Jane D. (terryslady) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 64 - Page:
Dark Roots and Cowboy Boots
Dark Roots and Cowboy Boots
Author: LuAnn McLane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 9/6/2010


This was a good book. Small town in cowboy country hosts a daughter who's a hair stylist who would like a little more action than there is and meets a movie star who wants a little less than he has. It's a nice story.


Darling Enemy (Silhouette Romance, No 254)
Darling Enemy (Silhouette Romance, No 254)
Author: Diana Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/9/2012


I liked this book. I like Diana Palmer's books though. Ms. Palmer has two books where the hero is named King. This one is a more contemporary book. King is much older than Terri and has loved her since he first met her several years ago. He hid it from Terri tho becuz he says he wanted to give her time to grow up and have a choice. Terri however has always loved him and believes he hates her. It's a good story. Jealous, possessive, male ego cowboy vs an independent self sufficient woman. If you like Diana Palmer's books, you'll like this one too. Happy reading!


Dead Ringer
Dead Ringer
Author: Annie Solomon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/16/2010


I like Annie Solomon's books. They sound scary but the two or three I've read so far are good stories. In dead ringer the girl is playing an undercover role and of course can't be found out and there is the federal agent who is in it with her who can't be found out either. They have to find a lethal weapon and steal it along with proof of their hosts involvement.
She is also looking for her mother who gave her up and was married to their host and has died. Her mother's sister became their housekeeper and is still alive and living there. She is in love with the host who is oblivious to it. Their host is intrigued with our heroine because she so much resembles her mother although she isn't claiming relationship. It is interesting to discover who is innocent and who is guilty.
It is interesting enough to not want to stop reading until you find out what happens next.


Dear Penelope
Dear Penelope
Author: Sharon Ihle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/5/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Dear Penelope is a story about a naive young woman who has to learn how to survive after being dumped by her intended and doesn't want to be dragged back home to be married off to someone else. She finds a friend in the local bar owner and a job as a columnist. Its a fun story and it keeps you interested.
Good book.


Deep in the Heart of Trouble (Essie Spreckelmeyer, Bk 2)
Deep in the Heart of Trouble (Essie Spreckelmeyer, Bk 2)
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 7/25/2014


This is a very nice sequel to Courting Trouble. Essie is 4 years older and has survived a broken heart and escaped public scandal. She meets a handsome oilman's son who has been disinherited and is trying to make his name in the oil business. He falls in love with Essie and she him but slowly. He becomes the racer in her bike club's annual race. He is jailed for the murder of his step-brother. He also becomes friends with an elderly lady who reads and collects romance stories by the shelves full. She helps him win Essie's stubborn, fearful, heart. Its a fun story, full of action. Nice ending to Essie Spreckelmeyer. Enjoy them both!


Guard Duty (Texas K-9 Unit, Bk 3) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 331) (Larger Print)
Guard Duty (Texas K-9 Unit, Bk 3) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 331) (Larger Print)
Author: Sharon Dunn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/13/2014


This was a good story. One is surviving the loss of her sister and gaining the custody of her sisters daughter. The other is surviving knowing he killed his own father.
Both main characters are Christians and trying to lean on God for their strength. She is a cop, he is FBI. Her life has been threatened by the mob, he is chasing the guy who killed a rookie cop under his leadership, he is also become her bodyguard and the two stories connect.
It is a good story. Try it.


Hard Lovin' Man  (Hard Lovin', Bk 1)
Hard Lovin' Man (Hard Lovin', Bk 1)
Author: Lorraine Heath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 1/27/2010


I just finished this book. Ms. Heath is more familiar to me in Historical Romance, this is the first contemporary romance I've read of hers. It has an interesting concept that isn't mentioned too much. He is younger than her by 3 years, she was his teacher his SR. year. They fell in love but she kept them free from involvement until after he graduated.
They had a night together and then due to a mistake he made they are separated. 9 years later they re-meet and get involved again. To add to the mix she has a secret he discovers. She is also raising her sister thus the reason for moving back to the small town. It addresses parental abandonment, mistakes made during teen years that affect your future, loss of parents to death, having someone believe in you. She touched on several life issues and I think she handled them all nicely. Good story.


Highland Jewel (Topaz Historical Romance)
Highland Jewel (Topaz Historical Romance)
Author: Terri Lynn Wilhelm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/23/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is a good book. It's about an English girl names Hero who travels alone into Scotland in search of her maternal aunt. She is smart, self-confident, determined. I liked her. She comes across Ciaran MacLoarn who has just returned to Scotland for America to discover that his whole clan has been slaughtered. Actually there are some still alive who escaped the masacre and are living among neighboring clans. Ciaran and Hero fall in love while hiding in a haunted 'church' with another guy who has left his love because he's jealous of her and she won't put up with his jealous behavior. She is not what you think and it's cute side story to the original. Highland Jewel is what I call a sweet love story. It has it's drama, danger, etc but it's still sweet. Enjoy!!


If He's Dangerous (Wherlocke, Bk 4)
If He's Dangerous (Wherlocke, Bk 4)
Author: Hannah Howell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 5/15/2012


I did like this book. It took me a long time to pick it up and read it. I really like Hannah Howell's Scottish romance books & I wasn't sure I'd like a different direction by her but I have read the first and this one in this line and they were okay. this line is about those super-natural gifts we sometimes aren't comfortable with but these are okay. It's hard to think of people having these types of gifts but they must exist. My mom always saw her dead grampa and he talked to her so??!!
This story is as 'gentle' a story as Ms. Howell writes but it has its danger and intrigue. Our hero has his doubts as to whether he is worthy of a duke's daughter and the duke is a down-to-earth wonderful lovable man and his daughter is like him. Its another sweet love story. Criminals are kind of stupid but it makes a story. enjoy!


Just Breathe
Just Breathe
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 389
Review Date: 1/27/2010


I'm not experienced personally with divorce but from a wife and mother's viewpoint I think I would like to be able to respond to spousal betrayal somewhat like this lady did.
I know it's just a story but I'm rather glad she didn't cave in and go back to her ex. In my book, he doesn't deserve her. I'm for forgiveness if I can see genuine remorse but I don't think it would be easy for me. I like this ladies courage, she is pregnant with ex'es twins, and her ability to just keep going. She does meet a guy from high school who crushed her then but he has grown up and they get involved and it is done with much tho't and caution. He has a teenage daughter too which he adopted from a previous marriage done on graduation celebration weekend. Both looking for answers and a partner to trust. Good story.


Kiowa Husband (Heartsong Presents)
Kiowa Husband (Heartsong Presents)
Author: Diann Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/9/2014


This is a good book. I liked it. The author knew how to keep it interesting. They are forced to wed by a minister who abuses his position as a minister backed by severe prejudices. The new husband decides to dump his new bride once they reach their destination but when he nearly loses her, he realizes he loves her. He was taken in by Kiowa and raised and didn't know he has a brother still alive. If I tell you much more you'll know the story. Guess you will have to read it to fill in the blanks. You will like it. Enjoy.


Lonestar Homecoming (Lonestar, Bk 3)
Lonestar Homecoming (Lonestar, Bk 3)
Author: Colleen Coble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 5/7/2016


I loved this trilogy. Easy, quick read. Went through all three books within a few days. Colleen Coble is a very good author.


Long, Tall Texans: Emmett & Regan (Emmett / Regan's Pride)
Long, Tall Texans: Emmett & Regan (Emmett / Regan's Pride)
Author: Diana Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 7/27/2012


I like all of Diana Palmers books. Some are better than others but all good. Emmett is a single dad of 3 young children, hasn't paid much attention to them and the oldest is starving for his attention. They call him Emmett instead of dad. He meets Melody and at first thinks little of her but it develops. The niche in this relationship is that his ex-wife ran off and married Melody's brother and Emmett never faced up to it. Melody helps him get his life and his kids lives back together. Good story.

As for Regan, Ms. Palmer reverted back to her hard-headed, tough as nails, bull-headed male. He gives Coreen a hard time not believing she was the innocent in her former marriage and her now dead (serves him right) husband was the abuser. Regan once loved Coreen before she married but he believes lies and circumstances before he believes Coreen. This is a good story if you like the hard-headed, tough as nails, bull-headed male. In the end they are happy together. I likes this story.


Love Takes Wing (Love Comes Softly, Bk 7)
Love Takes Wing (Love Comes Softly, Bk 7)
Author: Janette Oke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 10/27/2014


I enjoyed the whole Love Comes Softly series. I was attracted to the first one and then discovered it was an 8 or 12 book series. I read somewhere that the author went back and wrote 4 more books but I've yet to discover what they are called. Anyways, my advice is to gather the whole 8 before you start reading. They are an easy going story but it draws you just to find out how everyone turns out. I like that even though they have terrible things happen now and then they hang onto their beliefs in the Lord. Their faith is strong through the whole series even when due to things that happen. I like that Clark starts out reading the bible every morning during the breakfast time and never breaks the practice. I like that they keep his faith strong during the whole book and I like that Marty is also a strong woman. It's a refreshing story of faith, troubles, sadness, struggle, real life experiences. Its one of those series you can hand your grandchildren to read and not be afraid of the context wording in it.


Maggie's Dad (Silhouette Special Edition, No 991)
Maggie's Dad (Silhouette Special Edition, No 991)
Author: Diana Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 10/31/2011


Our hero - Powell Long and our heroine - Antonia Hayes were engaged to be married and the day before the wedding Powell broke up with Antonia because he believed the lies Antonia's best friend, Sally, told Powell about Antonia. 10 yrs later Antonia comes back due to her dad's health and runs into Powell but won't talk to him. She takes a job teaching in the local school and has Maggie, Powell's daughter, in her class. Maggie is a very angry and unloved girl and makes more trouble for Antonia. It all works out in the end as usual but you should read it if you like Diana Palmer's stories because I think you'll like this one too. Enjoy.


Mail-Order Outlaw (Harper Monogram)
Mail-Order Outlaw (Harper Monogram)
Author: Millie Criswell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/17/2011


This was a different approach, a man being a candidate for a mail-order marriage. He was out running bogus charges by a crooked sheriff, she was trying to escape marriage not only to an icky man but also because she didn't want to be under the control of a man. Sorry, but the way some of those men are described, icky is very appropriate. "Icky" was daddy's choice and he didn't pick well. Daddy owned and ran a bank and was grooming "Icky" to be his next in charge. Well, when Cassandra marries Jake, after daddy gets over being one-upped, daddy takes a liking to Jake and teaches him the banking trade. Due to misunderstandings they split up, he goes back home, she eventually follows, pregnant, Icky follows with his own adgenda and it becomes an interesting story. Enjoy!


Marry Me
Marry Me
Author: Jo Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 10/26/2012


I read this book when it first came out but didn't recognize it from the back description. I'm reading it again. Rhyne has been raised by a self-serving arrogant father, Judah, who has led everyone to believe she was a third son. You'll have to read the book to find out why. We enter the story where a new doctor has arrived in town and is making his rounds and Rhyne's place is where we're coming up to. The deputy, That no-account Beaty boy, Will, is with Dr. Cole Monroe and has given Cole a rather colorful picture of who Judah is. During the course of the visit Cole is in the house w/Judah doing his examination and Will has gone looking for Ryan(Rhyne). Will finds her but doesn't think she looks so good. They converse a bit then Will starts back toward the cabin, hears a weird noise behind him and looks back and sees Rhyne on the ground, all curled up, holding her private area and lots of blood in that area. Remember Will thinks she is a he. He goes to assist her and she refuses so he shoots the gun twice to get the doc's attention but Judah told Cole it was target practice so when doc doesn't come Will goes after him. It just so happens that Judah has beaten Rhynes abdomin with his cane and she is miscarrying. I won't tell you who got her pregnant except that it wasn't her father, and I shouldn't tell you any more of the story but I will tell you that Cole does take Rhyne home with him eventually and of course as the book jacket says they fall in love and we all know where that goes. Its a really good book and it keeps moving all the way through it. Lots of interesting knowledge is given during the story. Cole left NY, NY because he wasn't happy there. Cole is interested in research and wasn't allowed to follow it in NY,NY. He does some here. An epidemic breaks out and he finds out what it is and who caused it. This book is a sequel to another one Jo Goodman wrote about a miner lady who inherits this same town and marries the sheriff. Also a good book. Never Love a Lawman. Reidsville is the town name. Hope this helps you. Ms. Goodman is a good author. She also writes a two book combo about a female pirate and I really love that story. This one was formerly named "The Captain's Lady" and when reprinted it was renamed "Passion's Bride". Don't know the name of the sequel. Hope you enjoy her books. I like most all of them.


Matthew (Circle Eight, Bk 1)
Matthew (Circle Eight, Bk 1)
Author: Emma Lang
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/13/2012


Great book, loved it. I think this was the first book I read by Emma Lang. I really like the historical American West books. Can't seem to find enough good ones. Kaki Warner and Jodi Thomas books I love to.
This is a good story about a young man left to raise his younger siblings (Matthew) and a young woman raised by her aging gramma who needs a solution as to how to survive. Matthew tells the land agent his wife's name is Hannah (which he doesn't have but needs to gain more land) but doesn't know where he's going to find a woman named Hannah who will marry him within a month. Hannah and her gramma have been taking in boarders to make a living until recently when they have dwindles to the point that Hannah doesn't know how they will survive the winter. Hannah and Matthew literally run into each other outside the merchantile and Hannah runs home speachless. Matthew follows her and they agree to marry. This is just the beginning of the story. There is murderers to catch, kidnappers to find, a lost brother, jealous siblings. A loaded book that you want to keep reading until its done and then you want more. Enjoy!


Merciless (Long Tall Texans, Bk 41)
Merciless (Long Tall Texans, Bk 41)
Author: Diana Palmer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 7/27/2012


I liked this story. Jon Blackhawk falls in love with his secretary/research assistant(don't know what to call her) and he gets shot becuz he underestimated the threat put out on him. As a result of her position of employment, Jocelyn becomes threatened also. To protect her and her son, Jon has them moved to his ranch where there is lots of security. Jon has returned to his ranch to recover also and he and Jocelyn become involved. The question of Jocelyn's son's paternity is up for grabs. Guess who it is? You'll have to read it to be sure. This is a nice story. Jon's brother is in it and also his mom. She gets involved in the whole threat and plot scheme and makes the story more interesting. Good Story!


Midnight Rider
Midnight Rider
Author: Diana Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 9/3/2011


I liked this story. Its a story of innocense and racial and social prejudices. A mean-spirited future mother-in-law and a selfish father. Bernadette is the recipient of all this prejudices going around. She is rescued by a wonderful man who has actually loved her for years just wasn't smart enough to realize it. Bernadette matures and blossoms and becomes very well loved by all. It is a beautiful story of innocense maturing and old prejudices dissolving. If you like Diana Palmer's books, you will like this one too.


21 to 40 of 64 - Page: