Book Reviews of The Man Who Was Poe

The Man Who Was Poe
The Man Who Was Poe
Author: Avi
ISBN-13: 9780380711925
ISBN-10: 0380711923
Publication Date: 8/1/1991
Pages: 224
Reading Level: Young Adult
Rating:
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15

3.6 stars, based on 15 ratings
Publisher: HarperTrophy
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Man Who Was Poe on + 128 more book reviews
In a small room, in a tenement, in Providence, Rhode Island, in November of 1848, a boy and his sister wait for their aunt to return from her latest trip into town to find their missing mother. This time, however, she has been gone three days.

When the boy finally has to leave to find food, he returns to find his sister missing, though he had locked the door from the outside. The next day, his aunt is found dead. The boy's only hope to find his sister and mother seems to lie with a man who seems to be living in two worlds, both being dark and demonic. Edmund and his companion are thrown into an adventure frought with murder, robbery, deceit, ghosts, and much, much more.

Avi paints a dark picture, but produces a great detective novel in the tradition of Sherlock Holmes, Hercule Poirot, and Auguste Dupin. I thought this was entertaining, as well as historically educational.