Kerry K. (mistysmere) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 141 - Page:
1,001 Ideas for Science Projects
1,001 Ideas for Science Projects
Author: Marion A. Brisk
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 5/27/2006
Helpful Score: 2


From backcover:

Explore the fascinating world of science with these exciting, timely project ideas!

For every science student from middle school to college - and for their teachers - here are hundreds of stimulating, original project ideas that are sure to spark the imgaination! Informative and easy to follow, this one-of-a-kind resource covers every area of science from astronomy to medicine to psychology - including environmental and space science topics straight from today's headlines. Unique features include:
-All projects keyed to level of difficulty, availibility of supplies, and time required
-Special safety instructions for lab experiments
-Expert guidance on writing a clear, complete project report
-Helpful lists of resources for additional information.


The Accidental Florist (Jane Jeffry, Bk 16)
The Accidental Florist (Jane Jeffry, Bk 16)
Author: Jill Churchill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 7/18/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Jane and Mel get married!!!!! Finally. Quite honestly, this book was very light on mystery. It almost felt like the author felt she had to tie up loose ends before she felt comfortable moving aways from this group of characters.

Even without all the mystery, I found this book to be enthralling. Things that I wanted to happen books ago did. But it also meant that some sad things had to happen as well. I've come to love this family, so it was a little sad to think this might be the end. If there is never another book in this series, I feel satisfied. If there is another book in this series, I will be delighted. But I wonder if the author will do some spin offs....


Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson)
Review Date: 1/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Cute teen book about the life of a British teen. Funny to read as an adult.


Baby Signs: How to Talk with Your Baby Before Your Baby Can Talk, New Edition
Review Date: 4/18/2006
Helpful Score: 9


My son did not speak until 15 months. From 11 months to 18 months, we used this book to aid in communication with him. It wasn't until the day that he said his first word that we realized he had been using his own sign for "kitty" since he was 7 months old.

I like how this book recognizes that not all signs have to be formal. They just have to have meaning for your child. The pictures in the book are very simple and easy to understand.


Bad Twin (Lost)
Bad Twin (Lost)
Author: Gary Troup
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 6/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Not a type of book that I would normally read, but as a Lost fan, it was something I needed to read. Glad I did. Lots of twists and turns and little tidbits of information that could pop up in the next season of Lost.


Bead on Trouble (Kitzi Camden, Bk 1)
Bead on Trouble (Kitzi Camden, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Burnett Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 8/28/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Took a little to get into. Felt that the bead theme was a little weak, as the main character had little to do with beads. Still, it was a nice quick cozy read.


The Beatrice Letters (A Series of Unfortunate Events)
The Beatrice Letters (A Series of Unfortunate Events)
Author: Lemony Snicket
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 10/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting. Can't wait to see how it ties in with The End.


Bedlam, Bath and Beyond (World of the Storm Ravens, Bk 1)
Bedlam, Bath and Beyond (World of the Storm Ravens, Bk 1)
Author: J. D. Warren
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 9/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book is convoluted and confusing. I gave up after page 80. There just is no point and I have too many other things to do with my time than spend it trying to figure out what is going on in this book.


Bewitched, Bothered & BeVampyred
Bewitched, Bothered & BeVampyred
Author: Terey daly Ramin (Editor), Gail Northman (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 5/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Some of the funniest short paranormal stories that I have read in awhile.


Bloody Bones (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 5)
Bloody Bones (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 5)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 852
Review Date: 3/22/2006


Anita Blake #5.

I am doing everything in my power to not run directly to a bookstore to buy the next book this very second.


Blue Moon (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 8)
Blue Moon (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 8)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 785
Review Date: 4/1/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Anita Blake #8

Richard gets arrested out of town for rape. Anita takes a small entourage to fix things. Except that the local vampires don't want her there. And the police want Richard out of town or dead. And the local trolls are being accused of killing people and everyone is about ready to hunt them down and kill them. And the local werewolves are stuck in the middle. And did I mention that the Blue Moon is only 5 days away? Just imagine the chaos. It's worse than that.


The Brush-Off (Hair-Raising, Bk 1)
The Brush-Off (Hair-Raising, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 11/9/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I had a hard time reading this book. There are many timeline issues that can lead a regular mystery reader to drink or book burning. The editor of this book should be ashamed of theirself for missing the glaringly obvious timeline errors. The storyline was OK in places and rushed everywhere else. Not to mention way too focused on the status of the main character's underwear. I will not be giving this author a second chance.


Bubbles Ablaze (Bubbles Yablonsky, Bk 3)
Bubbles Ablaze (Bubbles Yablonsky, Bk 3)
Author: Sarah Strohmeyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 5/10/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Bubbles #3

Not my favorite Bubbles book. Starts slow. Real slow. The ending was great.


The Buffy Chronicles : The Unofficial Guide to 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer
Review Date: 6/3/2006


From backcover:

The Buffy Chronicles: The Unofficial Companion to Buffy The Vampire Slayer is a fun and informative look at the first season and a half of the series. From body snatchers and poltergeists to werewolves and mummies, it provides the inside track on the show's strange yet seductive characters and topics. The Buffy Chronicles includes a retrospective of the film that started it all, a history of vampire legends, cast information, plot synopses, and behind-the-scenes trivia. From "The Death Toll", a roster of who's been killed by whom in each episode, to "I Fall To Pieces", a guide to the alternative music and bands that add so much atmosphere, this book has everything Buffy's fans could want.


Burnt Offerings (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 7)
Burnt Offerings (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 7)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 751
Review Date: 3/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Anita Blake #7

The vampire coucil comes to town. Lots of torture, but low death count. Good amount of Robert, but I dislike him being so pissy.


Catering to Nobody (Goldy Schulz, Bk 1)
Catering to Nobody (Goldy Schulz, Bk 1)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 1/30/2006


Goldy the caterer #1


Cerulean Sins (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 11)
Cerulean Sins (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 11)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 783
Review Date: 4/13/2006


Anita Blake #11

Belle Morte sends a party to visit, 3 months early. Chaos ensues. All I have to say is that LKH really knows how to write, because I have a lot of hatred for Richard.


Charmed & Dangerous (Bronwyn the Witch, Bk 1)
Charmed & Dangerous (Bronwyn the Witch, Bk 1)
Author: Candace Havens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 216
Review Date: 8/1/2006
Helpful Score: 4


I'm no prude, but I found some of the language in this book a little over the top. At times, it was distracting. Still, the story was good and the characters enjoyable.


Charmed & Ready (Bronwyn the Witch, Bk 2)
Charmed & Ready (Bronwyn the Witch, Bk 2)
Author: Candace Havens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 10/15/2006


The language in this book isn't as bad as it was in the first.


Cherry Cheesecake Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 8)
Cherry Cheesecake Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 8)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 9/3/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent story. I want to strangle Mike. DH drooled over the recipes. We're definately copying a couple in this book.


1 to 20 of 141 - Page: