Book Reviews of Closing Arguments

Closing Arguments
Closing Arguments
Author: Frederick Busch
ISBN-13: 9780395589687
ISBN-10: 0395589681
Publication Date: 8/1991
Pages: 288
Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1

3 stars, based on 1 rating
Publisher: Ticknor Fields
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

3 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Closing Arguments on + 72 more book reviews
This looks like a benign legal thriller, but I guarantee it will creep you out; wish I could list it under horror!
reviewed Closing Arguments on + 23 more book reviews
"CLOSING ARGUMENTS is the story of a shocking murder trial, a disintegrating marriage, an obsessive love affair. In the tradition of Robert Stone and Russell Banks, Frederick Busch weaves a tale of lies, duplicity, fatal attractions, and shattering revelations that uncover new and dizzying depths to the very last page."
reviewed Closing Arguments on + 1131 more book reviews
Closing Arguments is intense, dark, complex, and scary. It's difficult, in the sense that sometimes it's hard to figure out what the protagonist is talking about in his interior monologue/stream of consciousness tale; sometimes he himself doesn't know. It's at once tough and vulnerable, real and surreal. The characters are some convoluted mixture of sane and crazy and cruel and compassionate and predator and prey. I haven't exactly figured out whether I actually liked it, or just felt compelled by it, but it was memorable.