Discussion Forums - Science Fiction

Topic: The Lost Fleet by Jack Campbell update

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: The Lost Fleet by Jack Campbell update
Date Posted: 10/8/2009 4:11 PM ET
Member Since: 1/14/2008
Posts: 36
Back To Top

was reading another site and found something interesting that i thought some readers here would enjoy.

these were replies to some statements & questions being discussed   link is at the bottom


Posted by John G. Hemry         Posted on Sep 12, 2009 6:05 PM PDT

Good news. I've reached agreement with the publisher for two new series. One series will be a follow-on to the Lost Fleet, following Geary in the wake of book six (Victorious), and the other series will be set
on a Syndicate Worlds planet as the leaders there cope with events in the wake of Victorious.


In reply to an earlier post on Sep 14, 2009 4:31 AM PDT
 John G. Hemry says:
I don't know how the publisher will space the titles, but I'll have deadlines at nine-month intervals starting in May. Since books in the series will alternate, they'll hopefully come out at less than one year intervals.


In reply to an earlier post on Sep 30, 2009 5:17 AM PDT
 John G. Hemry says:
Decisions by the publisher are still tentative, but at this point the follow-on novels about Black Jack and his companions will be under the Lost Fleet umbrella, but with a sub-series title of Beyond the Frontier (that is The Lost Fleet - Beyond the Frontier). The publisher understandably wanted to retain the well-known Lost Fleet name even though the fleet isn't really lost anymore, but the sub-title gives us a way to differentiate the follow-on series from the original. The working title for the first of the Beyond the Frontier books is Dreadnaught. Again, we're a ways out from those books appearing (Victorious, the last of the original Lost Fleet series books, appears next May) so names can change. (In fact, Victorious is so far the only book in the series whose name hasn't been changed.)
The other series has a working title of The Phoenix Stars. That's even more tentative, though, and the first of those is at least a couple of years off.