Book Reviews of The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper (Travis McGee, Bk 10)

The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper (Travis McGee, Bk 10)
The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper - Travis McGee, Bk 10
Author: John D. MacDonald
ISBN-13: 9780449224618
ISBN-10: 0449224619
Publication Date: 1996
Pages: 352
Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 29

4 stars, based on 29 ratings
Publisher: Fawcett
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

4 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper (Travis McGee, Bk 10) on + 149 more book reviews
There is nothing like the Travis McGee series. It still makes me sad that MacDonald has passed away and there will be no more! These books are also great to listen to on audiobook.
reviewed The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper (Travis McGee, Bk 10) on + 813 more book reviews
An interesting book by another underrated, lost, and almost forgotten novelist. This one is murder mystery in the vein of Mary Roberts Rinehart, Dorothy L. Sayers, Dashiell Hammett, and Raymond Chandler. One of the Travis McGee novels all titled to include a hue from the color spectrum. While it is a bit slow to set the background for the plot, it gets interesting once a crime is perceived. McGee, something other than a professional detective, has the qualities of a Sam Spade, or Philip Marlowe, bedding down the best of the dames (although not all of themhe does pass on some), but always with a more polished prose. The author, always the sociological sexologist, is up to tune. Not a shabby read for a quiet evening or two.
reviewed The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper (Travis McGee, Bk 10) on + 10 more book reviews
Fun, but a bit dated in the cliched characters of tough guys and dames. The villain seems eerily familiar in the current day!
reviewed The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper (Travis McGee, Bk 10) on + 577 more book reviews
Travis McGee, he had done a big favor for her husband and then for the lady herself. Now she was dead and Travis found that Helena Pearson had one last request to make of him: find out why her beautiful daughter Maurie kept trying to kill herself.