Discussion Forums - Contemporary Fiction

Topic: Dayton Literary Peace Prize

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Dayton Literary Peace Prize
Date Posted: 11/11/2011 10:54 AM ET
Member Since: 10/17/2006
Posts: 1,427
Back To Top

The 2011 Dayton Literary Peace Prizes will be awarded in gala ceremonies Nov. 13 in Dayton, OH.   Barbara Kingsolver will receive the Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award.  The late Richard C. Holbrooke was the diplomat who brokered the Dayton Peace Accords in 1995 to end the war in Bosnia.

Chang-rae Lee will receive the fiction award for his novel  The Surrendered,   Runner-up is Maaza Mengiste, author of Beneath the Lion's Gaze.   The  other two awards, for non-fiction,  will go to Wilbert Rideau and  Isabel Wilkerson

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize was established in 2006 and is the only international literary peace award given in the United States.