Discussion Forums - USPS Postal Regulations USPS Postal Regulations

Topic: CPU issues

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: CPU issues
Date Posted: 7/1/2008 12:49 AM ET
Member Since: 6/23/2007
Posts: 6,025
Back To Top

I have a CPU (contract postal unit) just 1/2 mile from my home, it's located inside the mini-mart at the gas station. They ship everything from media mail to priority, and have all sorts of mailing supplies, etc. I was excited when I discovered this place, because they stay open until 7pm 7 days a week, so I can go after work! Not to mention saving gas by not having to drive 10 miles or more to the regular PO.

Unfortunately, if it seems too good to be true, it is! The service there is lousy. One day I got there as the mail was being picked up, but the driver only took 1 of the 3 loads the clerk had waiting for him, and his truck was almost empty! The clerk and I just looked at each other and looked at the heaps of packages- some of them Priority- waiting for the truck. I get the impression this happens a lot.

I always use DC when I mail books so I get quick credit. I also play in the games forum a lot, and DC is required there. I've been noticing that when I mail at the CPU, almost half the time the DC doesn't get scanned! If I drive the 10 miles to the PO, they can scan the label right there, but there's no scanner at the CPU.

Has anyone else had similar issues? Should I stop using the CPU and make the drive?

Date Posted: 7/1/2008 8:18 AM ET
Member Since: 2/10/2008
Posts: 1,080
Back To Top

Wow.

Is the driver from the a postal employee or from the mini-mart?

Can you put your packages in your home mail box and mail them that way?

Date Posted: 7/1/2008 9:40 AM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,201
Back To Top

I would be careful mailing anything over 13oz from there if you use stamps or get their meter strip anyway. My PO people said that CPUs are not post offices for that rule and your packages could be returned because you are not handing them to a USPS employee at a USPS retail counter. One guy also said that their highest loss rate are from the CPUs, one Cash Wise had a "missing" Express package under their counter for over a month.

Subject: Since I work at a Post Office plant...
Date Posted: 7/2/2008 2:43 AM ET
Member Since: 5/19/2008
Posts: 562
Back To Top

And see what mail comes from a local CPU I routinely see incorrect postage on their meter strips almost daily on various types of mail.

Such as 97 cents on a tax return on April 15th that should have been almost $7.00. We were able to look up the man's phone number from his address so he could come down and pay the difference so his return would make it on time.

Like anything else it's what are you willing to do for the level of service.

 

Kevin

Date Posted: 7/2/2008 8:02 PM ET
Member Since: 2/11/2007
Posts: 808
Back To Top

My CPU gripe is that my local one is part of a photo supply store - unlike the USPS, this place levies a surcharge on credit transactions under $10! I told the owner/manager it's against the (Visa/MC) rules to impose such surcharges, to which he replied that I was free to take my business elsewhere.

I had sent a book to Ireland ($9 airmail for well under a pound!) that took nearly a month to arrive.

 



Last Edited on: 7/2/08 8:06 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 7/3/2008 9:50 PM ET
Member Since: 6/23/2007
Posts: 6,025
Back To Top

I've decided that I'm not going to use the CPU anymore. I will just have to be more organized so I can make it into town ot the PO before work, since it closes before I get off in the evenings.

Date Posted: 7/4/2008 6:15 PM ET
Member Since: 4/25/2007
Posts: 11,554
Back To Top

The CPU won't have any equipment to scan DCs and the post office is only required to scan a DC upon delivery.  They don't have to scan it when you drop off your package.  It's Delivery confirmation, only required to be scanned upon delivery.