Facebook

Lynn (TheLankyYankee) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 82 - Page:
Everville
Everville
Author: Clive Barker, Richard Dominick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


What a magnificent writer. How the hell does he come up with these ideas? These places? These names? Does he dream them? Does he have visions? Do they just come to him? Unreal.

I had never been a fan of the gore that is Clive Barker, but this one is not bad at all.

Hardcover is 697 pages.


F is For Families: Cross-Curriculum Activities About Relatives and Traditions
Review Date: 7/18/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Simple activities for a family unit. It also gives suggestions for children's books to use with the activities. Recommended for K-1, can be modified for other grades.


Fatherhood
Fatherhood
Author: Bill Cosby
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 12/24/2005


For fans of Bill Cosby, and for fathers. I would read this to my father and we would laugh.


The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings, Part 1)
The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings, Part 1)
Author: J. R. R. Tolkien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 913
Review Date: 10/18/2005


C'mon, you Lord of the Rings junkies...you know you're out there.


Foley Is Good: And the Real World Is Faker Than Wrestling
Foley Is Good: And the Real World Is Faker Than Wrestling
Author: Mick Foley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/28/2006
Helpful Score: 1


If you are looking for this book, you probably don't need a review because you are a wrestling fan and will get it now matter what I say.


From Beirut to Jerusalem
From Beirut to Jerusalem
Author: Thomas L. Friedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 12/24/2005
Helpful Score: 1


An amazing journalist who knows his field--the landscape of the Middle East. I read this book after September 11. I will be rereading it and will post more opinions when I am finished.


Getting Ready to Teach Second Grade
Getting Ready to Teach Second Grade
Author: Kimberly Seto
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/5/2007


For the second grade teacher, this helps you to plan, organize, assess and succeed. It gives a good overview of second grade in all subject areas, including technology and visual arts, and discusses the kind of child a second grader is. 99 pages.


Going to Work
Going to Work
Author: Lisa Birnbach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/24/2005


It is great to compare the companies of today with the companies portrayed in Birnbaum's book. She divides the businesses into cities, so it is easy to look for your dream company where you live. Thoroughly enjoyable, even while working for a non-profit (which I do.)


Gunn's Golden Rules: Life's Little Lessons for Making It Work
Gunn's Golden Rules: Life's Little Lessons for Making It Work
Author: Tim Gunn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 10/21/2014


I read this book with Tim Gunn's voice in my head.


Here Comes the Bride: Women, Weddings, and the Marriage Mystique
Here Comes the Bride: Women, Weddings, and the Marriage Mystique
Author: Jaclyn Geller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/14/2006
Helpful Score: 2


An intelligent discussion of marriage and all the events that surround it in today's modern age. The author looks at this part of a couple's lives with a critical view. She explains the history of such marriage ideals as the wedding dress and the idea of marriage itself. I read this before I got married, and it validated some of my notions on parts of the marriage process.


The Historian
The Historian
Author: Elizabeth Kostova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 986
Review Date: 4/22/2007
Helpful Score: 6


I really enjoyed the book. Sure it's long, but it's rich in details and atmosphere, very in-depth about the history of Dracula, adding up to a mysterious read. If an editor could have omitted parts, I believe it could read like "The DaVinci Code" for Dracula.


Hot Tips for Teachers (Learning Handbook)
Hot Tips for Teachers (Learning Handbook)
Author: Ann Salisbury Harrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/22/2006


An alphabetical list of topics for new or fairly new teachers. The book has 137 pages but is short height-wise.


Household Saints
Household Saints
Author: Francine Prose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/24/2005


A beautifully written story involving an Italian family in the 1950s, combining religion and mysticism. I enjoyed the movie, but not as much as the book, though it's always good to see Tracey Ullman showing her acting abilities.


I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being A Woman
I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being A Woman
Author: Nora Ephron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 376
Review Date: 12/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


As soon as you get this book, and mark it receive on PBS, repost it. You read correctly--repost it. That's because by the time the next person accepts it from their Wish List, you will be finished. That's how short this book is. Oh, and not very good.


In Search of Excellence : Lessons from Americas Best Run Companies
Review Date: 12/19/2005
Helpful Score: 1


An excellent account on what makes a great business; loaded with anecdotes and practical applications. Much of what is discussed is still applicable to today's businesses.


The Inferno: Dante's Immortal Drama of a Journey Through Hell
Review Date: 12/24/2005


A great piece of literature; for a high school class.


The Joy Luck Club
The Joy Luck Club
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 926
Review Date: 10/18/2005
Helpful Score: 1


A wonderfully written book about the love of mothers and daughters, and the ethnic clashes of old and new.


Justice : Crimes, Trials, and Punishments
Justice : Crimes, Trials, and Punishments
Author: Dominick Dunne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 10/17/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Very interesting book about notorious crimes, including OJ Simpson, by one of my favorite authors; a speedy read.


Killing Pablo: The Hunt for the World's Greatest Outlaw
Killing Pablo: The Hunt for the World's Greatest Outlaw
Author: Mark Bowden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 2/5/2006


An excellent, detailed account of the reign and fall of Pablo Escabar in Columbia.


Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
Author: Anthony Bourdain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/24/2005


I supported and put myself through college waiting tables. The restaurant business is not for the faint of heart, and Bourdain describes it well. It is a rough life, and not easy even for servers. I take pride in my waitressing days--I was damn good, and made good money. A great server is priceless. Have a bad server and you'll see what I mean.

I loved reading this. It brought me back to those days. And whatever he says about the sex, drugs, and drinking are all true.
I laugh at friends and colleagues who are afraid to eat certain foods, or who wrinkle their noses at items left out of the fridge for a couple of hours--they should see what goes on in restaurant kitchens!


21 to 40 of 82 - Page: