Facebook

Lydel B. (labcat) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Blue Highways: A Journey Into America (Travel Trilogy, Bk 1)
Review Date: 8/15/2009
Helpful Score: 4


A unique travelogue. Lots of historical data and stories about places visited.
A little disappointing at the end. Guess I wanted a better ending to the personal
and private part of the story.


Face to Face
Face to Face
Author: Audrey Kishline, Sheryl Maloy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Not very well-writen, but touching in its simplicity. An astounding story, a real eye-opener.


Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal
Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal
Author: Eric Schlosser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 600
Review Date: 5/27/2009
Helpful Score: 3


A fascinating expose about how fast foods all began and what it has become.
Especially interesting to me was the mention of the town where I live and
the story about the slaughterhouse that once operated here. I went to find
the building. It has been closed for many years. In other places, the
slaughterhouses are still operating full force. I highly reccommend this
book to anyone who wants to know what really goes on. I give it a five.


The Homesman
The Homesman
Author: Glendon Swarthout
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/16/2008


Fascinating story with a strange ending.


The Man Who Listens to Horses
The Man Who Listens to Horses
Author: Monty Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 8/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Monty Roberts discovers horse language and how to use it to communicate with these beautiful animals. If you love horses, even slightly, this is a good read. At times,
he sidetracks with stories of growing up in a dysfunctional household, but, if you can
get through this, it is worth it.


Ride the Wind
Ride the Wind
Author: Lucia St Clair Robson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 8/30/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Powerful, captivating narrative, at times, brutal. I already knew the ending from reading
the factual account of the story, but, still, I had to know how the author would choose
to unfold her story. What an incredible story!


Seabiscuit: An American Legend
Seabiscuit: An American Legend
Author: Laura Hillenbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 390
Review Date: 3/20/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this book! I had the opportunity to get close to thoroughbreds when my former neighbor was raising them. Magnificent animals! This books details a piece of history that had been unknown to me before. A fascinating true story!


The Smoke Jumper
The Smoke Jumper
Author: Nicholas Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 287
Review Date: 6/11/2008
Helpful Score: 2


A little slow getting started, but then, I couldn't put it down. The endng is very satisfying.


Transplant
Transplant
Author: P. Dossick
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 1/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


An intimate look at one family's experience with heart transplant during the early days.


Where the Heart Is
Where the Heart Is
Author: Billie Letts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1702
Review Date: 2/24/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is a GOOD story with a universal appeal, since Walmart is so much a part of so many people's lives. But Walmart is only the hook that gets you into the story. There is
much more after that. Definitely worth reading.


The World Is Flat: A Brief History of the Twenty-first Century
The World Is Flat: A Brief History of the Twenty-first Century
Author: Thomas L. Friedman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 7/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a comprehensive, yet detailed overview of the technological developments of the
last fifty years. Friedman talks about subjects that touch everyone's daily lives--Walmart, UPS, Dell--and how it is all tied together. The flat world is a fact of
everyday life for us now. It is fascinating to read about how it all happened.


You Are All Sanpaku
You Are All Sanpaku
Author: George Ohsawa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/27/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Since I am vegan, I wanted to learn more about the macrobiotic diet, since some of the
recipes can go both ways. There is a fascinating introduction written by the man who
did the translation of George Ohsawa's work. He details his experience with the brown
rice diet. It also goes into Japanese customs and rituals. Very interesting and informative and easy to read. I give it a four.


1 to 12 of 12