Book Reviews of Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd)

Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd)
Beyond Seduction - beyond, 2nd
Author: emma holly
ISBN-13: 9780739425732
ISBN-10: 0739425730
Publication Date: 2002
Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 18

4.1 stars, based on 18 ratings
Publisher: jove
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

23 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 84 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 9
I just finished Beyond seduction by: Emma Holly and it was a very pleasant surprise. I don't know exactly what I expected but certainly not Nicolas' sweet, open, almost innocent character. I fell in love with him myself! The romance was sweet and believable. I loved Christopher's character as well.
Of course, sexually he was NOT an innocent at all! This book is more kinky than anything I've read so far but (at least in my experience) it is more true to life. It falls more into the category of realistic, to me, than actually kinky. People try things. A bachelor in artistic/creative circles would be very like Nic and Merry responded as flesh and blood.
Some people may be thrown off by modern wording being used but I think it helped to keep the mood real to life. Archaic wording may have been just as passionate to people back then, but to get the right feel I can see why the author used this wording. The reader would have already established an emotional response to the words used.
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 51 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 8
This book is SCANDALOUS! I just finished it and I'm still blushing. The front cover says "Forget the rules", forget the rules indeed! This book is naughty!!
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 242 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
This historical, romantic, erotic is wonderful. The heroine, Meredith, is a free spirit who resents her parents', particularly her mother's, manipulative attempts to marry her off to Ernest, a young man who works for her father. Merry sees Ernest as a friend and sees marriage as a way for men to control women. Her mother has her own selfish reasons for pressuring Merry but her father adores Merry, pressuring her only because of her mother's desires.
Merry's solution to this dilemma is to run away, get involved with a rake thus ruining her reputation leaving her unmarriageable. The rake she finds is Nik, a well-known artist, who rescues her from an attacker. Nik checks her out and tells her she'd be perfect for his next model. He assumes she's a servant for a rich employer. Merry declines but the next day she thinks about it and decides posing for Nik would be perfect for spoiling her marriageble prospects. When she shows up at Nik's house in servants clothes, Nik offers her pay plus a room in his house. Even more perfect...

Merry becomes his Lady Godiva and gets sexually involved with him. Warned by others that Nik never has a mistress much longer than a month she tries to guard her heart. After the Lady Godiva showing, Nik and Merry take off for Europe, ending up in Venice. Nik has no idea who or what Merry is running from but the fact that he's asked her to travel with him and she's accepted has both of them fearfully growing closer emotionally with each other.
Her family finds out what she's been up to and her 3 brothers are sent to get her in Venice. While there a surprise visitor shows up for Nik. Later on Nik's other identity is revealed.
Much goes on this story, some of it surprising. The sex scenes are well written and fit within the plot. This is an unusual historical romance with erotic elements that I definitely recommend.
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 35 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 5
Very very explicit and i do like my stories :)
I sympathize with Merrys problems but definitely feel she doesnt do right though in the end she does take responsibilities for her actions and just maybe finds a good ending????
t
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 12 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
very erotic, although the characterization wasn't as in depth as i would have liked.
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 159 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
This is an erotic book (as are many of this author's). A great read.
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 244 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This is a very good, explicit book.
--------
The latest offering from the author of Beyond Innocence and the Black Lace erotica series is a Regency-era romance in name only; Holly brings a level of sensuality to her storytelling that may shock the uninitiated. Daughter to the Duke of Monmouth, Merry Vance would be quite a catch for any suitor, but Merry has no interest in marriage. When her mother finally issues an ultimatum, Merry decides to make herself an ineligible candidate for matrimony by ruining herself with the help of painter Nicolas Craven. Merry agrees to pose nude for Nicolas, but she hasn't gambled on the intense attraction she feels for him. Fans of Robin Schone and Thea Devine will adore the steamy love scenes here, which go beyond the usual set pieces to include more intense sex play. However, the story isn't simply about sex
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 1186 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Merry Vance decides to pose nude for her portrait, so that she will be scandalized & won't have to marry the dolt her parents have picked out for her. She didn't plan on falling in love with the artist, Nicholas Craven, London's most famous (& infamous) artist.
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 30 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
A sexy read!
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 115 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
The follow-up to Beyond Innocence...although you don't have to read the first in order to get the second, there's just a few people who carry over in minor supporting roles.

Merry Vance thought she was in love with Edward Burbrooke (from Beyond Innocence), but when he up and married Florence Fairleigh, she decided that marriage was not for her. She spent the next few years spurning the advances of several suitors much to the chagrin of her parents. Finally fed up, her parents gave her an ultimatum...get married or else!

So Merry had no choice but to come up with something so scandalous that no man would want to marry her. She decided to pose nude for Nicolas Craven, London's most famous artist, and a notorious rogue. In Victorian London, no man in his right mind would want to marry her after that.

While painting his latest model, Nicolas becomes enamored with her plain beauty and devises ways to keep her around longer than necessary. Eventually, they become lovers and Merry falls madly in love with her artist, but...

He's made a vow never to marry, which breaks Merry's heart because she's had a change of heart and wants desperately to be Nicolas' wife. Read on to find out if she settles for being his scandalous mistress or is she's able to make him see the prize he has living under his roof.
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 550 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
I like Emma Holly but this story seemed to drag on, they could have cut out a lot of pages and had a tighter story.
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 29 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This book just sizzles! My first Holly book but I'll definately be reading more!
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 35 more book reviews
this is the paperback version :)
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 503 more book reviews
I love Emma Holly but found this book boring. It has the sensuality of many of her other books, but it wasn't very interesting, I didn't care for the characters or the side characters and the situation seemed too manufactured.
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 52 more book reviews
This book was a pleasant surprise. I liked both Nic and Merry's characters (I might actually have a crush on Nic myself), and the plotline rang true. I can believe that a real-life Merry would make the choices in the book. The story is sexy and sweet. This is one of my first reads by Emma Holly, and I definitely plan on reading more.
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 117 more book reviews
Great second book after Beyond Innocent. Love Merry! She is very daring for her time.
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 257 more book reviews
Emma Holly gives the reader the romance of historicals and the heat of erotica. She creates interesting, flawed characters and places them in dubious situations. A good read!
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 40 more book reviews
Excellent - everything a good romance should be!
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on
This was the first book I've read by this author. It was a very good romance. It was a very hot read...the story was also good. Highly recommend reading this book. I will be sure to read the other books by this author. I compare her writing to susan johnson. :)
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 108 more book reviews
This is a great book!
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 81 more book reviews
As usual Emma Holly's books are a hot read!
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 36 more book reviews
Great read.
reviewed Beyond Seduction (beyond, 2nd) on + 384 more book reviews
another great book.