Search - The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1)

The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1)
The Faithful Spy - John Wells, Bk 1
Author: Alex Berenson
John Wells is the only American CIA agent to penetrate al Qaeda. Before 2001 attacks, he hid in Pakistan mountains, biding time, building his cover. Now, on the orders of Omar Khadri - malicious mastermind plotting more al Qaeda strikes on America - Wells comes home from the cold. Neither Khadri nor Jennifer Exley, Wells's superior at Langle...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780345478993
ISBN-10: 0345478991
Publication Date: 4/25/2006
Pages: 352
Rating:
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29

3.9 stars, based on 29 ratings
Publisher: Random House
Book Type: Hardcover
Other Versions: Paperback, Audio Cassette, Audio CD
Members Wishing: 0
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 561 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 13
The Faithful Spy is a promising start to what will hopefully be a new series. John Wells is a CIA agent under deep cover within al Qaueda. During the years it took him to gain some trust within the terrorist organization, Wells has lost contact with his ex wife, young son, and his handler at the CIA. He blames himself for failing to stop 9/11 and knows that he is losing the trust of the CIA after being out of contact for so long. When Wells is sent back to the USA by al Qaueda for a mission he knows nothing about, he sees it as an opportunity to redeem himself in the eyes of the CIA. He struggles to stop an act of terror, while being pursued by the very government he has sworn to protect.

Fans of Daniel Silva and Vince Flynn will enjoy this book. Like those authors, this book deals with contemporary issues but Berenson does a better job than the others of showing the human side of the enemy. My only complaint is that John Wells himself is not in much of the book. However, this may be because the author is trying to establish the other characters for future books. I will be adding the next installment in this series to my wish list.
reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
Fast passed interesting spy novel. The main character is a CIA operative who has been infiltrated into Al Queda for years. No one is sure if he's a good guy or a bad guy anymore. Part of it takes place overseas and the rest in the U.S. I'm not sure if I'll sleep as well after reading this...but it was exciting!
reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 43 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 6
Fast moving story about a CIA operative deeply embedded in al Qaeda. John Wells has been fighting with al Qaeda in Chechnya and Afghanistan for years. He is the world's most dedicated spy -- and one of the worst husbands and fathers. He wasn't able to raise any warnings before 9/11 but now he has a chance to foil another attack. I look forward to reading more from Alex Berenson -- and reading more about John Wells.
reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 107 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Excellent contemporary spy thriller!
Read All 24 Book Reviews of "The Faithful Spy John Wells Bk 1"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 15 more book reviews
I stumbled upon this series by accident and am glad I did. Being a diehard Vince Flynn fan, every CIA/Black Ops book I read now is judged to what Flynn writes. I can honestly say that Berenson holds his own against Flynn. Like Flynn's books, this is one you don't want to put down.
reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 2 more book reviews
I REALLY enjoyed this book. I accidentally read #4 and 5 in this series and had to come back to the beginning. I think this author is excellent and the storyline is very gripping as it has to do with Al Qaeda and September 11 and the war in Afghanistan. It's like a window into the middle east and what it is like for the soldiers that were over there.
reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 3352 more book reviews
Quite suspenseful - action - violence

Book Wiki

Series
John Wells  1 of 3
Original Publication Date (YYYY-MM-DD)
People/Characters
John Wells (Primary Character)
Jennifer Exley (Primary Character)
Omar Khadri (Major Character)
Elliot Shafer (Major Character)

Genres: