Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Ashley - Reviews

1 to 20 of 36 - Page:
Across the Spectrum: Understanding Issues in Evangelical Theology
Review Date: 4/1/2008


This book does a great job of presenting two or three different views on current, sometimes controversial, issues in evangelical theology. Definitely good for furthering your knowledge on these subjects and helping you understand these issues and teachings.


The Alchemyst (Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, Bk 1)
The Alchemyst (Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Scott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 7/19/2009


To me, this book seemed like something along the lines of Harry Potter meets Lord of the Rings meets the modern world, with other things thrown in that I can't compare to anything else. I read it quickly, and it did make for a somewhat exciting story, but it won't be one that stays with me for long. One thing that absolutely drove me crazy was that the author uses the same catchphrases and descriptive phrases over and over. It finally made me cringe to read the same phrase for what seemed like (or may have been!) the 14th time. Overall, I thought this book was just OK. Even though it's book one of a series, I may not continue on to the other books. For me, it just wasn't that much of an attention-grabber.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 301
Review Date: 3/8/2009
Helpful Score: 2


It took me about 75 pages to really get into this book, but once I did, I finished it in two days. That's really fast for me! I sometimes don't have the longest attention span when it comes to reading (haha!), but I sat and read this book for four straight hours and then only put it down because I had somewhere else to be. I've always been intrigued by books and movies that deal with secret societies and I loved reading about art and architecture, Rome, and the Vatican in addition. Truly a suspenseful story with lots of twists. Great book!


As Sure As the Sun
As Sure As the Sun
Author: Anna McPartlin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/8/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I started this book one afternoon and ended up staying up until 4:00 a.m. to finish it. The writing style and the story were completely enthralling - I could NOT put this book down. This was one of a few books where I felt such a range of emotions. I cried, I laughed, and when the big family secret is unveiled, I found MY heart pounding right along with the characters in the story. I loved this book, and I will definitely be reading more from Anna McPartlin.


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 379
Review Date: 9/18/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Basically, there were only about 100 pages of this book that I really enjoyed.
I felt that the first 100 pages could probably have been summed up in about 10 pages. I had to push through them, and I only did that because I've heard other people say the first part of this book can drag on.
I thought the author was WAY too wordy and descriptive. Descriptions are great, but I don't need full descriptions of every single little detail of everything throughout the entire book. It actually got to be annoying towards the end. There were times when I realized that I'd read at least 5 pages, and the story had gone nowhere because all I had read were pointless details (in my opinion).
It's not a bad book, and I did like parts of it, but for me, the parts I didn't enjoy outnumbered the parts I did enjoy.


Becoming the Woman of His Dreams
Becoming the Woman of His Dreams
Author: Sharon Jaynes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/25/2008


This was one of the best books I have read so far on the topic of "how to be a great wife," or anything along those lines. Much better than lots of other ones!


Beyond the Sky and the Earth: A Journey into Bhutan
Beyond the Sky and the Earth: A Journey into Bhutan
Author: Jamie Zeppa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I just finished this book, and I almost want to pick it up and read it again. It was fascinating being able to read someone's first-hand stories about a country that until recently was still very isolated. Jamie Zeppa tells her story very well - everything is so descriptive and personal that you can't help but feel like you've been there with her. Great book if you like travel memoirs!


The Bridesmaid Guide
The Bridesmaid Guide
Author: Kate Chynoweth, Neryl Walker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 4/4/2009
Helpful Score: 3


To me, most of the information in this book seemed like common sense. If you've been in even one wedding, been to a wedding, or even if you just know someone who got married, you might have already heard a lot of this stuff. However, if you're a bridesmaid and you really have no idea where to start, then this book can point you in the right direction - it covers pretty much everything!


Brookland
Brookland
Author: Emily Barton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/4/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I picked this up at a thrift store for $1 and then later thought I might not even read it. To be honest, the description really didn't sound all that interesting - a 500 page book about a girl who wants to build a bridge? Really?
I can say I was definitely wrong! I found myself reading this book every free chance I had, and I fell in love with the characters and the storyline. The end of the story is a little sad, and the ending is pretty abrupt (it almost makes you think, "Where's the rest of the story?!"), but I would still definitely recommend this book.


Captivating : Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul
Captivating : Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul
Author: John Eldredge, Stasi Eldredge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 4/1/2008


Excellent book!


The Convenient Groom (Nantucket Love Story, Bk 2)
The Convenient Groom (Nantucket Love Story, Bk 2)
Author: Denise Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 5/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was definitely predictable, but it was along the lines of any cute romantic movie or book. You can probably guess from page 2 how everything is going to play out, but it was still a cute, quick, easy read.


Created to Be His Help Meet: Discover how God Can Make Your Marriage Glorious
Review Date: 6/25/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I don't even know where to start. Awful awful AWFUL!! So much scripture taken out of context or personal opinions that are said to be 'biblical.' I had to force myself to finish this book, and I can't even begin to count the problems I had with it. If you're looking for a good book on the topic of Christian marriages, keep looking - there are plenty will do you much more good than this one!


The Cry of the Dove
The Cry of the Dove
Author: Fadia Faqir
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I personally didn't care much for this book. I didn't enjoy the author's writing style (instead of writing the story chronologically, she skips around between four or five different times in Salma's life - sometimes hard to keep track of the people, places, and events). I found the main character annoying and the book itself boring and kind of depressing. This was one of the few books I've ever had to force myself to finish and the one that made me decide I'll never 'force' a book again.


The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate
Review Date: 4/1/2008


Great information. This has helped my husband and me so much!


Geisha : A Life
Geisha : A Life
Author: Mineko Iwasaki, Rande Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 9/7/2008
Helpful Score: 3


It was interesting to read a personal, real-life story of a geisha. If you've read or plan to read Memoirs of a Geisha or any book like that, it's fun to be able to compare fact and fiction. Even if you haven't or won't read a fictional geisha story, it's still interesting to read a first-hand account about the lives of geisha and everything from the what is demanded of them, their day-to-day lives, and even how much their kimono may cost. Overall, a good read if you're interested in geisha or Japanese culture. There are several pages of photographs as well.

Also, this is the same book as Geisha of Gion. The book was published as Geisha, A Life in the U.S. and Geisha of Gion in the UK.


Geisha of Gion
Geisha of Gion
Author: Mineko Iwasaki, Rande Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/8/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is the same book as Geisha: A Life. The book was published as Geisha, A Life in the U.S. and Geisha of Gion in the UK.


Honeymoon with My Brother
Honeymoon with My Brother
Author: Franz Wisner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 8/25/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I almost didn't finish this book, but I suppose in the end I was glad I did. I felt too much time was spent on the author's history with his would-have-been wife (the first ten or twelve chapters!), and he seemed a little arrogant at times. However, towards the end of the book, I found it more engaging, but I won't say why just in case it may be a spoiler for someone! All in all, it wasn't a waste of time, but I wouldn't 'highly recommend' it either.


The Jungle (Modern Library Classics)
The Jungle (Modern Library Classics)
Author: Upton Sinclair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/21/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I had to read this in high school, and it was probably the only required reading book that I ever finished AND liked. It was an eye-opening, sometimes emotional, enthralling look into the life of a fictional immigrant family. I plan to read this again soon.


Junior's Cheesecake Cookbook: 50 To-Die-For Recipes for New York-Style Cheesecake (Juniors)
Review Date: 11/28/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is definitely one of my favorite cookbooks now. There are so many tips in here walking you through every step of the process, not to mention GREAT recipes! If you're nervous about making a cheesecake for the first time or if you haven't had great luck in the past, you'll be able to make amazing cheesecakes with this book. Even has a 'troubleshooting' section. I made the original New York cheesecake and took this to my family Thanksgiving yesterday and everyone agreed that this would be one of our new family traditions. Great book!


Little Earthquakes
Little Earthquakes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 405
Review Date: 7/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was my first book by Jennifer Weiner, and while it wasn't something I would normally read, I really did enjoy it. The plot seemed to drag a little at first, but once it picked up, I finished this very quickly.


1 to 20 of 36 - Page:
Want fewer ads?