Book Reviews of The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1)

The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1)
The Lions of Lucerne - Scot Harvath, Bk 1
Author: Brad Thor
ISBN-13: 9780743436731
ISBN-10: 0743436733
Publication Date: 1/1/2002
Pages: 432
Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 11

4.3 stars, based on 11 ratings
Publisher: Atria
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

41 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 54 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
This is the first in the Scot Harvath series. The first chapters were filled with annoying acronyms, but the story was action packed and really moved along. I will continue with the series.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 6 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
First in series. Page turner Excellent read
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 79 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Really like Brad Thor's writing style and story. You want his main character to succeed and come to care about him.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 82 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Great Read, Loved it! Will be reading more by Brad Thor. This was my first.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
good for those who like techno/military thrillers. I liked it.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 136 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Great first book by this author. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 9 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Good international thriller
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 25 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
A great story running from one thing to another in the plot. Hard to put down. Immediately went out to find another book by Thor.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 26 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
An enjoyable book with tons of action and intrigue. Ending wrapped up just a little too neatly, so it only got three stars. Will be trying "The Apostle" next.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 222 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Excellent book, full of intrigue.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Fast paced and edge of your seat....great book
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 31 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
About the kidnapping of the President of the United States. "A high -voltage entertainment reminiscent of Robert Ludlum and David Morell."A Library Journal
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 10 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Very good thriller! As in other titles by Thor, the hero does seem to have his share of good luck, but there is plenty of action and suspense.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 2509 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
In this incredibly fast-paced thriller, a conspiracy hatched close to the Oval Office results in the kidnapping of the president and the slaughter of a company of Secret Service agents commanded by ex-Navy SEAL Scot Harvath. The story careers from the ski slopes of Utah to the top of Switzerland's Mount Pilatus and sets Scot on an impossible mission: recover the president, evade renegade Swiss spy Gerhard Miner and his cadre of trained agents, and elude the American conspirators who are hot on his trail. Framed for murder, his reputation in tatters, his former colleagues turned against him, Harvath finds an unlikely ally in a beautiful Swiss prosecutor who's been checkmated by Miner once too often. Together they play a high-stakes game of mixed "doubles" to save the president and uncover the conspiracy. Brad Thor's debut novel is a tightly wound spy tale that makes up in excitement what it lacks in subtlety and character development. Ludlum fans will love it.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 14 more book reviews
Good yarn, if a little bit fantastic. Nice escape book
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on
This was a great book, the beginning was a little slow but you can push through it. After that it is smooth sailing! If you like watching 24 or The Unit! You will love this book. Can't wait to start the next one!
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 355 more book reviews
I'm loving this Scott Harvath series! Fast-paced, believable and very frightening!
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
This book is Brad Thor's first novel. After reading it I can see why he has risen to the top of the list of authors who write political and terrorism thrillers. I am going to read all of his books and eagerly wait for each new one he writes.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on
very good book. I was impressed by ability to keep the story interesting thruoghout the entire book. I plan to resd all of his books
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 43 more book reviews
When i first seen the title of this book,The Lions Of Lucerne. I had no idea how good this series was until i started to get into the story. It's true when they said, Never Judge A Book By It's Cover. I am an avid reader and book collector. I have read hundreds of books. I own a major book collection, so it takes a really good book for me to take the time to write a review of it,and it has to be really, really good to make it into my personal book collection. The Lions Of Lucerne did just that, I liked this book so much, i went out and purchased the entire book series. I not only added it to my personal collection. I am up to book number 7 in series. I also ordered a signed copy of the latest book in the series, CODE OF CONDUCT. I recommend this book to all readers who want to enjoy a good book, but be careful you will get hooked on this book series.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 587 more book reviews
This is the first Brad Thor novel that I have read and it is also the first in the Scot Harvath series. A great action thriller! In this one, the president is kidnapped while on a skiing trip near Park City, Utah. Harvath, an ex-Navy Seal, is the head of the Secret Service detail who were to protect the president but while he was protecting the president's daughter, the rest of his team is eliminated and the president is captured. But how was this accomplished, who was responsible, where was the president taken? Harvath feels it is his duty to find out the answers but he finds himself implicated in the plot and must strike out on his own. He finds out that some U.S. Senators are involved in the plot and clues lead him to Switzerland and into the heart of the Lions' den. A real page-turner in the vain of Vince Flynn. I really enjoyed this one and will be reading others in the series.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 9 more book reviews
Thor's first novel that introduces main character, good guy, Scot Harvath. Fans of DeMille, Flynn,Stephen Hunter,James W. Hall, and Lee Child will like this. Loads of action/adventure
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 71 more book reviews
An exciting thriller. This is the first in the series featuring Scot Harvath, an ex-Navy Seal fighting terrorism in the world.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 2 more book reviews
Very Good
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 118 more book reviews
Brad Thor is a favorite author and keeps the suspense flowing!
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 2 more book reviews
Nail biter! I loved it!
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 11 more book reviews
Scott Harvath series is one to read
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on
Lions of Lucerne is a good thriller, but I did find some of the action unbelievable. This isn't the first such book where the hero seems to be immortal, but it is worth a read if you are into special-ops type thrillers.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 98 more book reviews
This is an incredibly fast-paced thriller, a conspiracy hatched close to the Oval Office results in the kidnapping of the President and the slaughter of a company of Secret Service agents. The story careens from the ski slopes of Utah to the top of Switzerland's MT. Pilatus. Brad Thor's debut novel is a tightly wound spy tale that makes up in excitement what it lacks in subtely and character development.I feel that this book was well written (especially for a "First novel" and fast-paced. Like many thrillers, there are portions that require you to check reality at the door, but isn't that what makes thrillers enjoyable in the first place? It's predicatble in places, and the heros seem to escape a riduculous amount of well aimed bullets, but I think you'll find it an enjoyable listen, mostly for its "fun" factor. Abridged Edition. 4 cassettes. Running Time Approx 5 hours
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 14 more book reviews
High energy but a little predictable and beyond belief. Jason Bourne/James Bond like heroics.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Was the first Brad Thor book I had read. I'm now reading them all!
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on
This book was excellent. It has a fast moving plot, but Thor writes in a style that is very easy reading. If you like espionage/thrillers, you will love this one.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 7 more book reviews
Overall I enjoyed it, although at times, it seemed to go on and on into way more detail than was necessary. As a result, I lost interest at time, but kept reading. It was worth it!

I have Foreign Influence (Bk. 9)... trying to decide whether I want to read the seven books in between.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on
Engoyed The Lions of Lucerne very much!!!
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on
Good book
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 89 more book reviews
great book,move over Jason Bourne and Sean Dillon,this guy is the best.Action galore,never a dull moment
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on
A conspiracy is hatched close to the Oval Office and results in the kidnapping of the president and the slaughter of a company of Secret Service agents commanded by ex-Navy SEAL Scot Harvath. The story careers from the ski slopes of Utah to the top of Switzerland's Mount Pilatus and sets Scot on an impossible mission: recover the president.

Don't miss this thrilling story.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 9 more book reviews
Scot Harvath thriller.
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 6 more book reviews
Great story
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 18 more book reviews
Thank you!
reviewed The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) on + 106 more book reviews
National Bestseller