Book Reviews of The Initiate (Time Master Trilogy, Book 1)

The Initiate (Time Master Trilogy, Book 1)
The Initiate - Time Master Trilogy, Book 1
Author: Louise Cooper
ISBN-13: 9780812533927
ISBN-10: 0812533925
Publication Date: 11/1985
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.

3.4 stars, based on 19 ratings
Publisher: Tom Doherty Assoc Llc
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

3 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Initiate (Time Master Trilogy, Book 1) on + 42 more book reviews
The seven gods of Order had ruled unchallenged for centuries, served by the adepts of the Circle in their bleak northern castle on the Star Peninsula. But for Tarod the most mysterious and formidable sorcerer in Circle's ranks a darker affinity had begun to call. Threatening his beliefs, even his sanity, it rose unbidden from beyond time; an ancient and deadly adversary that could plunge the world into madness and chaosâand whose power might rival that of the gods themselves.
And though Tarod's mind and heart were pledged to Order, his soul was another matter...
The first in the series this book was intended to be a children's book but some of the subject matter is a little to racy for age groups under 14. I had read these books at the request of a friend years ago, and while I had lost a lot of the story to time, they were still a good read.
reviewed The Initiate (Time Master Trilogy, Book 1) on + 53 more book reviews
The Initiate is the beginning of possibly one of the best trilogies of the 20th century.
In this unnamed planet where balance is everything, the gods of order have ruled for centuries; the gods of chaos are not happy about this. The book starts a story about law vs chaos, good vs evil and the absolute necessity of free will; we see all this thru the eyes of one of the most compelling characters ever: Tarod, black-haired and green-eyed and truly a force of nature when it comes to magic. It is interesting to notice that Ms. Cooper managed to pull the reader along the history of the place and to make it attractive, effectively making the background as much a character as the people themselves. (The last time I saw something like this was on The Lord of the Rings!!)
It is followed by The Outcast and The Master; Ms. Cooper has two more offerings set on the same universe: The Chaos Gate Trilogy and The Star Ascendant Trilogy.
reviewed The Initiate (Time Master Trilogy, Book 1) on + 14 more book reviews
Just a little bit too cliche for me. Still an okay read, though.