Search - Bridegroom

Author: Linda Lael Miller
Undercover agent Gideon Yarbro is renowned for stopping outlaws almost before they commit a crime. But now he must stop a wedding?despite the bride?s resistance. Lydia Fairmont will lose everything if she doesn?t honor her betrothal to a heartless banker. Unless she marries someone else instead . . . whether it?s a love match or not. — Determined...  more »
ISBN: 228389
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

4 stars, based on 2 ratings
Book Type: Paperback
Members Wishing: 0
Reviews: Member | Write a Review
Read All 1 Book Reviews of "Bridegroom"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed Bridegroom on + 1193 more book reviews
Since Gideon Yarbro gave Lydia the letter (to post if she were ever in trouble) in THE WANTED MAN, I have hoped that there would be a novel. What can be more romantic than giving a pre-addressed and written letter to comfort someone anxious about huge changes in her life?

Lydia's doctor-father had frozen to death in a blizzard and Lydia (eight years-old at the time) was going to live with distant-living aunts who were strangers.

Although the plot was rather sparse-on-the-ground, I enjoyed it. Since I've invested quite a bit of time (this is the 4th book) with the Yarbro's, I didn't look too carefully at the thin nature of the plot.

However, something that did bother me was the poor editing of the novel. Another reviewer has mentioned the change of Aunt Nell Baker from the mother's side of the family (in THE WANTED MAN) to the father's side of the family in this book.

Miller couldn't decide if it had been 10 years from the time of the letter writing until its posting, or 12 years. It jumped back and forth when referring to Lydia and Gideon. Linda Lael Miller has written 148 novels in the time span most authors pen around 50. Maybe she should slow down and be more careful - or hire a competent proofreader.

This is not the first time I've caught sloppy errors in Miller's books.

Note: Books 5 and 6 are combined in an omnibus titled: HOLIDAY IN STONE CREEK.

Stone Creek Series
1. The Man from Stone Creek (2006)
2. A Wanted Man (2007)
3. The Rustler (2008)
4. The Bridegroom (2009)
5. A Stone Creek Christmas (2008)
6. At Home in Stone Creek (2009)