Facebook

Susan M. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
Alice I Have Been
Alice I Have Been
Author: Melanie Benjamin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 10/22/2020


I really enjoyed this first person tale of what it was like to be Alice from Wonderland.

From her plucky childhood and relationship with Dodgson and her own family, to her adulthood eventual marriage and hardships through the war.

Alice I have been, was really well written and a compelling read.


Amity & Sorrow: A Novel
Amity & Sorrow: A Novel
Author: Peggy Riley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/4/2016


An aching story about a woman lost. Amy or Amaranth, finds love in a religious sect as wife number one of fifty. As life in Eden changes with the realization that her first born daughter is carrying a child sired by her husband. She flees with her daughters Amity & Sorrow. On the dusty prairie of Oklahoma where she crashes her car new beginnings sprout.

Amity & Sorrow are aptly named tethered together by more than a strap. A Cain & Able like tale where each will ultimately find their own answers in the Lord.


Animal Dreams
Animal Dreams
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 493
Review Date: 3/7/2012


This was a good story and I liked how the author went from past memories to the future and tied them together.I really enjoyed many of the lines in the story that rang true. The writing was very good.


The Barker Street Regulars (Dog Lover's, Bk 11)
The Barker Street Regulars (Dog Lover's, Bk 11)
Author: Susan Conant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 12/22/2013


What can I say, this book combines dogs and Sherlock Holmes, whats not to like. I enjoyed how the mystery unfolds around the world of a therapy dog in a nursing home. The similarities between the world made by Conan Doyle and this one in Cambridge Massachusetts is great at keeping you wanting to turn the pages. The added interest of the spectral realm in pet physics adds to the drama. the Sherlockian trivia is also great.


Bloodroot (China Bayles, Bk 10)
Bloodroot (China Bayles, Bk 10)
Author: Susan Wittig Albert
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 5/26/2011


I really enjoyed this book. I liked the plot line and the family twists within the storyline.


The Breath of God (Sherlock Holmes, Bk 1)
The Breath of God (Sherlock Holmes, Bk 1)
Author: Guy Adams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/25/2017


What's not to like about a Sherlock Holmes book. I enjoy a good fantasy romp in the supernatural realm. So, was excited to read a story in which Sherlock & Dr. John unravel supernatural dealings.

Although Sherlock only makes appearances in the story they are enough to whet the appetite. Also Adam's doesn't greatly change his persona. To that end Sherlock does in fact logically conclude the story with the help of his best friend and biographer Dr. John Watson. No surprise there.

I enjoyed the characters in this story, especially Thomas Carnacki, who from the start you hope is a "good guy". Dr. Silence (what a great name) and Crowley are portrayed well and with enough dimension to keep them interesting. The supernatural phenomena was enough to keep you turning pages to find out what is really happening and why.


Clockwork Angel (Infernal Devices, Bk 1)
Clockwork Angel (Infernal Devices, Bk 1)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 165
Review Date: 1/2/2014


I'd been waiting to read this book for some time. I was not disappointed. I love the characters and how they play off each other, they are not hard to follow. The story keeps you turning pages to find out about Tessa's powers as well as her relationship with Will.


The Club Dumas
The Club Dumas
Author: Arturo Perez-Reverte, Sonia Soto (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 12/22/2013


Such a good story. Lovely and intriguing interweaving Dumas and the devil. Excellent to the last word.


Cutter (Gail McCarthy, Bk 1)
Cutter (Gail McCarthy, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Crum
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/24/2015


Gail McCarthy is an independent person that is a veterinarian in California. Her clients all seem to be people with expensive cutting horses. One of the trainers she is friends with ends up dead. Gail has her suspicions regarding the death and takes the investigation into her own hands. This was a good story.


Farewell to the Horse: A Cultural History
Farewell to the Horse: A Cultural History
Author: Ulrich Raulff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/17/2020
Helpful Score: 1


Farewell to the Horse is an engaging, brilliantly written and moving discussion of what horses once meant to us. Cities, farmland, entire industries were once shaped as much by the needs of horses as humans. The intervention of horses was fundamental in countless historical events. They were sculpted, painted, cherished, admired; they were thrashed, abused and exposed to terrible danger. From the Roman Empire to the Napoleonic Empire every world-conqueror needed to be shown on a horse. Tolstoy once reckoned that he had cumulatively spent some nine years of his life on horseback.


The Foretelling
The Foretelling
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/22/2014


A strong story that is written enchantingly. Amazon warriors, Dreams, prophesies, bloody battles, horses, sisters, bee's and bears. How can they change what they have always known?


Full Cry (Jane Arnold, Bk 3)
Full Cry (Jane Arnold, Bk 3)
Author: Rita Mae Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/22/2013


Another great ride with Sister, Shaker, and the hounds. In this story the plot falls within the world of drugs and hits close to home as the murders are committed by one of the boys that used to run with Sister's son, Rayray. I love that the hounds come to Sister's rescue. A galloping ride, with new love interests.


The God of Animals
The God of Animals
Author: Aryn Kyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 5/4/2016


An outstanding book. I really enjoyed reading this story. Kyle's writing is succinct, lyrical and evokes great emotion. The horses in the story silently hold the family together through highs and lows.


Godiva
Godiva
Author: Nicole Galland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/2/2014


I didn't know much about Lady Godiva. This story makes her seem a flirtatious adulterous. However, she disobeys her husband and defies the king to ride naked through the town of Coventry to keep her people from paying an unfair tax.


The Good Old Boys (The Texas Tradition Series ; No. 1)
The Good Old Boys (The Texas Tradition Series ; No. 1)
Author: Elmer Kelton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/7/2018


Hewey Calloway is a confirmed bachelor cowboy. He loves to ride his horse into new territory, stay a while on a job, then ride away to something different. He has the makings of being a boss, but he'd rather just be a cowboy, keep peace and have friends.

Hewey has a brother named Walter that has a small Texas spread with a wife & 2 boys. When Hewey stops in for a visit he discovers Walter in a bad way, in need of help to get out from under a note that the bank is determined to call them on. The owner to the bank has the biggest ranch and Walter's small parcel is something he'd like to add to his collection of land.

Some misadventures happen and Hewey is nearly saddled into a marriage he's not really sure he wants as well as needing to help Walter get his cattle sold & crops sold to pay off the note.

A good read with a look into the ethics of the cowboy and how urban sprawl has affected their way of life. How some folks are born with a wandering heart of the past and some are born with the spirit to forge new things and adapt to change.


The Hearts of Horses
The Hearts of Horses
Author: Molly Gloss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 12/22/2013


A poignant novel about a young woman finding herself in the joy of training horses. The author gives a glimpse of what Elwha County, Oregon was like during the war years. The cast of characters gives a gut wrenching peak at life and death and love.


Hope's Crossing
Hope's Crossing
Author: Joan Elizabeth Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/22/2013


A great read for historical fiction. Since the 4th grade kids I work with had to read a historical fiction book this month, I thought I would too. I really enjoyed that it took place in Connecticut and mentions Westchester county NY, where I grew up. It wasn't hard to imagine Hope and her perils in trying to get back to her family. The book gives a good idea of what living back then might have been like.


Hotspur (Jane Arnold, Bk 2)
Hotspur (Jane Arnold, Bk 2)
Author: Rita Mae Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 11/13/2013


I thoroughly enjoyed riding with Sister and the other characters. I like reading the animals point of view. A good murder mystery.


The Hounds and the Fury  (Jane Arnold, Bk 5)
The Hounds and the Fury (Jane Arnold, Bk 5)
Author: Rita Mae Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/3/2014


Another fast paced ride through Virginia hunt country. I liked this murder mystery the best so far. I enjoyed the turn of events and look forward to the next read to see if there is a little less turmoil in hunt country.


I Shall Be Near To You
I Shall Be Near To You
Author: Erin Lindsay McCabe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/12/2020


Rosetta is a strong willed young woman who is deeply in love with Jeremiah. They marry. But the war is on and Jeremiah goes off to enlist. Rosetta can't bear to be parted and sneaks off to be with her love. She too enlists as a union soldier. Rosetta changes her name to Ross Stone and fights right along side of Jeremiah.

Rosetta is a compelling warrior and such a strong role. I loved her immediately as must have Jeremiah. She is such a rich complexity of strength in the face of adversity and passion to follow her heart and whats right. The story is moving and emotional and told so very well. It is worth the time to read and makes me want to learn more about the women that were brave enough to enlist as soldiers in the civil war.


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: