Book Review of Ruthless Game (Ghostwalker, Bk 9)

Ruthless Game (Ghostwalker, Bk 9)
Ruthless Game (Ghostwalker, Bk 9)
Author: Christine Feehan
Genre: Romance
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
reviewed on + 672 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3

Another great entry in Feehan's action paranormal series about the Ghostwalkers. This one centers on Kane, a member of Ghostwalker Team 3 [urban combat specialists based in San Francisco] whose story started in the last book, Street Game.

I really like the concept behind Team 3 - they are a self-made family who found each other as kids on the streets who had some psychic powers. Whitney [the brilliant but evil mastermind behind the GhostWalkers] enhanced them even further but they are still family.

Rose has never known a family. She was bought from an orphanage by Whitney, enhanced, raised as a soldier at the same time he was destroying her self esteem, and thrown into a 'breeding program' against her will - which is where she met Kane, the soldier selected to 'breed' her. [This occurs in book 5, Deadly Game.] Kane 'outs' the breeding program and helps her [and others] escape.

Switch to book 9, eight months later. Team 3 has been sent in to perform a hostage rescue based on information provided by an unknown informant. Kane is ordered to check out the informant - who turns out to be Rose. He has been desperately seeking Rose since they parted, sure she was pregnant with his baby. He wants the baby and even more, he wants her. He wants the chance to court her, to have her CHOOSE him, for them to be together, for them to be part of his family...

There's a lot of sizzle in the book but not much sex - Rose is either VERY pregnant, delivering, or recovering from the birth of the baby [followed by him recovering from very serious wounds] through much of the book. But they spend a lot of time thinking and talking about it...

There's a lot of action. First in the hostage rescue where they are cut off and have to escape on their own, and then as the two of them are escaping two sets of bad guys [Whitney's troops and drug cartel members] - new born baby in tow. Plus an attempted snatch and an attempted hit in San Francisco which help Rose understand what it means to be part of a team, even more, what it means to be part of a family...

It has a great 'happily ever after' and some great 'tease' information for future books: Hot chemistry between Javier and Rhiannon, super babies...

Could it be read as a stand-alone? Yes. Do I recommend it? No, you'll miss a lot of the 'family' nuances and characters. The books directly involved in this storyline are 5, 8 and 9... But I recommend reading them all in order. Yes, really.

1. Shadow Game
2. Mind Game
3. Night Game
4. Conspiracy Game
5. Deadly Game
6. Predatory Game
7. Murder Game
8. Street Game
9. Ruthless Game