Kathleen W. (catsandbooks) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 51 - Page:
The Abduction (Theodore Boone, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 4/30/2016


Not a bad children's book. I didn't realize it was a juvenile book until I was a few discs in. Should be fairly entertaining for the junior set.


Artifacts (Faye Longchamp, Bk 1)
Artifacts (Faye Longchamp, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Anna Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/20/2018


This book gives a good chunk of history about Florida, hurricanes, archeology and the era right before the Civil War. Very enjoyable. The mystery twists right at the end. Looking forward to the other two books in the series.


Bad Girl Creek (Bad Girl Creek, Bk 1)
Bad Girl Creek (Bad Girl Creek, Bk 1)
Author: Jo-Ann Mapson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Charming story about friendship between women you'd never think would be friends. Thought provoking.


The Bar Mitzvah Murder (Christine Bennett, Bk 15)
The Bar Mitzvah Murder (Christine Bennett, Bk 15)
Author: Lee Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 1/20/2007


Fun story that will make you want to read the rest in the series


Becoming Georgia
Becoming Georgia
Author: Emily Carmichael
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/2/2018


Another delightful story by Emily Carmichael with a little Western history tossed in. A young woman is coerced into going to the big city by her grandfather and almost makes the mistake of her life but true love (always!) wins.


Black Hills (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Black Hills (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Nora Roberts, Nick Podehl (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/20/2014


Great unabridged audio book. Kept me entertained the entire time.


Boomsday (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Boomsday (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Christopher Buckley, Janeane Garafalo (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/17/2014


Very funny and made the miles go by quickly. Topic right on point for what's going on in the news - baby boomers and how Washington operates.


Born a Crime
Born a Crime
Author: Trevor Noah
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/5/2019


Interesting account of South Africa from a child's viewpoint. Unfortunately, was only able to get through the first part of the book before reading about psychopathic tendencies made me ill. Maybe this was supposed to be funny, but it didn't read as such.


The Broken Window (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 8) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 4/28/2015


Kept my attention. A rather frightening novel of what could happen in the future with technology. Liked it very much.


The Busy Woman's Guide to Murder (Charlotte Adams, Bk 5)
The Busy Woman's Guide to Murder (Charlotte Adams, Bk 5)
Author: Mary Jane Maffini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 5/7/2018


The best of this series. Not as much of a cozy mystery and bordered on the verge of becoming a psychological thriller. Kept me up too late one night to find out the ending.


Cupid's Melody (Magical Love)
Cupid's Melody (Magical Love)
Author: Karen Fox
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/11/2007


Love through the ages. Even a faery is no smarter than a human. Part of the Fae romances.


Died With a Bow (Accessories, Bk 2)
Died With a Bow (Accessories, Bk 2)
Author: Grace Carroll
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 2/17/2018


Truly stupid heroine who thinks she can solve crimes better than the police. Very tiresome


The Dog Park Club (Max Bravo, Bk 1)
The Dog Park Club (Max Bravo, Bk 1)
Author: Cynthia Robinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/31/2016
Helpful Score: 1


Liked it enough to read to the end but found it unsatisfying. It is quirky and the characters are exactly that - characters. Not what I expected from the flyleaf or description.


Express Male (OPUS, Bk 2)
Express Male (OPUS, Bk 2)
Author: Elizabeth Bevarly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 4/7/2007


Book #2 in the OPUS series. Contemporary and a fun read.


Fool Me Once
Fool Me Once
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 1/10/2016


One of the most enjoyable Fern Michaels I've read. if you love dogs, too, this book is for you.


For Cheddar or Worse (Cheese Shop, Bk 7)
For Cheddar or Worse (Cheese Shop, Bk 7)
Author: Avery Aames
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/2/2019


My least favorite book of this series. While cozies always have a heroine who gets involved solving a mystery, sometimes reluctantly, in this one our heroine is deliberately nosy, intrusive and annoying and has come to believe she's smarter than the police. I imagine her not as a young woman she's supposed to be but an old lady in thick soled shoes creeping around the town. She just isn't likeable any longer and I started wishing for her to be tossed in jail for getting in the way of the police! However, the plot was good; writing otherwise good; and the recipes enticing.


A Ghost for Maggie
A Ghost for Maggie
Author: Emily Carmichael
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 7/1/2018


A delightful read. A ghost decides to "help" a descendant on the road to love. I enjoyed it quite a lot.


Hot Stuff (Cate Madigan, Bk 1)
Hot Stuff (Cate Madigan, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Evanovich, Leanne Banks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 684
Review Date: 5/5/2007


Very fun with classic Evanovich characters. Quick read.


Hounding the Pavement (Dog Walker, Bk 1)
Hounding the Pavement (Dog Walker, Bk 1)
Author: Judi McCoy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 5/28/2019


Enjoyable mystery/romance. Ellie had a disastrous marriage so is gun shy about relationships. Her new business walking dogs comes with a twist - she can hear what the dogs are "saying." A murder, a few lost dogs, a hunky policeman - makes for a fun read. Looking forward to the next in the series.


Just For Kicks (Showgirls, Bk 2)
Just For Kicks (Showgirls, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Andersen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 312
Review Date: 9/16/2018


Both this book and Skintight were disappointing. I read between 50-100 pages of each then skipped to the last chapter and didn't feel like I missed anything in between. They are missing a spark that would make them enjoyable and worth reading.


1 to 20 of 51 - Page: