Deidre C. (Historical-Book-Lovr) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 51 - Page:
The Angel in My Arms (Regency Rogues, Bk 2)
The Angel in My Arms (Regency Rogues, Bk 2)
Author: Stefanie Sloane
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/15/2011


The first book in this series I wasn't to sure about but after reading this one, this series has found its place in my "Will Buy and Continue" list. I am curious about this author and look forward to seeing how each story will progress and strengthen.

Pros:

There is excitement, danger and a good plot. You can relate with the characters.

On the down side:

The sex scenes are seriously lacking and unbelievable! The tension and build up is there between the characters but when it comes to follow thru and after you may as well as said "Insert plug A into slot B" and moved on.


3 1/2 STARS


Blood Price (Vicki Nelson, Bk 1)
Blood Price (Vicki Nelson, Bk 1)
Author: Tanya Huff
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 225
Review Date: 6/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Not at all what I was hoping for...it wasn't so much an awful read but it wasn't great either. The writing just seemed bland to me and it had a hard time keeping my interest. I am crossing my fingers now that book 2 will be better!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
To be fair I will say tho that my expectations were rather high as I had been watching the show and loving it. I naturally assumed the books would be better but somehow the excitement just wasn't there for me.


Bonded by Blood (Sweetblood, Bk 1)
Bonded by Blood (Sweetblood, Bk 1)
Author: Laurie London
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 2/10/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book ran hot and cold for me but most of the time it was just tepid..I could take it or leave it..and did a few times to read other books instead. It does come back to redeem it's self a little in the end tho..ya just got to get thru the middle...Also when reading I could not help but to be reminded in a lot of ways of Lara Adrian's series Midnight Breed... With the bondings and Sweetblood"Lust" Vamps on one side and the "Protector" Vamps on the other. I have not made up my mind yet if this is a series I will continue.


Caleb (Shadow Wranglers, Bk 1)
Caleb (Shadow Wranglers, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah McCarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 2/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Well my high hopes fell short on this one. Don't get me wrong I liked it but did not love it as I wanted to. This book gets off to an exciting start that sucks you in and make you keep reading but then it ends a few chappys in and gets confussing. It is almost as if there is another who took over writing...hmmm...the writing becomes disjointed and I found my self not being able to follow the conversations or what was going on stopping and going back a few paragraphs to reread cause I thought I missed something only I didn't. It was confussing and it drove me Nutz~! It felt as if a lot of the story was missing =(


Christmas on the Prairie (Four Romance Stories Full of Christmas Nastalgia)
Review Date: 7/25/2011


Loved this book! Full of loosely connected heartwarming stories of love and forgiveness & HEA.
One of those light reads that make you happy.


The Countess (Madison Sisters, Bk 1)
The Countess (Madison Sisters, Bk 1)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 2/8/2011
Helpful Score: 6


Not so much of the Sands humor I so dearly love, don't got me wrong parts will have you lol just with a different type of funny. Regardless this story is irresistible it will suck you in and keep you flipping the pages =) I won't give it away but I loved the ending I didn't see that coming at all & I so thought I knew who the killer was..Can't wait for the next book I absolutely love the H/H already and can't wait to read there story.


The Cowboy: Wild Ride / Cowboy in Paradise / Saddle Sore / Rodeo Man (Club Fantasy)
Review Date: 6/24/2011


This was a DNF for me =( Rating is based on two stories I did read....I wish I had only read the one.

Wild Ride: 0 Stars

Absoutly Terrible...I barely made it thru this story...It made me want to give up on the whole book.

Cowboy in Paradise: 3 Stars

This story was a thousand times better than the 1st "Thank goodness" but I have to wonder if I hadn't been comparing it to the 1st story if I would have felt the same...hmmm...Still I gave it 3 stars for the fact that at least there was some story line even if it felt hurried and forced to me.


Daddy's Little Helper
Daddy's Little Helper
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/24/2011


So I gave this 4 stars on another day it would have been 3. Honestly tho this story was everything that I wanted today from a book today, something the opposite of the more recent books that I have been reading. Sweet love story where you know going in that it will end with a happily ever after.


Dark Hunger (Carpathians, Bk 14)
Dark Hunger (Carpathians, Bk 14)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 1/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


"Disappointing at best. Honestly I grew up loving comics like Richie Rich and Casper the Friendly Ghost and thought I would like this too but this is terrible. The characters look so much alike from the profile that it is hard to tell them apart and t...moreDisappointing at best. Honestly I grew up loving comics like Richie Rich and Casper the Friendly Ghost and thought I would like this too but this is terrible. The characters look so much alike from the profile that it is hard to tell them apart and the little bit of story there is with it reads like "Me Big Strong Tarzan, U Little Jane, Me Taking UR Blood Now, Yes Please I So Dizzy, Now UR Mine"

So my advice to all the Carpathian fans who are looking at this as an interesting addition to the series "Save your money and time. It is not worth it"


The Darkest Secret (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 7)
The Darkest Secret (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 7)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 207
Review Date: 4/7/2011


OMG....going it to this book I was not expecting a lot & boy was I wrong by end it had found it's way into my top favorites of the series. One of the best in the series!


The Devil in Disguise (Regency Rogues, Bk 1)
The Devil in Disguise (Regency Rogues, Bk 1)
Author: Stefanie Sloane
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 5/11/2011
Helpful Score: 4


This book starts out full of promise but falls a little short of delivering. There is an interesting plot & family drama in the background but not enough detail is given to really bring it all together. Your left wondering Why, How & When a lot. Also there is great chemistry between Lucinda & Iron Will but when the author actually brings them together it is a flop. We are talking less then a page with no build up and the scene itself was dry and unbelievable ...perhaps the book would have been better with out it. All that being said...it was still a cute, easy to read story that was enjoyable as much as annoying.

The copy I read was an ARC and was still in need of editing so in the end hopefully some of these issues will be resolved.

I will pick up and read the next book in the series and decide then whether or not worth continuing.


Entwined (Eternal Guardians, Bk 2)
Entwined (Eternal Guardians, Bk 2)
Author: Elisabeth Naughton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 8/20/2010
Helpful Score: 3


Wow.. All I can say right now is to me this is has got to be the most promising paranormal series I have read lately. It has everything you can want and a whole lot more. It will be torture for me waiting for the next book in this series.


The Eternal Highlander: Nightriders / The Highland Bride
The Eternal Highlander: Nightriders / The Highland Bride
Author: Hannah Howell, Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 8/20/2010


The 1st story by Hannah Howell was great it drew me in and kept me reading and wanting more but when I got to the second story by Lynsay Sands, whose historical novels I dearly love, I felt let down. There was none of the humor that I look for in her stories and the the writing was just bland. Oh well I guess you can't like them all :o) For this reason this book only got 3 stars from me.


Fade (Wake, Bk 2)
Fade (Wake, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa McMann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 8/20/2010


I gave this book 2 1/2 stars. In my opinion it was much better than the first but I'm still having a hard time connecting with or feeling anything for the characters other than Cabel and even that is iffy.


The Heiress (Madison Sisters, Bk 2)
The Heiress (Madison Sisters, Bk 2)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 2/27/2011
Helpful Score: 7


Ok this one lagged for me. Mostly due to it feeling like I was rereading The Countess which I just read less than a month ago. Only in the last 150 pages does it really pick up and go on with their story. I hate it when authors do this reusing the same scenes and conversations from another book they wrote only changing the names so the other character is saying it. In the end it is still the same thing I read last time =( I think I feel cheated with this book...I hope the next will redeem this trilogy...I am looking forward to reading the youngest sister's story. Hopefully with Robert..


The Hellion and the Highlander (Devil of the Highlands, Bk 3)
The Hellion and the Highlander (Devil of the Highlands, Bk 3)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 8/5/2010
Helpful Score: 5


A great book to curl up with for a few hours. The heroine of this story is refreshingly funny in her ignorance and honesty. The naive things she does while trying to take advice from many others had me laughing out loud.


Her Alpha Male
Her Alpha Male
Author: Lillith Payne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/9/2011


OK I am going to B**** a little here....The story its self is not bad but the proofreading and editing left a lot to be desired. Lots of words were just flat left out for the sentences to make any sense and in the first half of the book it felt as if whole sentences / paragraphs are missing. It is hard to tell what is fantasy, flashbacks, dreamed happened and really going on in this time frame. To me it is too distracting to read a story when I have to try to fill in the blanks with what I think the author is trying to say.

On the plus side tho...It is a cute story and she does do a good job of expressing her characters so by the end you feel like you know them and care what happens in a short amount of pages. (story is only 130 pages)

In the end I think I will keep an open mind and try another of her books and hope all the errors in this one are a fluke.


Highland Obsession
Highland Obsession
Author: Dawn Halliday
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 6/24/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Guess my review will be the odd man out =)

Only 3 Stars from me:

I wanted to love the book but didn't. I think we all buy with our eyes 1st and I was hoping for hot, sinful highlander action. Instead what you get is a brooding, insecure highlander who spends the entire book debating his thought and feelings for his young wife.


Highland Outlaw (Campbell, Bk 2)
Highland Outlaw (Campbell, Bk 2)
Author: Monica McCarty
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 7/2/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Wonderful story! Draws you in and doesn't want to let you go, with easy to love and hate characters you'll find your self rooting for even if they seem doomed.


Highland Scoundrel (Clan Campbell , Bk 3)
Highland Scoundrel (Clan Campbell , Bk 3)
Author: Monica McCarty
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 7/2/2010
Helpful Score: 2


While for me at least this book got off to a slow start it picks up in the middle and redeems itself in the end. I really enjoyed this trilogy and look forward to starting on her next trilogy soon.


1 to 20 of 51 - Page: