Search - Before We Were Yours: A Novel

Before We Were Yours: A Novel
Before We Were Yours A Novel
Author: Lisa Wingate
An engrossing novel inspired by shocking real events?the kidnappings and illegal adoptions of children conducted by the notorious Tennessee Children?s Home Society?Before We Were Yours is a poignant, uplifting tale for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.
ISBN-13: 9780425284681
ISBN-10: 0425284689
Publication Date: 6/6/2017
Pages: 368
Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 17

4.6 stars, based on 17 ratings
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Book Type: Hardcover
Other Versions: Paperback
Members Wishing: 383
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed Before We Were Yours: A Novel on + 1014 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
From the first time I read a book by Ms. Wingate, she captivated me with her stories and writing. I was very excited to read this book and it far surpassed my expectations.
I am intrigued my fictional novels that are based on true stories. The facts are true but how they are made play out in the characters' stories lies in the hands of the author. Through Lisa Wingate's talent and writing skill, these individuals were literally brought to life, so much so I had to keep reminding myself they were fictional!
Until this novel I had never heard of the Tennessee Children's Home Society spearheaded by Georgia Tann. From the 1920's through 1950's, hundreds of children were kidnapped by abduction or trickery from loving and caring parents. Until they were adopted by wealthy or famous people, for a hefty fee, they suffered unimaginable physical abuse, sexual assault, neglect, and with some even death.
In 1939 a young girl, Rill, and her siblings lived happily in poverty on a house boat with their parents. While her father and mother were at the hospital welcoming another child they were snatched away and taken to one of Ms. Tann's âhomesâ. That was when the nightmare began. As if the heartbreak of being separated from their parents was not enough, Rill also felt the pain of trying to protect her younger siblings and keep them together in an environment of cruelty and violence.
My heart broke at the horrors these children encountered. I never imagined!
The chapters alternate from Rill's narrative to Avery Stafford in the present day. Avery is 30, wealthy, privileged and the member of a prestigious political family, totally opposite to Rill's experience. When Avery attends a nursing home tour a resident appears to recognize her. She returns to visit her. In a sepia photo in May Crandall's room she sees a family. One of the children strongly resembles her grandmother. She cannot get it out of her mind and begins to relentlessly seek out answers about her Grandma Judy's past. Could May be a part of that past? Due to dementia claiming her grandmother's once sharp mind she cannot ask her questions. It's all up to Avery. What secrets will she unearth? How will they change her and her family's lives? I couldn't turn the pages fast enough! An incredible book with an amazing story!
Thank you, Lisa Wingate, for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book. The opinions I have stated are my own.
Read All 5 Book Reviews of "Before We Were Yours A Novel"

Book Wiki

Real Places

Genres: