Book Reviews of The Cain Saga, Volume 4: Seal of the Red Ram, Part I

The Cain Saga, Volume 4:  Seal of the Red Ram, Part I
The Cain Saga Volume 4 Seal of the Red Ram Part I
Author: Kaori Yuki
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $8.99
Buy New (Paperback): $9.19 (save -2%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $5.29+1 PBS book credit (save 41%)
ISBN-13: 9781421504759
ISBN-10: 1421504758
Pages: 200
Edition: 1
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.

3.7 stars, based on 5 ratings
Publisher: VIZ Media LLC
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Cain Saga, Volume 4: Seal of the Red Ram, Part I on + 114 more book reviews
This series of stories introduces the young earl Cain C. Hargreaves, an eccentric loner millionaire who likes to solve mysteries and collect exotic poisons. This is the fourth volume(part 1) of the Cain Saga stories, which has 5 volumes and then continues in the Godchild manga series.

This is Kaori Yuki's longest story in the Saga yet, and it is the best so far. She has been lengthening the story length with each subsequent volume in this series and that has worked to her advantage, because these stories are definitely benefitting from the additional depth and attention she is giving to them. Characters feelings and motivations are coming more to the fore, and the mysteries are now beginning to feel like real mysteries to be solved, instead of just tasteful tidbits of a mysterious event served in bite-sized portions and resolved before they could ever evolve.

This is a two part volume, and introduces Gilbert, a friend from Cain's childhood who has gone insane, and we don't know why. It also continues following Dr. Jizabel Disraeli's disturbing stalking of Cain for his eyes. We also get a bit more backstory for Cain, and also more insight concerning Riff.

Each volume is getting better as I'm getting more into the storyline. I can't wait to pick up the next volume to finish the Cain Saga series, and then start diving into the Godchild series next.