Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Lots of extra characters thrown in my RC

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Lots of extra characters thrown in my RC
Date Posted: 7/8/2010 1:59 PM ET
Member Since: 7/24/2005
Posts: 356
Back To Top

A member who is sending me a wishlisted book pm'd me that my Requester Conditions were all weird with lots of extra, unnecessary characters thrown in. 

I had the problem with my Signature and corrected that.  But after I correct my RC by removing all those extra characters and click the "update settings" key, I STILL have the extra characters in my RC even after refreshing the page.

Anyone else having this problem?

Thanks, Jan

Date Posted: 7/8/2010 2:05 PM ET
Member Since: 2/23/2009
Posts: 96
Back To Top

Oh man, mine has done the same thing!! I've fixed mine several times and the weird characters (mostly capital "A") keep coming back! Should we report it as feedback so they can look into the problem?

Date Posted: 7/8/2010 2:33 PM ET
Member Since: 4/7/2008
Posts: 15,690
Back To Top

Since the new features were updated, I've had problems with my siggy line. I didn't realize it also extended to the RCs!

I suggest you send in Feedback to the Team. I'm sure they'd like to hear about this.

Date Posted: 7/8/2010 4:39 PM ET
Member Since: 7/24/2005
Posts: 356
Back To Top

I sent feedback to the PBS team.  I still haven't been able to correct my RC and get all those extra letters out of it.

Date Posted: 7/8/2010 6:09 PM ET
Member Since: 8/25/2009
Posts: 702
Back To Top

Borrowed from a post on eBay.  Are you composing your RC in MS Word?  If so:
 
How come we get ? when using Apostrophes? and quotation marks ?
Example 1/2" wrench shows up as 1/2 ? wrench or Mary's shows up as Mary ?. Very frustrating.
 
How do you stop it from happening again? If you're using MS Word, you should turn off Smart Quotes to force all quotes and apostrophes to render as normal ASCII characters.

For Word97, Word2000, and WordXP

1. Pull down the Tools menu
2. Select AutoCorrect.
3. Select AutoFormat As You Type.
4. Deselect Replace as you type "Straight quotes" with "smart quotes".
5. Select AutoFormat.
6. Deselect Replace "Straight quotes" with "smart quotes".
7. Click OK.
Date Posted: 7/8/2010 8:50 PM ET
Member Since: 7/19/2008
Posts: 15,471
Back To Top

I went to check mine and they were there.  Tried a bunch of stuff to fix it.  No luck.  Then ran the spell checker.  That seemed to do it.

(I didn't compose in Word.  I typed directly into the box.)



Last Edited on: 7/8/10 8:51 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 7/8/2010 9:37 PM ET
Member Since: 10/7/2008
Posts: 894
Back To Top

Spell Checker won't fix it, this is a mess.  Not such a great upgrade folks

Date Posted: 7/8/2010 10:42 PM ET
Member Since: 6/19/2008
Posts: 5,720
Back To Top

I had the same thing happen to me yesterday when I was adding something to my siggy line.  It was a bunch of AAAA's and little weird lines.

Date Posted: 7/8/2010 11:27 PM ET
Member Since: 5/16/2009
Posts: 8,277
Back To Top

I don't know why it worked, but I hit the left justify button in the tool bar, then deleted all the A's and just added in one space for where each A had been... then saved & they went away...

Date Posted: 7/9/2010 2:44 AM ET
Member Since: 4/28/2009
Posts: 9,721
Back To Top

Have only had that happen on profile page when I'm changing my signature section. (I write what I'm currently reading and what i just finished plus some favorite sayings.)  The weird characters show up there only AFTER I'm done typing it in and have clicked "update". BUT it  does NOT show up in the actual signature when I post something in the forums.

Len S. (lens) - , - PaperBackSwap Team
Date Posted: 7/9/2010 12:35 PM ET
Member Since: 12/21/2006
Posts: 797
Back To Top

We've taken steps to resolve this. If you have those strange characters showing up, just edit again to delete them. After you save your edits, the characters should not appear when shown to other users or when opened back up in the editor.

Date Posted: 7/9/2010 5:09 PM ET
Member Since: 4/7/2008
Posts: 15,690
Back To Top

Thanks Len!

OMG, Diane, you're a livesaver! I get this problem all the time when I do the write-ups for the my games (which I do in Word because of the ability to save them.) Those ? instead of - have been driving me nuts!

Cathy A. (Cathy) - ,
Date Posted: 7/9/2010 5:17 PM ET
Member Since: 12/27/2005
Posts: 4,138
Back To Top

The Paste from Word button is supposed to fix these things, but it doesn't seem to be working.



Last Edited on: 7/9/10 5:18 PM ET - Total times edited: 2
Date Posted: 7/10/2010 2:02 AM ET
Member Since: 5/18/2007
Posts: 13,201
Back To Top

Thank you PBS for fixing this. It was driving me nuts!

Date Posted: 7/11/2010 10:21 AM ET
Member Since: 2/23/2009
Posts: 96
Back To Top

Thanks for fixing this problem!

ETA: I was using the box here on this site, wasn't using any other program.



Last Edited on: 7/11/10 10:23 AM ET - Total times edited: 1