Discussion Forums - Science Fiction

Topic: Hugo Ballot for 2009

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Hugo Ballot for 2009
Date Posted: 3/20/2009 4:14 PM ET
Member Since: 1/2/2008
Posts: 174
Back To Top

I am SO jazzed about Scalzi!!



Anticipation: Press Release #20, March 2009

Hugo Nominees Announced


Anticipation is pleased to announce the Hugo nominees for 2009. For more information about the award and the voting process consult our website http://anticipationsf.ca/English/Hugos


The Hugo Award, first presented in 1953, celebrate the best in the field of science fiction and fantasy. Recipients are chosen by members of the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS). The Hugos are presented each year at the World Science Fiction Convention.


799 Total Ballots cast


Best Novel (639 Ballots Cast)

Anathem by Neal Stephenson

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

Saturn's Children by Charles Stross

Zoe's Tale by John Scalzi


Best Novella (337 Ballots Cast)

‘‘The Erdmann Nexus’’ by Nancy Kress

‘‘The Political Prisoner’’ by Charles Coleman Finlay

‘‘The Tear’’ by Ian McDonald

‘‘True Names’’ by Benjamin Rosenbaum & Cory Doctorow

‘‘Truth’’ by Robert Reed


Best Novelette (373 Ballots Cast)

‘‘Alastair Baffle's Emporium of Wonders’’ by Mike Resnick

‘‘The Gambler’’ by Paolo Bacigalupi

‘‘Pride and Prometheus’’ by John Kessel

‘‘The Ray-Gun: A Love Story’’ by James Alan Gardner

‘‘Shoggoths in Bloom’’ by Elizabeth Bear


Best Short Story (448 Ballots Cast)

‘‘26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss’’ by Kij Johnson

‘‘Article of Faith’’ by Mike Resnick

‘‘Evil Robot Monkey’’ by Mary Robinette Kowal

‘‘Exhalation’’ by Ted Chiang

‘‘From Babel's Fall'n Glory We Fled’’ by Michael Swanwick


Best Related Book (263 Ballots Cast)

Rhetorics of Fantasy by Farah Mendlesohn

Spectrum 15: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art by Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner, eds.

The Vorkosigan Companion: The Universe of Lois McMaster Bujold by Lillian Stewart Carl & John Helfers, eds.

What It Is We Do When We Read Science Fiction by Paul Kincaid

Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded: A Decade of Whatever, 1998-2008 by John Scalzi


Best Graphic Story (212 Ballots Cast)

The Dresden Files: Welcome to the Jungle

Girl Genius, Volume 8: Agatha Heterodyne and the Chapel of Bones

Fables: War and Pieces

Schlock Mercenary: The Body Politic

Serenity: Better Days

Y: The Last Man, Volume 10: Whys and Wherefores


Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form (436 Ballots Cast)

The Dark Knight

Hellboy II: The Golden Army

Iron Man Mark




Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form (336 Ballots Cast)

Lost: “The Constant”

Doctor Horrible's Sing-Along Blog

Battlestar Galactica: “Revelations”

Doctor Who: “Silence in the Library”/”Forest of the Dead”

Doctor Who: “Turn Left”


Best Editor, Short Form (377 Ballots Cast)

Ellen Datlow

Stanley Schmidt

Jonathan Strahan

Gordon Van Gelder

Sheila Williams


Best Editor, Long Form (273 Ballots Cast)

Lou Anders

Ginjer Buchanan

David G. Hartwell

Beth Meacham

Patrick Nielsen Hayden


Best Professional Artist (334 Ballots Cast)

Daniel Dos Santos

Bob Eggleton

Donato Giancola

John Picacio

Shaun Tan


Best Semiprozine (283 Ballots Cast)

Clarkesworld Magazine


The New York Review of Science Fiction

Weird Tales


Best Fan Writer (291 Ballots Cast)

Chris Garcia

John Hertz

Dave Langford

Cheryl Morgan

Steven H Silver


Best Fanzine (257 Ballots Cast)


Banana Wings


The Drink Tank

Electric Velocipede

File 770


Best Fan Artist (187 Ballots Cast)

Alan F. Beck

Brad W. Foster

Sue Mason

Taral Wayne

Frank Wu


The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (288 Ballots Cast)

Aliette de Bodard

David Anthony Durham

Felix Gilman

Tony Pi

Gord Sellar


The 67th World Science Fiction Convention, known as Anticipation, will take place in Montréal, Québec, Canada from Thursday, August 6th through Monday, August 10th, 2009.

More information about Anticipation, including current membership rates, is available on our web site http://www.anticipationsf.ca