Facebook

Lea B. (moonsky) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Blackbird House
Blackbird House
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 10/9/2005


Set Cape Cod, this book is a compilation of interesting stories that intertwine generations of people, each separate, yet connected by the place they call home.


A Certain Slant of Light
A Certain Slant of Light
Author: Cynthia Thayer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/9/2005


I've read this twice. It was a great story of rediscovering life after tragedy.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4439
Review Date: 10/9/2005


Emotional and sensitive, a story told through the voice of a boy who suffers from an autistic-like disorder. Enjoyed it very much.


Girl with a Pearl Earring
Girl with a Pearl Earring
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1457
Review Date: 10/9/2005


I completely loved this book, Tracy Chevalier descriptive way of writing brought me right into the setting as though I was there myself.


The Hills at Home
The Hills at Home
Author: Nancy Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/9/2005
Helpful Score: 1


This is a cute book about a quirky New England Yankee family. One by one family members come to "visit" the old family homestead and it soon becomes apparent that no one intends to leave. I could see this story becoming a Sunday night comedy-drama series on TV.


Mapping the Edge
Mapping the Edge
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 9/26/2006


Haunting and unusual. Two stories in one... I liked it very much!


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5420
Review Date: 9/26/2006


Well read by several of my book club members. We all enjoyed it!


The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency (No 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 1)
Review Date: 10/9/2005


I read this book with my local book discussion group and I enjoyed it very much. Very rich characters! I look forward to reading others in the series.


Portrait in Sepia (Daughter of Fortune, Bk 2)
Review Date: 10/9/2005
Helpful Score: 2


A book with generations of wonderful characters. My book discussion group loved it and it has become one of our favorites so far!


The Secret Life of Bees
The Secret Life of Bees
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5507
Review Date: 10/9/2005


Excellent Book. Great book for a book discussion group!


While I Was Gone
While I Was Gone
Author: Sue Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 735
Review Date: 10/9/2005


A very good read.


1 to 11 of 11