Discussion Forums - USPS Postal Regulations USPS Postal Regulations

Topic: How to change Media Mail to First Class?

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: How to change Media Mail to First Class?
Date Posted: 1/25/2010 12:32 PM ET
Member Since: 5/12/2009
Posts: 3
Back To Top

I am mailing a book that weighs 10 oz. in an envelope. I changed the weight before making label but the label prints out for One Pound Media Mail.
I know First Class goes up to 13 oz. and I don't mind paying the extra postage so that my swapper gets the book faster, so how can I make sure that the label prints the exact postage and that it ships First Class next time?

This makes a huge difference for me as I have to now visit the post office to drop off the Media package instead of putting a First Class package in the mailbox.

Thanks for any help!



Last Edited on: 1/25/10 12:35 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 1/25/2010 3:37 PM ET
Member Since: 7/18/2005
Posts: 209
Back To Top

I don't use the PBS postage so I can't help you on that part but I'm curious about your second paragraph about having to take Media Mail to the Post Office.  Why?  If you are using PBS postage (it's traceable) then it doesn't matter what class you are sending it or how much it weighs.

Date Posted: 1/25/2010 3:39 PM ET
Member Since: 12/28/2006
Posts: 14,177
Back To Top

I understood Lynne to mean she's going to the post office so they can calcuate (and add) the postage increase from Media Mail to First Class.

Date Posted: 1/25/2010 4:05 PM ET
Member Since: 5/12/2009
Posts: 3
Back To Top

Where I live only First Class items are picked up or can be dropped in the mailbox.
Media must be dropped off at the post office. I believe it's because of sellers trying to mail items
that aren't books and such under the Medial Mail class.

Although, I suppose if I asked the mailman to take a Media package with the label he probably would do it.

As for the extra postage to make the package First Class, I had already made the label via Paperback Swap
so I just dropped it off. From now on, I will probably just take the books to the post office and get them done
there.

Date Posted: 1/25/2010 7:08 PM ET
Member Since: 6/25/2006
Posts: 382
Back To Top

if its already have electronic postage (by PBS or paypal you can drop into the mailbox

you *don't* need to go the post office

the post office CAN inspect the package though but you don't have take to the post office)

Date Posted: 1/25/2010 9:51 PM ET
Member Since: 7/18/2005
Posts: 209
Back To Top

Not every letter carrier will pick up outgoing packages from your home (various reasons including orders from supervision) but with PBS postage you can drop them in a drop box if they will fit saving yourself the time of going into the PO and handing them over the counter.

Date Posted: 1/26/2010 4:46 AM ET
Member Since: 1/19/2008
Posts: 14,791
Back To Top

i don't know of any way to get PBS to print a label for First Class if it's over the cutoff line for more expensive (7oz right now).

i use PBS DC and always take my packages to the post office anyway to pay there, so when i want to send something First Class that it will default to Media i just tell it the book only weighs 6oz, and make a note of what the correct postage is.

the only thing i can think of is for you to do the same thing, and then add stamps to make up the weight difference.

Date Posted: 1/26/2010 11:55 AM ET
Member Since: 6/25/2006
Posts: 382
Back To Top

if you have paypal you can use their shipping service and yep you can send first class that

way

you will find it at

http://www.paypal.com/shipnow

Briana -
Date Posted: 2/11/2010 9:30 PM ET
Member Since: 4/8/2009
Posts: 2,768
Back To Top


Last Edited on: 3/8/12 3:10 PM ET - Total times edited: 2
Date Posted: 2/11/2010 10:31 PM ET
Member Since: 2/10/2008
Posts: 1,080
Back To Top

If the book is actually less than what the label says, you can change the weight on the page that has the printlabel button. There is a box that has the weight that is in the PBS system. Those numbers are not always right. You can change the weight before you click on the print button.

You can edit the book data for future mailers if you want from the book page or let someone with a data edit icon know about it. Some members volunteer time to try and get all the data and images correctin the database. Itry to helpevery once in awhile.

Date Posted: 2/15/2010 12:26 PM ET
Member Since: 10/22/2009
Posts: 1,452
Back To Top

I've done as Ellen suggests--I choose to print a PBS label with postage for the heaviest amount that will default to "First Class" (7oz?). Then I just add stamps to the package to make up the difference. Since the package is mailed using printed postage (in addition to the stamps) I can then drop it in the Blue Box outside my work office.

I do wish that the PBS postage would give you an option to override media mail and pay the higher first class rate if you choose.

Date Posted: 2/15/2010 5:52 PM ET
Member Since: 6/25/2006
Posts: 382
Back To Top

if you are printing from PBS postage you can print their postage and if its prints media maill

you can upgrade (if you want to) to first class by going to the postage and paying the additational postage

and then crossing out media mail on the label

you can do that at the counter or with the APC