Jane D. (terryslady) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 64 - Page:
7B (Mayfair Square, Bk 3)
7B (Mayfair Square, Bk 3)
Author: Stella Cameron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 1/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this story. It kept my interest. I think it was a little slow moving but interesting. Has s subtle humor to the dialog between characters. Nice story.


Almost Heaven
Almost Heaven
Author: Judith McNaught
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 1/27/2010


This is a story about a Scottish man, Ian Thornton, who ignored gossip and the ton's idea of right and wrong who fell in love with an innocent girl, Lady Cameron, at a country house party. They were manipulated by a jealous friend of Lady Cameron's and she was compromised, thus shunned by the ton. Two years later they are forced back together and they made amends eventually and married. As good stories go, they become separated due to events that took place at the time of her fall from grace at the house party 2 yrs previous and because of Ian's Scottish temper. Meantime he accepts his title denied his father by his father, he's arrested for wife's and brother-in-laws murders, Lady Cameron disappears. In the end they are together but I'll leave that for you to read about. Was a good story if you like strong willed, arrogant men and strong willed, determined ladies. A good read. I'm not good at summarizing stories and I don't like to tell the story so I hope I have told you enough to captivate your interest enough to read the book.
I just discovered Judith McNaught in a previous book, Something Wonderful. Also a good story. Hope this helps.


Amelia
Amelia
Author: Diana Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 11/14/2011


This was a good story. I read Nora first. Nora married King's brother Cal and that was a good story also. I think this breed of man and woman is vanishing. King is antagonistic to Amelia and rude and mean yet she loves him. She is keeping a secret regarding her family life and her seemingly submissive attitude rubs King the wrong way. He thinks she's after his money whether its via his brother or him. Amelia puts up with his rudeness because she loves him. King seduces Amelia then throws her away. You'll have to read it to find out what happened. I love the way Ms. Palmer takes these hard, tough, arrogant men and matches them with strong, feisty, self-assured women they can't walk on and turns it into an unbreakable love. check it out.


Anathema
Anathema
Author: Colleen Coble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 10/29/2015


I really liked this story. It was engaging. Had to keep reading to see what happened next. It is a story of an Amish girl who leaves the Amish community she lives in with a guy from the English world after her parents are murdered. She marries this guy and discovers life isn't what it should have been if his love was genuine. She escapes after a tragedy and remains hidden for several years before he finds her. She goes back home to see if what her 'husband' has told her is true. She has obtained a college degree during this time and has become a writer of Amish quilting. I can't tell you anymore, read the book. I will say I have added Colleen Coble to my list of authors to read. Enjoy. :)


The Australian
The Australian
Author: Diana Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/5/2012


I love Diana Palmers books. Her portrayal of men has gentled in the last few years. In the Australian our hero is a lot older than our heroine and he is very much in love with her but acts like he isn't because he thinks he is giving her an opportunity to go grow up and find herself. When she comes back to teach school, he thinks he has a chance but then he blows it. Fortunately they do end up with each other but there is a lot of pain and struggle on both their parts. Its a good story and if you like Diana Palmers books, you'll like this one to.


Beyond This Moment (Timber Ridge Reflections, Bk 2)
Beyond This Moment (Timber Ridge Reflections, Bk 2)
Author: Tamera Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 10/1/2015


I liked this story. I like that it causes people to take a look at themselves and how they look at others and how Jesus requires us to look at others. Molly has made a mistake and has come to Timber Ridge to be the school teacher vs college professor at home. Her mistake, when discovered will most likely terminate her employment and the relationship that has developed between her and the sheriff. There is adventure at the beginning of the book that makes you appreciate modern travel conveniences. There is ratiality issues. It's a good story. Enjoy!


A Bride for Donnigan (Women of the West, Bk 7)
A Bride for Donnigan (Women of the West, Bk 7)
Author: Janette Oke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 2/14/2014


I liked this book. the bride was very young when she became a bride, much younger than Donnigan but he was a gentle, caring man. It took a while before they understood each other, they were closemouthed for a while both assuming wrong things about each other because they were afraid to talk to each other. He treated her like a child, she wanted to be treated like a woman. It worked out though and turned into a very nice love story. You'll like it. Its a mail-order bride story. He almost sent her back but didn't.


Bride on the Run (Harlequin Historical, No 546)
Bride on the Run (Harlequin Historical, No 546)
Author: Elizabeth Lane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/11/2013


A good story. This young lady endures the news that her new husband only married her to mother his two kids thus never her own, in-laws who want to take the kids away from the father, nasty, lazy, lecherous, neighbors, quicksand, bounty hunters, and the man shes running from. Action packed story that keeps you reading. I liked it.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 805
Review Date: 1/27/2010


Good read. Funny, interesting and you have to keep reading to see what happens next. Enjoy it.


Captive on the High Seas (Love Inspired Historical, No 290)
Captive on the High Seas (Love Inspired Historical, No 290)
Author: Christina Rich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/31/2015


If you like pirate stories, you'll like this story.
She is sold by her step-sisters at an auction where they usually sell slaves and he couldn't see her go to the potential buyer and bought her. She is a little confused because she isn't treated like a slave and he's instantly in love with her but she keeps pushing him away. He has caused his family to grieve recently and is headed home. He meets an enemy while at sea who had kept him in bondage also recently and re-encounters him at his home. This new 'slave' is in danger from this other guy. I didn't write this very well but I don't want to tell you anything else. Just read it. It's good.


The Champion (Love Inspired Historical, No 99)
The Champion (Love Inspired Historical, No 99)
Author: Carla Capshaw
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/16/2014


This is a good book too. I only have read one of its predecessors, The Protector, I enjoyed both stories.
In these books, Ms. Capshaw gives us a look at a gladiators life. I can't vouch if she is right or wrong but I like her view. I always felt sorry and afraid for them.
Anyway, in The Champion, this gladiator hides a lady of class to protect her from her father who hates her. He eventually ends up rescuing her from her father who found her and brought her home and then beat her so she couldn't stand up.
Neither of these main characters are followers of Jesus but they are very close friends of The Protector and The Guardian, previous books, and they both become saved before the end.
I liked this story. It is full of intrigue, romance, danger, and surprises. This heroine is an archest. Did you know there is archers among the gladiators and in the ring? Its a good story. Glad I found it.


Chance of a Lifetime
Chance of a Lifetime
Author: Kelly Eileen Hake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/10/2014


Kelly Eileen Hake is a good writer. I've enjoyed the books I've read that she has authored. This story is about a very young widow who has a little boy who can't walk. She is determined to make it on her own so finds a way to make money and aims to save enough to go back to her burned down home and rebuild it and raise her son there alone. God has other plans for her and sends a young man into her life that she can't resist falling for especially when he seems to love her son so much. Take a chance and read this and discover how God worked in her heart and mind to help her accept His plan for her.


Child of the Mist (These Highland Hills, Bk 1)
Child of the Mist (These Highland Hills, Bk 1)
Author: Kathleen Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 3/11/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Very good book. Has romance, suspense, old witch hunter priest, mystery, betrayal, and characters who believe in
God. I've read many secular Highland (Midevil) romance before I gave them up and took a chance on romance books without all the sexual content in them. While it is not in this book, it is a very good story and I didn't miss it. Its a well written book and I would recommend it to anyone. If you like the stories with hard-headed male heroes, you'll like this one. He really isn't, he just doesn't know who to trust. Take a chance, read it.


Christmas in Cowboy Country
Christmas in Cowboy Country
Author: Janet Dailey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/29/2016


This was a good story. It goes slowly but steadily.


Claiming the Heart
Claiming the Heart
Author: Sara Luck
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/11/2013


I liked this story. Our heroine, Josie, is left in the carriage of the local widowed store keeper by her single mother and raised with much love. She is loved by everyone and I like this angle vs the underprivileged always being shunned. Ms Luck gives us a wonderful alternate view of life in the west. Josie meets the man of her dreams and eventually they marry but its a time span until that happens. He, our hero, comes to town to build a railroad, leaves and then returns. He is caught up in the politics surrounding the railroad against his wishes and eventually is freed from it to come back to Josie. This story is set during the time of President Grant, freed slaves, and the developing West.


Colt (Texans, Bk 3)
Colt (Texans, Bk 3)
Author: Georgina Gentry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/20/2012


I liked this book a lot. Colt was a little slow about figuring out women but he was still a sweetheart. there are some tense places in the story when Colt kills an Indian escaping the Indian village and him and the heroine returning to the fort. It is a good story. Keeps you interested.


Consuming Fire
Consuming Fire
Author: Kathleen Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/17/2014


Consuming Fire is a very good book. It concentrates a lot on forgiveness, trust in the Lord, and giving up all for Him. I think Kathleen Morgan is a very good writer.
Adam and Maggie are the main characters in this story. Maggie deals with experience of never really feeling or being loved by her parents. This causes several dysfunctional emotions in a relationship. Adam is dealing with guilt for dishonorable behavior towards his cousin/friend. Ms. Morgan infiltrates their struggles with these problems into the story and their struggle to get their lives or behaviors right with the Lord. This story is a good one. It is full of intrigue, action, deception, and love. Maggie wants to live her life in a monestary for women because she wants no part of marriage. God has other plans for Maggie and Maggie struggles with this for quite a while. She does fall in love with Adam and they marry but they have to overcome several obsticles. Adam is a man who truly wants to serve the Lord and he does despite Maggie's struggles. I would recommend this book to anyone.


Courting Trouble (Essie Spreckelmeyer, Bk 1)
Courting Trouble (Essie Spreckelmeyer, Bk 1)
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 216
Review Date: 7/19/2014


This is a good story and part one of two. The first book I read by Deeanne Gist was 'A Bride In the Bargain' and I loved it. Because I enjoyed it so much I ordered 'Courting Trouble' and 'Deep In the Heart of Trouble'. I'm not as much into it as I was the first one I read but it is still an entertaining story and I do like it. Essis Spreckelmeyer is a uniques woman of her day. Today she might be considered a little odd but not as out of place as she is in her time. She doesn't believe in a simpering, well-behaved, proper life-style for herself, she finds it too confining. I agree with her and although I've never hunted snakes I was a tomboy and I preferred being a tomboy to being a lady. Essie is a character you will love and you'll find yourself rooting for her most of the time. She has her momemts but I guess she deserves them. It is hard to imagine my life being controlled by my parents at the age of 30 but somehow Essie's still is. Oh well, it is a good story, enjoy.


The Cowboy And The Lady
The Cowboy And The Lady
Author: Diana Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 7/8/2011


I loved this story to. There is always an arrogant, domineering, know-it-all hero in Ms. Palmer's stories but it makes an interesting read as to discovering how the heroine handles him. Our heroine tries to keep her distance and stand up to our hero but she endures a wounded heart before he mends it. Nice story if you like drama.


Cowboy in the Crossfire (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1362)
Cowboy in the Crossfire (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1362)
Author: Robin Perini
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/29/2012


I like this story. It keeps moving. A bit of tenseness as you read to see what happens next. Don't know if its a series or not but sure do wonder what Logan's story is. Amanda and her 5 yr old son - Ethan - run to Blake per Amanda's brother Vinces dying words to Ethan after Ethan sees him killed. Blake is a former friend of Vince and a sheriff in his town. Blake sends his mom to Logan for protection and takes Amanda and Ethan there also. Amanda and Ethan and Blake are being heavily pursued by Vince's killer(s). Its a dirty cop vs good cop story.


1 to 20 of 64 - Page: