Facebook

Elaine - Reviews

1 to 20 of 186 - Page:
10 Bodies Lying (Body Movers, Bk 10)
10 Bodies Lying (Body Movers, Bk 10)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/11/2020


A little short on solving some mysteries. Carlotta is still reeling from the parental bombshell. Wesley is struggling with his addictions & having his father around. Carlotta in the middle of another death & still fumbling between Jack & Coop. The story ended unfinished with no wraps ups. I hope the next book answers the burning questions


11 Bodies Moving On: A Body Movers Book
11 Bodies Moving On: A Body Movers Book
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/12/2020


Bombshells, mystery, romance, cliffhangers. This book has it all. Carlotta on her own after quitting her job & still trying to decide which man in her love tripod! Wesley back at poker. Hannah testing new opportunities. Carlotta's parents with a lot of explaining to do. Plus ten points....


14 (Taylor Jackson, Bk 2)
14 (Taylor Jackson, Bk 2)
Author: J. T. Ellison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 7/22/2020


2nd book in the Taylor Jackson series. This one was so much better than the first. A long dormant serial killer reappearing or is it a copycat? Ties with Taylor's past & the stress of the upcoming nuptials with Baldwin. Taylor and team face a cunning adversary & the book is enthralling with all of the twists & revelations which begs the question, How far will you go for your family?


2 Bodies for the Price of 1 (Body Movers)
2 Bodies for the Price of 1 (Body Movers)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/24/2020


Such a mix of mystery, dead bodies, 3 different men to choose from. A gambling brother that knows better. Carlotta gets into so many scrapes but comes out of them hilariously. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the series


2 Bodies For The Price Of 1 (Body Movers, Bk 2)
2 Bodies For The Price Of 1 (Body Movers, Bk 2)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 4/24/2020


Such a mix of mystery, dead bodies, 3 different men to choose from. A gambling brother that knows better. Carlotta gets into so many scrapes but comes out of them hilariously. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the series


29 Seconds
29 Seconds
Author: T. M. Logan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/17/2021


Slow, boring, unbelievable crock of crap. The main character (Sarah) is unlikeable, her kids are whiny brats, her husband is out "finding" himself, & her friends don't really connect with her. Sarah is a professor who's boss (Alan) is a sexual predator & harasser. He brings in a lot of money to the university & is famous, blah blah blah. She skips back & forth sniveling about him harassing her but never follows through with reporting him and then thinks to maybe just sleep with him to keep her job. Seriously?!?! Her problems are solved when she witnesses an apparent kidnapping & the victim's father offers her a deal. She can give him one name & he will make the person "disappear" as if they never existed. Sarah isn't really torn on her decision on what to do and sets the wheels in motion which of course derail so she has to make adjustments. Not very believable and the "twist" has been overused.


3 Men And A Body (Body Movers, Bk 3)
3 Men And A Body (Body Movers, Bk 3)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 4/24/2020


The series is good so far but Carlotta needs to quit juggling the 3 ring man circus & her brother needs to grow up. Too many 2nd chances. This book #3 wasn't the greatest but I'm going to read the next one to see.


4 Bodies And A Funeral (Body Movers, Bk 4)
4 Bodies And A Funeral (Body Movers, Bk 4)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 4/24/2020


Carlotta is still making stupid decisions with the 3 men in her life. Pick one already. I want to know the mystery behind Coop so I'll continue with the next book in the series. They are frustrating but I keep reading them


6 1/2 Body Parts: a Body Movers novella
6 1/2 Body Parts: a Body Movers novella
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/24/2020


This little novella was a fill-in published in 2012 to keep reader interested in the Body Mover series. (6 Killer Bodies was published in 2009 & was a cliffhanger) Stephanie's publisher dropped the series & to stay employed she had to produce other books. She actually bought back the print rights to her books so she could continue the Body Mover series (which she has).
This short novella is Carlotta dreaming that her parent never left her & her brother Wesley & that she actually is married to Peter. She meets Jack, Hannah, & Coop but of course they don't know her. It was a cute little story to hold over until 7 Brides for 7 Bodies was published in 2015. It doesn't have to be read to get what's going on in the story.


6 Killer Bodies (Body Movers, Bk 6)
6 Killer Bodies (Body Movers, Bk 6)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/24/2020


I liked the twists & turns. I still think Carlotta needs to make up her mind between the men. Glad Wes is getting a little more of the storyline


7 Brides for 7 Bodies (Body Movers, Bk 7)
7 Brides for 7 Bodies (Body Movers, Bk 7)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/24/2020


It was a toss up between liking this & really liking. Carlotta & company in more zany murders, this time at a wedding expo. Still stressing because their runaway father is now in prison & mom is nowhere to be found takes up a lot of the story. The 3 man love triangle is slightly fizzling with the "keep away" so Carlotta can make up her mind & Wes gets some mind blowing news. I will keep continuing to read the series. It just sucks you in & it's fun & mildly irritating


8 Bodies is Enough (Body Movers, Bk 8)
8 Bodies is Enough (Body Movers, Bk 8)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/24/2020


It's about time some of the mysteries were solved! A Vegas vacation gone awry. Carlotta & friends in Vegas investigating her mother's whereabouts while her father is till in jail. Less romance between the 3 men in Carlotta's life while she still hasn't made a choice. Still satisfying the clear up stuff on the parents, Hannah, & Wesley


9 Bodies Rolling (Body Movers, Bk 9)
9 Bodies Rolling (Body Movers, Bk 9)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/7/2020


Roller derby, murder, a bratty sister, & her parents appearing after years. Carlotta & Wesley are trying to hold it all together. Delving deeper into family dynamics after being apart for 10 yrs & mom's dementia getting worse the family is in uproar. Carlotta still juggling 3 men & Wes trying to patch up with Meg.


Abandoned (Smoky Barrett, Bk 4)
Abandoned (Smoky Barrett, Bk 4)
Author: Cody McFadyen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/24/2020


Another great read in the Smoky Barrett series. A different king of monster this time. The whole team is involved & a little more deepening of the relationship with Tommy, Smoky, & Bonnie. Also changes coming in the FBI teams & funding. These books are very well written by Cody. He does a fantastic job with his lead female character & sub characters. Can't wait to read the next in the series "The Truth Factory"


About Last Night... and Too Hot to Sleep (Harlequin Themes\Harlequin The Best of T)
Review Date: 1/11/2021


A double offering of Harlequin Temptation romance. Not too smutty and published in 1999 & 2000. About Last Night finds Janine really not in love with her fiance & sneaking out to surprise him after his bachelor party. Surprise is on her when the best man is in the room instead and they are quarantined together after an unidentified sickness hits the hotel. Mutual attraction, a helpful manager, & passion ensue.
Too Hot To Sleep finds Georgia trying to be risky by calling her boyfriend and having phone sex. Only she dials the wrong number without realizing it. Enter hot cop Ken & a recipe for disaster.


After She's Gone
After She's Gone
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/24/2020


1st of all, I enjoy Lisa Jackson books immensely. This book (the 3rd in the Northwest series) was a bomb. I don't think it even needed to be written. The 1st book "Deep Freeze" introduced Jenna, Cassie, & Allie & was a great story. This book follows Cassie trying to find missing Allie. Way too much jealousy, immaturity, & egos. The story line jumping around too much & bad family dynamic. Not worth the read


All The Pretty Girls (Taylor Jackson, Bk 1)
All The Pretty Girls (Taylor Jackson, Bk 1)
Author: J. T. Ellison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 4/24/2020


This is the 1st book in the Taylor Jackson series. It was on OK mystery with loads of murder & forensic speak. I think there were too many side stories & gaps in the plot. I knew who the murderer was not too far into the story. A little too many characters & a side murder that didn't go with the rest of the story. I'm not sure if I will reads the next book in the series.


All The Pretty Girls (Taylor Jackson, Bk 1)
All The Pretty Girls (Taylor Jackson, Bk 1)
Author: J. T. Ellison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 4/24/2020


This is the 1st book in the Taylor Jackson series. It was on OK mystery with loads of murder & forensic speak. I think there were too many side stories & gaps in the plot. I knew who the murderer was not too far into the story. A little too many characters & a side murder that didn't go with the rest of the story. I'm not sure if I will reads the next book in the series.


American Sniper: Memorial Edition
American Sniper: Memorial Edition
Author: Chris Kyle, Scott McEwen, Jim DeFelice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/5/2020


I love military books. I tried to like this one & I just didn't. I've seen the movie (pretty good) and then read the book. I don't disagree the Chris is heroic and saved a lot of lives and it's a tragedy that he was killed by another military person. This first hand account is just ugh. Almost the entire time of "being a sniper & we live in the shadows & are silent professionals", Chris spends almost the entire book bragging about how many kills of insurgents (or savages as he calls them) and then so many kills he stepped back so he could let the other guys in the platoon get a few. Also brags about fighting and getting arrested and getting out of jail with no charges. His wife contributed the the book a lot and I felt sorry for her since he cared more about the SEAL team and country before his wife and 2 kids. Also disrespect to higher up officers who he called "ultra cautious pussies" It just seemed this book was him telling how great he is and didn't really seem to care about his wife on her own and just kept reenlisting. Good for him at the end for finally leaving the Navy and starting a kick ass foundation to help wounded vets.


Authentic: Developing the Disciplines of a Sincere Faith
Authentic: Developing the Disciplines of a Sincere Faith
Author: James MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/24/2020


Loved this book & found the podcast sermons to most of it. The Discipline of Personal Prayer was my favorite chapter. Transparency with your church group & a study on this book would be ideal.


1 to 20 of 186 - Page: