Discussion Forums - Paranormal

Topic: Lora Leigh's Breed Series - Advice needed about book order - Help!

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Lora Leigh's Breed Series - Advice needed about book order - Help!
Date Posted: 2/24/2008 1:22 PM ET
Member Since: 11/11/2005
Posts: 5,238
Back To Top

I recently picked up two books in Lora Leigh's Breed series - Harmony's Way and Tanner's Scheme.  

I'm one of those people who likes to read a series from the beginning, but it's been tough to figure out what the beginning of this series IS.    The series has been through several publishers and was apparently written and published out of chronological order.  And there are different "breed" focuses within the series.  Harmony's Way is the lion breed and Tanner's Scheme is the bengal breed.

Soooo,  should I read ALL of the books in the Breed series or can I just focus on reading books with one particular breed (for example, the Lion breed books are Tempting the Beast, The Breed Next Door in Hot Spell, Megan's Mark and Harmony's Way).

I'm hoping that those who have read the series can give me some advice!

Date Posted: 2/24/2008 4:42 PM ET
Member Since: 8/31/2005
Posts: 3,730
Back To Top

This is the correct order from her site.

1) Tempting the Beast-
Callan and Merinus
Lion Breed
Children: David

2) The Man Within-
Taber and Roni
Panther Breed
Children: 1 son (name unknown)

3) Elizabeth’s Wolf-
Dash and Elizabeth
Wolf Breed
Children: Cassie (Elizabeth’s daughter adopted by Dash) and Kenton

4) Kiss of Heat-
Sherra and Kane
Snow Leopard Breed
Children: 1 son (name unknown)

5) Soul Deep-
Kiowa and Amanda
Coyote Breed

6) The Breed Next Door (in Hot Spell antho)-
Tarek and Lyra
Lion Breed

7) Megan’s Mark-
Braden and Megan
Lion Breed

8 ) Harmony’s Way-
Harmony and Lance
Lion Breed
Children: 1 son (name unknown)

9) Tanner’s Scheme-
Tanner and Scheme
Bengal Breed
Children: twins (names and gender(s) unkown)

10) Wolfe’s Hope-
Wolfe and Hope
Wolf Breed
11) Jacob’s Faith
Jacob and Faith
Wolf Breed (both of them)

12) Aiden’s Charity-
Aiden and Charity
Wolf Breed
Children: 1 son (name unknown)

13) In a Wolf’s Embrace-
Matthais and Grace
Wolf Breed

14) Dawn’s Awakening-
Dawn and Seth
Cougar Breed

15) A Jaguar’s Kiss (in Shifter anthology - available 3/4/08)-
Saban and Natalie
Black Jaguar Breed

16) Mercury’s War (available October 2008)-
Mercury and Ria
Lion Breed

17) Christmas Heat (in a currently untitled anthology, available October 2008)-
Noble and Haley
Jaguar Breed

Last Edited on: 2/24/08 4:43 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 2/24/2008 4:52 PM ET
Member Since: 11/11/2005
Posts: 5,238
Back To Top

Thanks Ashley, but I already checked out Lora Leigh's site and got that info.  I think I'm not asking my question clearly enough.  Let me try again....

That IS the correct chronological order for all the books, but what I'm wondering is if I really need to real all of those books in the order listed?   If, for example, I just read the Lion Breed books, will there be characters whose backgrounds I don't know because they were explained in books from the series that aren't Lion Breed?  

Last Edited on: 2/24/08 4:53 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 2/24/2008 5:19 PM ET
Member Since: 12/7/2006
Posts: 1,099
Back To Top

I personally think you can read them out of order - I've not read all of them but stil been able to figure out what was going on.

Date Posted: 2/24/2008 5:26 PM ET
Member Since: 6/26/2006
Posts: 91
Back To Top

You really should read all the books in order.  The different breeds interact and if you just read (for example) the feline breed books you may not understand some things that occur.  Some characters and plots are carried forward thoughout the books irrespective of the breed.  As an example - Cassie first appears in Elizabeth's Wolf (Wolf breed series) but she also appears in the next book 'Kiss of Heat' (Feline Breed) and then she reappears at various times in the series.

Date Posted: 2/24/2008 5:31 PM ET
Member Since: 8/31/2005
Posts: 3,730
Back To Top

I've read a bunch out of order and it does make it more confusing not knowing what happened in other books.

Date Posted: 2/25/2008 6:14 PM ET
Member Since: 8/25/2007
Posts: 13,134
Back To Top

I've read a lot of them out of order and I personally don't think it makes that much of a difference, at least in this particular series. 

Date Posted: 2/25/2008 11:01 PM ET
Member Since: 4/23/2005
Posts: 378
Back To Top

I personally can't stand to read them out of order, several times previous characters are mentioned and a bit ot their story is thrown in for background and then the previous book is ruined for me.  I'm just anal about reading books out of order.  I can't do it.  It makes me literally ill, of course I also shelve my can goods alphabetically and all boxes in order of size.  ROFL

Date Posted: 2/26/2008 7:27 AM ET
Member Since: 8/31/2005
Posts: 3,730
Back To Top

I just read the first one and it was such a big help, the whole time I was like oooohhh

Date Posted: 2/26/2008 3:05 PM ET
Member Since: 7/9/2005
Posts: 788
Back To Top

This series and Angela Knight's Mage series are my favorite!!!  I would definitely recommend reading them in their correct order.  I have all her Breed books and re-read them just to remember little facts that don't seem important at the time, but you have to know to figure out what is happening at this point of time in the series.  Like Haley, I also have to read all series in their correct order or else I feel like I'm missing some facts.

Date Posted: 2/26/2008 9:13 PM ET
Member Since: 11/11/2005
Posts: 5,238
Back To Top

Thanks for all of the advice, ladies!    I have decided that I would like to read the series, but I would like to do it in order and it's going to take me a while to get those first 4 books - they are heavily wishlisted AND Ellora's Cave books (which means that they aren't posted often).    So while I wait I'm going to post the two books that I have for someone else to enjoy.