|Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.|
here are the facts:
1) I requested a book
2) member A printed a label and mailed the book, but never marked it as "Sent"
3) time ran out and member B has printed a label, but has not labeled it as sent, yet
4) I got the book from member A
5) I got a PM from member A, asking for me to mark the book received from within the transaction archive
6) what should I do? if I mark the book received frommember A (within my transaction archive) will I loose an additional credit?
Yes Mike, you'll lose an additional credit if you mark the 1st book received.
There's a chance that member #2 printed the label without PBS postage, so they may be willing to cancel the order for the second book. You can send them a message asking about that--but if they used PBS postage, or if they already put stamps on the package (or possibly even mailed it but didn't mark it mailed yet) they can't cancel, and the first member will not receive a credit.
Here is what I would do:
1. contact member B to see if they have mailed the book yet. If they haven't mailed, and they printed the label but NOT postage, then they may be willing to cancel the order. If they purchased postage, then they will be out the money (no postage refunds) so in that case, they probably will not want to cancel the order.
2. If member B is able and willing to cancel, then mark Member A's book received from the Transaction Archive after that second copy cancels.
3. If Member B is not able to cancel, then wait to receive Member B's book, and do NOT mark Member A's book received, unless you want to give them another (second) credit.
Send Member A a PM that says that you will mark it received as long as you are able to cancel the second copy, and if you are not able to cancel the second copy coming to you, then you will not be able to mark hers received. (This is what is in the PBS rules, so its OK).
Last Edited on: 4/16/12 6:31 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
What they said
Just wanted to add: if member B is willing to cancel, but doesn't want to lose his place in the sending line, he can go down to the bottom right corner of any page. Under "company" he'll click on "contact us" and use the Feedback option to ask the Admin Team to cancel it in such a way that he won't lose his place in line.
This also avoids having your request passed on to the next sender when member B cancels. We don't need to add a member C to the mix.