Facebook

Lynn (TheLankyYankee) - - Reviews

41 to 60 of 82 - Page:
Language, Writing, and Usage: Inventive Exercises to Sharpen Skills and Raise Achievement (Basic, Not Boring  2 to 3)
Review Date: 1/22/2006


A collection of language skills practice (punctuation, spelling, word choice, sentence parts, verbs, etc.) centered around a circus theme.

Included is a skills checklist (aims for each page) and standards that connect to each page (though ELA standards have changed, they are still quite similar and can be easily adapted to the new standards.)

For grades 1-3.


Let's Go 2000: Washington, D.C. : The World's Bestselling Budget Travel Series (Let's Go. Washington, D.C., 2000)
Review Date: 2/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I'm a fan of the Let's Go series, and found this to be quite helpful. Though times and phone numbers may change, DC does not...may still be very useful and helpful even now.


Life's Little Annoyances
Life's Little Annoyances
Author: Ian Urbina
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/17/2006


Cute book about the (passive-agressive, actually) things people have done to get back at those things and companies that drive them crazy. Enjoyable read.


Living With War: A Belfast Year
Living With War: A Belfast Year
Author: Sally Belfrage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/11/2006


The author interviews both sides of the conflict, Protestants and Catholics. Thankfully, there is a glossary of all the different factions involved in the Troubles. Very sad stories but the people are strong and loyal.


The Looming Tower: Al-Qaeda and the Road to 9/11
The Looming Tower: Al-Qaeda and the Road to 9/11
Author: Lawrence Wright
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/21/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I thought I had read and knew everything about Bin Laden and Sept. 11, and didn't think this book would discuss anything new. I was wrong. The focus is on the beginnings of Islamic anger and leads to the development of Bin Laden and al-Queda, including how they were able to form. They could have been destroyed years ago; if not, then September 11 could have been prevented. Frustrating and exasperating.

Never forget.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2268
Review Date: 12/25/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Whenever I think that maybe, one day, I could write the Great American Novel, I then think of Alice Sebold and "The Lovely Bones" and realize that I have no shot in hell.

A magnificent, heartbreaking book, bittersweet yet uplifting all at the same time. What true writing is.


Lucky
Lucky
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1364
Review Date: 11/17/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this was an amazing memoir of a girl changed by a rape in her life. It challenges her to be strong throughout the process of her rapist's arrest and convictions. The emotions are finely detailed. The cast of characters around her are rich and focused. A truly fine book by an amazing writer. I would definitely read her other novel, "The Lovely Bones."


Me Talk Pretty One Day
Me Talk Pretty One Day
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1916
Review Date: 12/24/2005


Uproarious and hysterical; a great wit.


The Nanny Diaries
The Nanny Diaries
Author: Emma McLaughlin, Nicola Kraus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1402
Review Date: 12/24/2005
Helpful Score: 1


A quick read on what it's like to be a nanny for the wealthy. The parents want the good life, while the child just longs for the parents. In loco parentis is the nanny, acting like a parent but easily disposable. The author details one year in the life of being a nanny for one spoiled little boy.

I really enjoyed this. I always like a quick peek into the lives of the wealthy. Money doesn't buy class.


Neither Here nor There: Travels in Europe
Neither Here nor There: Travels in Europe
Author: Bill Bryson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 12/24/2005
Helpful Score: 3


Bill Bryson has the ability to make me laugh out loud. His observations are keen. The lure of Europe has remained for Bryson, but now he looks at Europe with the eyes of a middle-aged man and not a pot-smoking teenager. As always, very funny.


Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
Author: Barbara Ehrenreich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1099
Review Date: 10/22/2005


An interesting study of being poor in America. But my only complaint is that I feel Ehrenreich was not fully submersed in this world of the low wage worker. She had a few way outs in the form of previous friends to help her, an ever-present bank account if the going got too tough, and, of course, the option to quit whenever she felt like it, which she did.

However, don't let this distract you from her stories. It is head-shaking to read how even a fairly healthy, childless, white, intelligent woman with a car can struggle making ends meet. What does that say for the immigrant, minority, and sick people with children and no car? I am sure the low wage worker is comprised of mostly people in the latter category.


NIV Study Bible, Personal Size
NIV Study Bible, Personal Size
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/18/2005


I had to buy this for a college course. As I had never read the Bible before, I found it interesting. The book includes footnotes and detailed explanations. It is quite fascinating, particularly if you are not religious, as I am.


The Outlaw Sea: A World of Freedom, Chaos and Crime
The Outlaw Sea: A World of Freedom, Chaos and Crime
Author: William Langewiesche
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/4/2006


An account of the ocean and the ships and people that sail it; the author makes the case for an unglamourous life filled with danger and seedy actions. Two chapters are devoted to the Estonia, the horrible ferry sinking that claimed the lives of nearly 1000 people. This book is by the author of "American Ground: Unbuilding the World Trade Center."


Pick a Better Country
Pick a Better Country
Author: Ken Hamblin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/24/2005


A no-nonsense black radio host tells how he feels about American and the black community that does not take responsibility in taking part of the American dream. Conservatives will love him, liberals will hate him--you decide.


Pocket Charts for Emergent Readers: 30 Fun, Interactive Cross-Curricular Charts That Build Literacy (Grades K-1)
Review Date: 8/16/2006


Ideas for Pocket Chart Lessons. Includes lots of illustrations for copying. Very cute.


Reading Elementary (Language Literacy Lessons)
Reading Elementary (Language Literacy Lessons)
Author: Imogene Forte
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/22/2006


A collection of reading practice that includes word recognition and usage (sounds, vowels, descriptive) and comprehension and independent reading skills (details, main idea, cause and effect, following directions.)

Included is a skills checklist (aims for each page) and standards that connect to each page (though ELA standards have changed, they are still quite similar and can be easily adapted to the new standards.)

For grades 1-3.


Reviving Ophelia: Saving the Selves of Adolescent Girls
Reviving Ophelia: Saving the Selves of Adolescent Girls
Author: Mary Pipher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 12/24/2005
Helpful Score: 2


A study on girls are becoming damaged, both mentally and physically, during adolescent. If you have a daughter, it is worth reading; if you have a son, teach him how to treat a girl.


A Season in Purgatory
A Season in Purgatory
Author: Dominick Dunne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/12/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I always like Dominick Dunne and his account of the ways of wealthy people. They do think differently, from you and me. It also gives insight into the death of Martha Moxley and what could have happened in the Skakel household at the time of her murder.


The Secret History
The Secret History
Author: Donna Tartt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 4/17/2006


A very good thriller, well-written, detailed, with characterization. A rich novel.


Skills for Successful Teaching
Skills for Successful Teaching
Author: Sara Freeman Barbara Allman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/21/2012


Lots of good, basic information for beginning teachers. It discusses science fairs, field trips, writing workshops, among other topics.


41 to 60 of 82 - Page: