Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Is it dangerous to do my links this way?

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Is it dangerous to do my links this way?
Date Posted: 10/13/2008 8:05 PM ET
Member Since: 10/25/2007
Posts: 3,220
Back To Top

I have put a couple links up that look a little like this:

wwww.paperbackswap.com/romance/touh.php

They turn out to be blue.

They do not look like the word, Link, which a  lot of people have.

Is it dangerous to do it my way?

Can people access my whole computer if I do it this way?

I will delete if need to.

Thanks

Date Posted: 10/13/2008 8:30 PM ET
Member Since: 10/25/2007
Posts: 3,220
Back To Top

ps   I did it a couple of times, but I deleted what I did already.

You get the idea of what I am talking about anyways.

Date Posted: 10/13/2008 8:39 PM ET
Member Since: 6/21/2007
Posts: 2,015
Back To Top


Last Edited on: 2/3/15 10:43 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 10/13/2008 9:47 PM ET
Member Since: 9/2/2006
Posts: 4,110
Back To Top

Marla not dangerous, no one can access your computer from the link above (actually you have one too many "W" so it isn't a working link right now) you linked to something actually on the pbs site. 

 

 

 

 

 



Last Edited on: 10/13/08 9:48 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 10/13/2008 10:05 PM ET
Member Since: 10/25/2007
Posts: 3,220
Back To Top

No, no.

Silly me.

I made the above look that way on purpose.

I can be very paranoid person when I try to be.

Did not want to post the ones I actually did because they might be direct link to my computer.

So - got smart - put up fake one.

Fake one with 3 www's comes out a blue.

Did not want to be linking you to God Knows What

So put in 4 w's on purpose   -  no blue  =  ask question

Unfortunately did not think to explain the method to my maddness.

Am still worried about original question.

Just go back  to original question.

Pretend of those w's not there.

OK?

Date Posted: 10/13/2008 10:27 PM ET
Member Since: 7/23/2006
Posts: 15,930
Back To Top

Putting in a link to another web page will only take someone to that page, not anything on your computer.

Date Posted: 10/13/2008 10:53 PM ET
Member Since: 10/6/2007
Posts: 376
Back To Top

The "blue" is the color your (and many other's ) computer shows a clickable link. The link will be to the URL you put there - not to your computer.

If you put a full URL with the "http" part in a post, PBS' software changes it to say "link" instead, in blue, clickable to the link you write. If you want some words to be the link, highlight the words, click on the chainlink icon over the text box, and paste in your link. So, to link, for instance, to CNN, put http://www.cnn.com to get the work "link" which is the link, or Link To Cnn which is the same link.

I'm not sure exactly what you did to get what you are describing, but not only is your link with 4 Ws not working, even with only 3 Ws it isn't a good link. What exactly are you trying to do?

Date Posted: 10/13/2008 11:17 PM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,183
Back To Top

Melinda - she is not trying to give us a usable link, just posting one as a example of what she is asking a question about, links in general, not any one specific link.

Marla Maye - posting a link (any link) in a forum will not ever give someone access to your computer. All you are doing is routing them to a page on the internet. It make no difference how your link shows up - as "Link",w w w.here I am.com, or "here I am" - they will all do the same thing, send someone to a web page, nothing more.

Date Posted: 10/14/2008 7:52 AM ET
Member Since: 5/5/2008
Posts: 515
Back To Top

I'm not entirely sure what you're describing, but the reason they're not showing up as "Link" might be because you don't have "http" at the beginning. It doesn't make a difference; it will still take people to the same page, and it won't allow anybody to access your computer.

Edit: I tested it, and the "http" is what makes the difference - the one with it shows up as "Link," and the one without it displays the whole address instead.



Last Edited on: 10/14/08 7:53 AM ET - Total times edited: 2
Date Posted: 10/14/2008 9:41 AM ET
Member Since: 10/25/2007
Posts: 3,220
Back To Top

Thanks,

I think I got it from here.