Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: How to use hold function

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: How to use hold function
Date Posted: 4/24/2009 11:48 AM ET
Member Since: 8/28/2007
Posts: 9
Back To Top

I am a new member and posted about 50 books last week.  I have mailed out roughly 15 books already and don't really want to mail anymore out this month as I have reached my shipping budget.

Is putting all books on hold the correct way to handle this situation where you only want to spend a certain amount each month?

Date Posted: 4/24/2009 12:05 PM ET
Member Since: 7/29/2008
Posts: 108
Back To Top

I haven't had to put my account on hold yet, but if I ran out of postage funds I would. It seems to be one of the reasons a lot of others use that option for.

Date Posted: 4/24/2009 12:05 PM ET
Member Since: 1/28/2007
Posts: 765
Back To Top

Hi and Welcome;

Try reading this topic: http://www.paperbackswap.com/forum/topic.php?t=160551

Dan (for Marilyn) edited to fix link



Last Edited on: 4/24/09 12:09 PM ET - Total times edited: 2
Date Posted: 4/24/2009 12:07 PM ET
Member Since: 2/28/2007
Posts: 2,164
Back To Top

Make sure you put your entire account on vacation hold, rather than just holding books from your bookshelf.  When you hold a book (or books) directly from your shelf, those books go back to the end of the FIFO (First in, first out) meaning that your books, if they have progressed in line, go back to the beginning.

Date Posted: 4/24/2009 12:50 PM ET
Member Since: 7/19/2008
Posts: 15,424
Back To Top

And make sure you put any WL books that are near the top on auto request.  Otherwise they also go on hold. 

Date Posted: 4/24/2009 2:35 PM ET
Member Since: 8/23/2007
Posts: 26,510
Back To Top

It says you joined in 2007. 

But yes is you put your account on hold you will not get any book requests. Just put your WL on autorequest.

Date Posted: 4/24/2009 2:37 PM ET
Member Since: 8/28/2007
Posts: 9
Back To Top

Yeah, I signed up in 2007 but only started using the site last week. :)

Date Posted: 4/24/2009 2:37 PM ET
Member Since: 2/18/2009
Posts: 158
Back To Top

Hmm.  I wonder if there's a glitch causing the wrong "join date."  Weird.

Date Posted: 4/24/2009 5:46 PM ET
Member Since: 12/9/2007
Posts: 9,601
Back To Top

I joined and waited about 3 months to become active because I wanted to know what I was getting into.  I took the time to read the guidelines and follow some of the posts on the forums to get a feel of the place.  But 1.5 years?  Wow - you are more patient than I am!

Ruth

Date Posted: 4/24/2009 5:52 PM ET
Member Since: 5/10/2005
Posts: 2,354
Back To Top

Eh, I've joined places, then didn't have time or decided not interested.  Then a while later something would trigger the memory and I'd decide I was then interested and become active.   It happens.