Book Reviews of Metropolitan Life

Metropolitan Life
Metropolitan Life
Author: Fran Lebowitz
ISBN-13: 9780449200896
ISBN-10: 0449200892
Publication Date: 8/12/1982
Pages: 222
Rating:
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4

3.1 stars, based on 4 ratings
Publisher: Fawcett
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

2 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Metropolitan Life on + 120 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
One of the most wickedly funny books I've ever read! Fran's takes on such topics as manners, vocational guidance and food are a riot. Some of the references to disco and mood rings may seem dated but are in acutality more of a historical reference at this point. I laughed myself silly!
reviewed Metropolitan Life on + 255 more book reviews
Out of print 1978 paperback with groovy cover was a New York Times bestseller. In the tradition of Dorothy Parker, Lebowitz portrays the vicissitudes of contemporary urban life--its fads, trends, crazes, morals, and fashions. By turns ironic, facetious, deadpan, sarcastic, wry, wisecracking, and waggish, she is always wickedly entertaining. Fran Lebowitz's sense of humor is still very much appreciated--just check some of her quotations.