Book Reviews of The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1)

The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1)
The Novice's Tale - Sister Frevisse, Bk 1
Author: Margaret Frazer
PBS Market Price: $8.09 or $4.19+1 credit
ISBN-13: 9780425143216
ISBN-10: 042514321X
Publication Date: 11/1/1993
Pages: 240
Rating:
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 86

3.6 stars, based on 86 ratings
Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

19 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 19 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
First in the Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries series. I have read better in the medieval mystery category. I didn't think the main character was developed that well and I didn't get attached to her like I do in the works I really enjoy. Also, the perpetrator was not much of a "mystery" to me. I am not the most astute in guessing villains but did so here! I have decided to try another 1 or 2 of her books to see if this changes.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 203 more book reviews
Book 1
I enjoyed the characters and the drama, but I still knew who dun it!
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on
I was really disappointed in this book; it is the first in a long series, and I was hoping for a great list of books to look forward to. But, alas, it didn't hold my interest, so I guess it's a one-off.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 86 more book reviews
Sister Frevisse, hosteler of St. Frideswide and amateur sleuth, is sinfully good at discerning the mysteries of the soul...and solving the crimes of the human heart. This book is the FIRST IN THE SERIES!
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 1107 more book reviews
I've read a few other Frevisse titles, and think that this one is among the best. The tangled story is sometimes nearly lost in the details of 15th century life, the convoluted family relationships, and the distracting sidelines that Frazer seems to love, but for me the character of Frevisse makes it all worthwhile. She is devoted to truth, whether solving the current mystery or coming to terms with her own shortcomings. She presents an engaging and convincing balance of piety and reality, strength and vulnerability.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 4 more book reviews
This is an interesting book. Very different from usual reading material.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 683 more book reviews
The first book in a new series. Sister Frevisse is sinfully good at discerning the mysterious of the soul...and solving the crimes of the heart.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on
I didn't think I'd be able to get into a mystery set with a group of nuns in the year 1431, but it was quite enjoyable. Good for cozy mystery lovers.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 774 more book reviews
The first in the extensive 'Sister Frevisse' medieval mystery series.
Although it is definitely more a formula mystery than an historical
novel, I didn't find it to be aggravatingly ahistorical.
Set in 15th century England, the convent of St. Fridewide's is home to
Sister Frevisse, a devout but eminently practical nun. It's also home
to Thomasine, a young novice whose piousness goes far beyond the
ordinary. Thomasine is deathly afraid that her loud and obnoxious Aunt
Ermentrude will somehow drag her out of the convent to be married
before she can take her final vows. So when Lady Ermentrude turns up
dead, suspicion naturally falls on Thomasine - shy as she may be, she
definitely had a motive. And the official in charge of investigating
the crime seems loath to look any further and the quickest and easiest
suspect to hang the crime on (and hang). But Sister Frevisse has a
feeling that Thomasine is innocent - and it looks like it will fall to
her to try to find the actual murderer.
A fun and entertaining read.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 2 more book reviews
Good little mystery escape story. I very much enjoyed it and hope to read the rest of the series
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 71 more book reviews
The Dame Frevisse mysteries are well written, entertaining and historically satisfying. Great series.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 157 more book reviews
The Sister Frevisse series is one of my top favorites in the historical mystery genre. Margaret Frazer is an excellent writer, good detail, plot and characterization.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 174 more book reviews
First Book in the medieval mystery series featuring Dame Frevisse, a nun at the St. Frideswide's monastery. In this first story in the series, a very cranky Lady Ermentraud arrives at the monastery and is poisoned. Thomasine, one of the monastery's novices is niece of the noblewoman. When the local authorities want to find Thomasine guilty of her aunt's murder, Dame Frevisse gets to work to find out the truth.

I enjoyed the medieval setting and learning more about life in the monastery during hte 1400s.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on
This is the first in a series of mysteries set in England in the 1400s. The sleuth is a nun living in a small rural cloister. Part history lesson, part social commentary, and part pure whodunnit, the books contain amazing details about daily life of that period. As the series progresses, the events of English history play out as the fictional nun interacts with well-known figures. Supporting characters come and go (one supports a spin-off series), but Sister Frevisse stays as interesting in the recent episodes as in the early ones. Although she would rather remain behind the cloister walls in the peace that comes with a predictable routine and a very short list of desires, she accedes to the world's demands on her wit and intelligence. This episode puts a medieval spin on an ageless theme: the lengths to which people will go to maintain social standing.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 5 more book reviews
I really enjoyed this book. It is well written. It got very exciting at the end where you could not put the book down until the even end. It is one of those mystery where you thought you knew who did it but at the end you were wrong.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on
Great suthor, great series!
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 39 more book reviews
Did not enjoy reading this book. My understanding of the time in which is was set is poor.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 204 more book reviews
(From back cover) It is the year of Our Lord's grace 1431, and the nuns of England's St. Frideswide sweetly chant their Paternosters behind gracious, trellised walls. But their quiet lives are shattered by the unwelcome visit of the hard-drinking, blaspheming dowager Lady Ermentrude, with her retinue of lusty maids and men, baying hounds, and even a pet monkey in tow. the lady demands wine, a feast, and her niece, the frail and saintly novice Thomasine.

What she gets is her own strange and sudden death.

Sister Frevisse, hosteler of the priory and amateur sleuth fears murder. The most likely suspect is pious Thomasine ... but Frevisse alone detects a clever web spun to entangle an innocent nun in the most unholy of passions - and the deadliest of deeds.

In the tradition of Ellis Peters' Brother Cadfael novels, Sister Frevuisse is sinfully good at discerning the mysteries of the soul ... and solving the crimes of the human heart.
reviewed The Novice's Tale (Sister Frevisse, Bk 1) on + 475 more book reviews
TO THE PRIORY A LADY CAME FOR MISCHIEF AND FOR MURDER

It is the year of Our Lord's grace 1431 and the nuns of England's St. Frideswide sweetly chant their Paternosters behind gracious, trellised walls. But their quiet lives are shattered by the unwelcome visit of the hard-drinking, blaspheming dowager Lady Ermentrude, with her retinue of lusty maids and men, baying hounds and even a pet monkey in tow. The lady demands wine, a feast and her niece, the frail and saintly novice Thomasine.

What she gets is her own strange and sudden death.

Sister Frevisse, hosteler of the priory and amateur sleuth fears murder. The most likely suspect is pious Thomasine ... but Frevisse alone detects a clever web spun to entangle an innocent nun in the most unholy of passions - and the deadliest of deeds.