Skip to main content
PBS logo

Discussion Forums - Mystery & Thrillers

Topic: would love some advice

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Generic Profile avatar
Subject: would love some advice
Date Posted: 8/17/2008 9:14 PM ET
hi Everyone, I'm new to mysteries and thrillers in general. this is one genre that I really haven't read much of. I'm trying to broaden my horizons but I've found I'm horrible at picking out books on my own...either that or a lot of the "best sellers" and other contemporary fiction are just crap. I was hoping that someone might be able to help me pick out a good mysteries series to start out with. The only mysteries that i'm familiar with are the Stephanie Plum series but I would prefer something with less romance in it. A little is all well in it's place, but sometimes Evanovitch goes a little too far. I also like historical fiction so a historical mystery or one that relates to history would be great. I've gone through a lot of these threads but i'm a little overwhelmed! If anyone has the time I would love the advice. :) Thank you!
Generic Profile avatar
Date Posted: 8/17/2008 9:46 PM ET

One great place to start is to check out www.stopyourekillingme.com. This is a wonderful website for mystery lovers. Once you get on the site, look at the categories on the left. Until the new Genre Index is finished, you might want to look at the Read-Alikes. You can also look at the Job Index, which lists the occupations of series' characters. The Historical Index will give you the time period of series' characters.

I'm sure others will chime in with their favorites, but I am a cozy mystery addict. I read Susan Wittig Albert, Sarah Graves, Rett MacPherson, Carolyn G. Hart, Rita Mae Brown, Joann Fluke, Diane Mott Davidson, Carolyn Haines, Denise Swanson, Joanne Pence and M. C. Beaton, among others.

Welcome, Hannah!

Beanbean avatar