Book Reviews of Mama Flora's Family

Mama Flora's Family
Mama Flora's Family
Author: David Stevens, Alex Haley
ISBN-13: 9780684834719
ISBN-10: 0684834715
Publication Date: 10/5/1998
Pages: 400
Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12

4.1 stars, based on 12 ratings
Publisher: Scribner
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

4 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Mama Flora's Family on + 49 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
This is an excellent book, written from the beginning with a young Flora and extending into her children and grandchildren's lives. Quite a contrast of values with the changing times, but written with historical events intertwined along the way and bringing the characters into play with some of them. This book is well written and entertaining from the start, and even with the ending of the book, leaves a person feeling they have read a book of not only great entertainment, but with the feeling of having read something of worth.
reviewed Mama Flora's Family on + 44 more book reviews
I really liked this book. It follows a family from the time of slaverly through the turbulent times of the 1960s.

(from dust jacket--"In the tradition of Roots and Queen, Mama Flora's Family is a sweeping epic of contemporary American history, culled from the unpublished works of award-winning writer Alex Haley. It is the poignant story of three generations of an African-American family who start out as destitute sharecroppers in Tennessee.")
reviewed Mama Flora's Family on + 7 more book reviews
a very good read, especially if you like the book Roots... I smiled and cried all the way through... This woman had a tough life, but remained to hold her head very high. And she was no nonsense and raised her family right. Also a movie...
reviewed Mama Flora's Family on
An excellent fictional narrative of the life of a black woman born into a share cropping community in Tennessee. This novel traces the stories of Flora and her children and grandchildren through the first half of the 20th Century into the ideas and struggles of the 1960's. Readers get a glimpse into the south (Tennessee), the north (Chicago) the east (New York) and even Africa.

Captivating, honest, redeeming. Very readable. I highly recommend this book.