Book Reviews of In the Company of Ogres

In the Company of Ogres
In the Company of Ogres
Author: A. Lee Martinez
ISBN-13: 9780765354570
ISBN-10: 0765354578
Publication Date: 2007
Pages: 326
Edition: Reprint
Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28

4 stars, based on 28 ratings
Publisher: Tor Books
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

3 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed In the Company of Ogres on
Helpful Score: 1
In the tradition of Robert Asprin and Terry Prachett, this is a comic fantasy novel. It's a quick and amusing read - though not as funny as some of Asprin and Prachett's work.
reviewed In the Company of Ogres on + 35 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This book is hysterical! My husband laughed all the way through it too.
reviewed In the Company of Ogres on + 306 more book reviews
After reading Martinez's Gil's All Fright Diner I couldn't wait to read another one of his works. Unfortunately my book list is extensive so I had to wait. When I was in the mood for some comic relief I picked up this one. I would have to say that I enjoyed this one but not as much as the other one. I didn't find myself laughing out loud (like I did with the other book) and I had no problem with putting it down. It just seemed to drag on a bit and with nothing really exciting happening. Although I thought it as fun, I just didn't find it that funny. That said, I would still read another one of his books as I do not regret reading this one.
This story is about a guy named Never Dead Ned. Not that Ned doesn't die, he just doesn't stay dead for long. He has died in many numerous ways and has the scars and soreness from each death. So he tries very hard not to die. He works in an office for the army. There he is safe as long as he does his job well. Then there comes orders that he is to command Ogre Company. This company is a mess of misfits that instead of the army getting rid of them, they send them here. There are humans, elves, orcs, ogres and a bunch of others in the mix. Ned doesn't want to go but he doesn't have much choice. He's afraid that his life will be in more danger. He doesn't know how right he is about that.
In my opinion, if you've read Gil's All Fright Diner, you will still like this one but maybe not as much. If you haven't read that one, I would read this one first.