Book Reviews of Evan Only Knows (Constable Evans, Bk 7)

Evan Only Knows (Constable Evans, Bk 7)
Evan Only Knows - Constable Evans, Bk 7
Author: Rhys Bowen
ISBN-13: 9780425196076
ISBN-10: 0425196070
Publication Date: 1/2004
Pages: 272
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.

3.6 stars, based on 47 ratings
Publisher: Berkley
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

7 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Evan Only Knows (Constable Evans, Bk 7) on + 14 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
When Constable Evans travels to Wales to visit his mother, he is met with disturbing news. The young thug who was convicted of murdering Evans father several years earlier is now suspected of murder again.
reviewed Evan Only Knows (Constable Evans, Bk 7) on + 141 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Another charming Constable Evans story about a village in Wales.
reviewed Evan Only Knows (Constable Evans, Bk 7) on + 441 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
What do you do when the person who killed your father but got away with a slap on the wrist is arrested for another murder but you don't think he did it this time? If you're North Wales police constable Evan Evans, you dig to find the truth after all, that is what his late father would have done.

This 7th book in Rhys Bowen's Constable Evans Mystery series deviates from other books in the series in that the action takes place in the South Wales city of Swansea, rather than the North Wales village of Llanfair. Yes, favorite village characters do make a cameo appearance, but most of the book features new characters, including Evans' and his fiancee Bronwen's immediate families. As such, there is a slightly different flavor but only slight. Evans is still Evans, and still digging into mysteries and still vexing his superiors.

I applaud the author for coming up with a way to send a new breeze into the series without losing its spirit, and for tying it into Great Britain's historic foot-and-mouth (known as hoof-and-mouth in the US) epidemic in the early 2000's without turning our police constable into a Ministry of Agriculture expert on the subject.

I'm running out of series the author only produced 10 books before moving on to other interests so I plan to savor the next 3. And perhaps to continue to badger Miss Bown to add an 11th book ...

RATING: 4 stars.
reviewed Evan Only Knows (Constable Evans, Bk 7) on + 412 more book reviews
#7 in the Constable Evan Evans cozy mystery series set in Wales. Hoof and mouth disease has made its way to Wales, leading to quarantines and strife between local farmers, law enforcement and the Ministry of Agriculture. Evan and Bronwen head off to Swansea so that she can meet his mother, and vice versa. While there, the kid who killed Evan's father is apprehended on another murder charge and the Swansea police are determined to make this one stick. But something doesn't seem quite right to Evan and he starts investigating on his own. Another enjoyable entry in series.
reviewed Evan Only Knows (Constable Evans, Bk 7) on + 11 more book reviews
A mystery/detective story set in modern day Wales
reviewed Evan Only Knows (Constable Evans, Bk 7) on + 3 more book reviews
A charming mystery set in Wales.
reviewed Evan Only Knows (Constable Evans, Bk 7) on + 1119 more book reviews
This book had a somewhat different tone compared to the others in the series. Let's just say it is a bit less of a cozy than the others.