the time to do it.


Glad Tidings: Here Comes Trouble / There's Something About Christmas
Glad Tidings: Here Comes Trouble / There's Something About Christmas
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 241
Review Date: 1/4/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Good Christmas reading, but also nice love stories for anytime. Love this author.


How to Knit - The Definitive Knitting Course Complete with Step-by-Step Techniques, Stitch Library and Projects for Your Home and Family
Review Date: 3/15/2006


Really good instructional knitting book, a good book to add to your craft library.


Julie Hasler's Cross Stitch Designs
Review Date: 11/18/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Very good, basic cross-stitch designs. Full stitches, a good all round graphic design book.
Dottie J


1 to 20 of 49 - Page: