Book Reviews of Chill Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 3)

Chill Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 3)
Chill Factor - Dixie Flannigan, Bk 3
Author: Chris Rogers
ISBN-13: 9780553580730
ISBN-10: 0553580736
Publication Date: 4/3/2001
Pages: 416
Rating:
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22

3.9 stars, based on 22 ratings
Publisher: Bantam
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

7 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Chill Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 3) on + 186 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
Her books are a lot of fun -- gun-robbing grannies!
reviewed Chill Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 3) on + 109 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
these books are very entertaining and she really draws you into the characters.
reviewed Chill Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 3) on + 38 more book reviews
Fun series. For fans of Janet Evanovich or Sue GRafton. Not Stephanie Plum, but still worthwhile.
reviewed Chill Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 3) on + 1111 more book reviews
This series by Chris Rogers speaks to me; I have enjoyed each story for different reasons. The main characters are engaging; the relationship problems between Dixie and Parker are fascinating.

I believe Rogers has created a believable situation a woman struggling with her past and her fear of letting a significant male (Parker) get close to her. Dixie carries some serious wounds from the emotional abuse via her birth mother. Dixie tried to get her mother to protect her from her boyfriends instead, her mother ignored her. Dixie tried to avoid the boyfriends on her own; however, Mom often colluded with the men to allow Dixie to be used. When the significant person in a childs life does not protect, that child learns not to trust.

This series seems to be a study in Dixies learning to trust herself and others. Dixie and Parker love each other but Dixie carries some very heavy baggage from her years with her birth mother. Bless Parker for giving her the room and time to work on herself.

Dixie has made significant changes in this book. It shows in her reaction to the psychologist she rejects the doctors pseudo-science, numerology and astrology. However, Dixie hears the messages about her behavior and how it isnt getting her what she wants.

The plot in this book is rather complicated but includes "Granny Bandits, revenge murders and mind control. The only reason I didnt give this a 5 stars is because it dragged a bit at times.

If you will look at the series list below, you may notice that it took 12 years to get the final book in the series printed. That is because Rogers has published it herself. Ive already ordered the final installment; otherwise, it is hard to find.

Dixie Flanagan
1. Bitch Factor (1998)
2. Rage Factor (1999)
3. Chill Factor (2000)
4. Slice of Life (2012)
reviewed Chill Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 3) on + 657 more book reviews
From Library Journal: "Dixie Flannigan, an attorney turned bounty hunter, gets an overdraft notice from her bank for $5000. This alarming news brings her to the bank just in time to witness Edna Pine, a good friend and neighbor, robbing it. Edna makes off with a substantial sum but is gunned down by the police after "disposing" of the money. Two previous "Granny Bandits" have pulled off similar heists--one with equally fatal results. Dixie is determined to find out what's really going on--when, suddenly, the cops who gunned Edna down start getting killed, and Edna's son is arrested for the murders. Fans of Rogers's previous Dixie Flannigan novels (Bitch Factor and Rage Factor) will certainly enjoy Chill Factor. A small degree of sex and violence will make this book a bit too hard-boiled for some readers, but, overall, this is a typical adventure for D.A. Flannigan. Recommended for all mystery collections." -Alicia Graybill, Polley Music Lib., Lincoln City Libs., NE
Copyright 2000 Reed Business Information, Inc. --
reviewed Chill Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 3) on + 765 more book reviews
Excellent! Third in the series about a female bounty hunter.
reviewed Chill Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 3) on + 16 more book reviews
SUSPENSEFUL AND EXCITING