Book Reviews of Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3)

Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3)
Ancient Ones - Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3
Author: Kirk Mitchell
PBS Market Price: $8.09 or $4.19+1 credit
ISBN-13: 9780553579208
ISBN-10: 0553579207
Publication Date: 1/2/2002
Pages: 400
Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 40

3.3 stars, based on 40 ratings
Publisher: Bantam
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

14 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on + 108 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Featuring a Bureau of Indian Affairs Criminal investigator Emmett Quanah Parker and FBI Speical Agent Anna Turnipseed, two Native American cops searching for ustice between their heritage and the law. Story is set in Pacific Northwest Indian Country.
reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on + 192 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Excellent American Indian mystery with a Comanche BLM Agent and A Modoc FBI agent. Brings a controversy in the news today alive with insights from all sides. Wonderful read.
reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on + 24 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Bureau of Indian Affairs Emmet Quanah Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed are two Native AMerican cops searching for justice between their heritage and the law. In this book, the issue are the remains dug out of the riverbank by illegal fossil hunters--human remains!
reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on + 134 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
A police thriller, in the tradition of Tony Hillerman and Joseph Wambaugh, but from a Native American viewpoint.
reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on + 13 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Interesting tale about theft of indian artifacts. The romance part was okay.
reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on
I enjoyed the suspense of the story and the on the moving action from page to page. My uncomfortable feel within the story, author has an excellent 'voice', was with the female FBI investigator whom I am certain was inaccurately portrayed as week, helpless, differential to the male BIA investigator and all around, under trained and in the wrong job. A survivor of parental abuse is not shaky and week, but strong and determined, so at times I almost set the book aside. The women in this particular story were collective beyond belief, as a woman myself who has survived the male 'world'. I am from Navajo Country and I did not believe either character was 'Indian'. Carolyn
reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on + 143 more book reviews
Riveting, I could not put this one down!
Donna V.
reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on + 17 more book reviews
Excellent
reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on + 38 more book reviews
I liked it
reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on + 91 more book reviews
a fair mystery, better for those who like native american themes.
reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on + 882 more book reviews
Bureau of Indian Affairs Criminal investigator Emmett Quanah Parker and FBI Speical Agent Anna Turnipseed are the key characters in this story. Their task is to protect an ancient skeleton found after a flood. A renouned scientist insists that it is a white man who existed 14,000 years ago. Furthermore, he is certain that the man was eaten by the native people who lived at that time. How did this man get into this region? No one knows and those who believe they have the answers argue about not only his origin but also what is to be done to discover more about him. Then, lo and behold, a skeleton of a female is found after another flood. Coincidence? Plant? Did the man and woman know each other? Was there a tribe?

As the tale develops, the reader is introduced to native beliefs and practices that those who live in the area believe are linked to the unearthing of the skeletons. Most dominant is that the ancients were disturbed and are angry enough to not only frighten but kill the living. I found this aspect of the novel mesmerizing. This is a good story and a tangled plot that keeps the reader interested. Except for the opening pages, I truly enjoyed the novel and the writing. Like others who have read this book I was taken aback by the opening discussion of intimate relations between the protagonists and a therapist. Seemed so out of place to me. Where were the editors who should have done something with those pages? Otherwise I really liked this read and I do plan to find other work by the author.
reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on + 459 more book reviews
FROM THE PUBLISHER
"Though there are signs of foul play, Emmett Quanah Parker and Anna Turnipseed aren't looking for a killer - the remains dug out of a riverbank by an illegal fossil hunter are 14,000 years old. Parker and Turnipseed are sent to central Oregon as official witnesses to the examination of John Day Man, as he is dubbed, for the bones have quickly provoked a controversy that threatens to erupt into violence: the skeleton is not Native American but distinctly Caucasian, shattering long-held tenets concerning who the first inhabitants of this continent were." "Emmett, with his Comanche and white ancestry, and Anna, a reservation-born Modoc with Asian blood, share a sensitivity to both parties' concerns - and a forbidden attraction that's causing them professional and personal problems.
reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on + 27 more book reviews
A novl featuring Bureau of Indian Affairs Criminal Investigator Emmett Quanah Parker and FBI Agent Ann turnipsed. Enjoyable
reviewed Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3) on + 969 more book reviews
Why does this mystery start with an entire chapter having the main characters discussing with a psychologist as to why they aren't having sex with each other? And was it necessary for the psychologist to suggest all those sex games? Appears the author is running out of ideas.

I've read the first three of the books in this series because I had them. Won't be looking for the fourth.