Book Reviews of Oblivion Road

Oblivion Road
Oblivion Road
Author: Alex McAulay
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $19.99
Buy New (Paperback): $14.79 (save 26%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $10.89+1 PBS book credit (save 45%)
ISBN-13: 9781416548065
ISBN-10: 1416548068
Pages: 304
Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14

4 stars, based on 14 ratings
Publisher: MTV
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

4 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Oblivion Road on + 126 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
whew...if this were a movie, I'd have had my eyes closed through 1/2 of. I can't even imagine how cold and miserable the conditions were. I'm cold sitting in my HOUSE and these characters had to trudge through depths of snow in the hopes of finding rescue. The tension is kept high throughout the course of the story and the reader gets a feel for how different people handle themselves in a crisis situation. What would you do? I have BAD GIRLS and LOST SUMMER at home and now will probably pick them up sooner rather than later. This was different from the normal young adult stuff I read, but it was worth it!
reviewed Oblivion Road on + 7145 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

Five friends, Jeremy, Courtney, Reyna, Harris, and Melanie, just wanted to have a fun vacation. Skiing on the slopes and just hanging out. Everything was fine until the ride home.

Not knowing what happened, Courtney finds herself on a road with a guy, Jeremy, right beside her. The car the teens were in had crashed and flipped into a ditch, but none of them knows how it happened. All of them are fine, rescuing one another, but having someone rescue all of them seems impossible, especially when everything is isolated and a blizzard is closing in on them. The teens are stranded, with no way to call for help or find their way home -- but at least they have each other.

They all lose hope since there is no way out, that is until they see a van. Unfortunately, the van was once home to prisoners who were being transported, and who have escaped, leaving the drivers behind, dead. Surviving through harsh weather may have been hard, but now trying to stay alive with convicts loose seems much more difficult. Of course, not all convicts are bad, right? At least that is what the one convict says when he stumbles upon the teens.

The convict, J.G., says he was in the army and was only in prison for selling drugs and would not kill anyone, especially the guards. Sure, he may have helped Melanie, with her injured leg, and he knows all the medical terms and possibly a way for the teens to go home. But will the teens stick with him the entire time to be saved, or will they regret ever trusting him? Will all of them find their way home or will only a few make it?

Five teens, oblivious of what lies ahead, of what will happen in the end.

Being stranded and having to survive is Alex MacAulay's forte. In true fashion, being trapped and completely lost has to be the least of anyone's worries since there are more dangers that lurk in every corner. Another hit from MacAulay, who leaves his readers at the edge of their seat, wondering themselves if being stranded would be as exciting as this. Fans of BAD GIRLS and LOST SUMMER will not be disappointed.
reviewed Oblivion Road on + 13 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Reading this book made me think of those teenage horror flicks I used to watch as a young adult. Every scene in the book I could picture on the big screen. It's one of those that I would be gripping my husband's hand next to me as I sit on the edge of my seat, waiting for the next ball to drop, trembling with anticipation. The author created such a suspenseful, tense storyline that kept me up until 1:00am on a work night, because I HAD to know how it ended!

I loved this book! I will admit that I figured out what was going on about midway through, but I didn't know for sure, so I was furiously turning the pages to see if I was right! The author's pacing of the story was spot on and kept me intrigued page after page. I love how the chapters ended on a cliffhanger, so I had to continue reading to see what happened next! Hence, the staying up until 1:00am part!

I'm not going to recap the book as I think the synopsis is spot on and covers it all perfectly. I love suspenseful novels and this one definitely fit the bill. This is the first book I read by this author and I will definitely be looking for his others. This is a great young adult book, with some fairly gruesome scenes, so be forewarned!! It reads very quickly and easily and will keep you on the edge of your seat. Recommended!!

Jennifer
http://www.crazy-for-books.com
reviewed Oblivion Road on + 608 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Wow, what a book! It gripped me in the first pages, but I did get somewhat frustrated in places where I felt they did some stupid things or were arguing amongst themselves, but being young and in their situation, I could accept and understand it. Despite that, as everything intensified, I could not turn the pages fast enough. There are twists you can't see coming and the horror of choices made and not made left me reeling. Yes, wow, what a book!