Wanda N. (agga40s) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
All Is Vanity
All Is Vanity
Author: Christina Schwarz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 10/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting plot, quick read, kept my interest. Not the Great American Novel, but a pleasurable way to while away a few hours of down time.


Best in Show (Melanie Travis, Bk 10)
Best in Show (Melanie Travis, Bk 10)
Author: Laurien Berenson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 10/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


If you're a fan of cozy mysteries, and love dogs this is a great book. Besides enjoying a great mystery, I learned a lot about the dog show circuit.


Beyond Recognition
Beyond Recognition
Author: Ridley Pearson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/3/2007


Great thriller! Kept me on the edge of my seat.


The Biograph Girl
The Biograph Girl
Author: William J. Mann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/13/2009


An unusual story line, not a cookie-cutter plot. A good read.


Buried Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney, Bk 2)
Buried Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney, Bk 2)
Author: Carolyn Haines
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 5/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is my first read by this author. I've been reading cozy mysteries for years, but this one has a something special, including humor and great Southern ambiance. Good book, I enjoyed reading it.


Cape Refuge (Cape Refuge, Bk 1)
Cape Refuge (Cape Refuge, Bk 1)
Author: Terri Blackstock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 10/31/2006


Great suspense novel. The first in the Cafe Refuge Series. Quick read, I'm glad I didn't miss this one.


The Cliff Walk : A Job Lost and a Life Found
The Cliff Walk : A Job Lost and a Life Found
Author: Don J. Snyder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 11/1/2006


This book changed my outlook on the pursuit of "happiness." The author was a professor of English, married with 3 children and another on the way when he lost his job. After a long and fruitless search for a comparable job, he was finally reduced to doing manual labor to keep his family fed. He came away from the experience a much wiser man. Definitely worth the time, particularly if you're concerned about our society's obsession with material success.


The Diary of Mattie Spenser
The Diary of Mattie Spenser
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 11/2/2006
Helpful Score: 3


I don't usually read books in this time period or setting but I'm so glad I read this one. It is a character driven story, but the plot keeps you wanting to know what happens next. An unforgettable story of hardship, friendship, and survival.


Genie: An Abused Child's Flight from Silence
Genie: An Abused Child's Flight from Silence
Author: Russ Rymer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/30/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Intense true story of a girl who spent the first 13 years of her life strapped to a chair in the back bedroom. An interesting study of how she tried to learn to adapt to the world, a world she knew nothing about. Much focus on the challenge of teaching her to communicate, since she had never learned to talk.


Hard Times
Hard Times
Author: Studs Terkel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/30/2006


I'm fascinated with the Great Depression era, and Studs Terkel gives a clear and unvarnished view of how real people...young and old, rich and poor...lived through it. An amazing book.


The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 253
Review Date: 11/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Once again, Connelly doesn't disappoint. You can tell this guy is no stranger to the courtroom, the law, or the underbelly of the justice system. Great read!


Mrs. Fytton's Country Life
Mrs. Fytton's Country Life
Author: Mavis Cheek
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/25/2006


Touching yet sometimes hysterical account of a woman who thought she was the perfect wife, and how she handles the single life in the country after her husband dumps her for a sweet young thing. Fun read for those of us over 40, and even more fun if you've ever been dumped for someone younger or prettier.


Murder Among Us (Kate Austen, Bk 3)
Murder Among Us (Kate Austen, Bk 3)
Author: Jonnie Jacobs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 10/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I love anything by Jonnie Jacobs, especially the ones featuring Kate Austen. Kate is a very believable character, and the plot is full of suspense, not predictable at all. The perfect choice if you're hankering for a really good mystery...something that is increasingly hard to find these days.


The New Bedside, Bathtub and Armchair Companion to Agatha Christie
Review Date: 11/4/2006


If you're an Agatha Christie super fan, you gotta have this book! Complete lists of all of Christie's books (plus her plays and short stories), along with the synopsis for each book (without revealing the endings), AND alternate titles in case one you've already read was published under more than one title. Also a filmography. I built my collection of all of Agatha's works with the help of this book. Cool!


Old Dogs and Children
Old Dogs and Children
Author: Robert Inman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/30/2006
Helpful Score: 2


A charming, funny story about life in a small town in the Deep South. The character Bright Birdsong is a hoot!


The Spring Cleaning Murders (Ellie Haskell, Bk 8)
The Spring Cleaning Murders (Ellie Haskell, Bk 8)
Author: Dorothy Cannell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 11/10/2006


A great cozy mystery. Quirky characters, sparkling wit, and a great plot. A delight!


Thirty Years Of Sausage, Fifty Years Of Ham: Jimmy Dean's Own Story
Review Date: 3/12/2010


I'm not a huge Jimmy Dean fan, but I found this book very interesting and entertaining. Some great stories of stars, country and otherwise. Covers his life from birth till now. His account of his experiences in the sausage business were very interesting, giving great insight into both the corporate world and Mr. Dean himself.


Tomorrow Will Be Better
Tomorrow Will Be Better
Author: Betty Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 6/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best books I've ever read. Written by the author of _A Tree Grows In Brooklyn_, this book reads almost like a continuation of that story, but with different character names. It's as if Francie has grown up and is now following in her parent's footsteps. Not a feel-good book, but an emotional story that will stay with you long after you've closed the book. I've read it over and over, and I'm sure I'll read it still again.


Truelove and Homegrown Tomatoes
Truelove and Homegrown Tomatoes
Author: Julie Cannon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/15/2007


Awesome book, especially for those (like me) who love the downhome feel of a true Southern novel about strong Southern women.


The Yada Yada Prayer Group (Yada Yada, Bk 1)
The Yada Yada Prayer Group (Yada Yada, Bk 1)
Author: Neta Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 240
Review Date: 12/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Awesome book! Gave me a whole new perspective on prayer, and made me long to part of a prayer group just like the Yada Yadas.


1 to 20 of 20