Search - List of Books by Paul Levine

Paul Levine (born January 9, 1948) is an American author of crime fiction, particularly legal thrillers. His novels have been translated into 21 languages. He has written three series, known generally by the names of the protagonists: "Jake Lassiter," "Solomon and Lord," and “Jimmy Payne.”

Lassiter, a Miami Dolphins linebacker turned hardnosed lawyer, appeared in seven novels. He has been described by Booklist as “one of the most entertaining series characters in contemporary crime fiction” and by The Miami Herald as having “a lot more charisma than Perry Mason ever did.” To Speak for the Dead, the first of the Lassiter series, was honored as one of the ten best mysteries of the year by the Los Angeles Times, which described Lassiter as “Travis McGee with a law degree.” A screen adaptation of the book — re-titled "Jake Lassiter on the Bayou" — became an NBC movie in 1995.

Steve Solomon and Victoria Lord, squabbling Miami lawyers, appeared in four books. The banter between the mismatched law partners has been described as “reminiscent of the very best of David and Maddie in Moonlighting.”

Levine’s novel, “Illegal,” marked the debut of Jimmy (Royal) Payne, a down-on-his-luck Los Angeles lawyer who is caught up in a human trafficking scheme. Calling the book a “riveting read,” Booklist noted the reality-based nature of the fiction: “The portrait of the dangers and predations that Latinos face crossing the border is chilling and rings with authenticity.”

Levine also wrote "9 Scorpions," a thriller set at the U.S. Supreme Court. The novel was the inspiration for the television series First Monday, which Levine co-created with veteran producer Donald P. Bellisario. The short-lived show, starring James Garner, Joe Mantegna, and Charles Durning appeared on CBS in 2002. The series was canceled due to poor ratings in key demographics, Levine protesting that First Monday was “a hit with the crowd between Medicare and the mortuary.”

Levine also wrote 19 teleplays for the CBS military series JAG, which aired from 1995 to 2005. He has been quoted by The Third Degree as saying that his greatest accomplishment on the series was “landing on an aircraft carrier and steering a nuclear submarine, both without endangering national security.”

Levine has written, with a self-deprecating tone, about beginning his Hollywood career at the advanced age of 51. “Before I traveled west, I thought Hollywood writers rolled into work around 11 a.m., scribbled for a couple hours, drank their lunch at Musso and Frank's, then cracked wise with starlets the rest of the day. Like Rick, who came to Casablanca for the waters, I was misinformed.”

Writing Style

Solomon vs. Lord series: Levine’s novels often have a sly, sardonic tone. Publishers Weekly wrote that Solomon vs. Lord had “genuine laugh-out-loud moments. Fans of Carl Hiaasen and Dave Barry will enjoy this humorous Florida crime romp.” Though novels of crime fiction, they often revolve around the conflict between Victoria Lord, a by-the-book lawyer and her ethically challenged partner, Steve Solomon, who lives by “Solomon’s Laws:”

“When the law doesn’t work, work the law.”

“Lie to your priest, your spouse, and the IRS, but always tell your lawyer the truth.”

“I will never break the law, breach legal ethics, or risk jail time...unless it’s for someone I love.”

Jake Lassiter series: The St. Petersburg Times compared the hero of Levine’s first series with the protagonists of John D. MacDonald and Robert Parker: “For those of us who can’t get enough Spenser and miss Travis McGee terribly, there is Jake Lassiter.”

Jimmy (Royal) Payne series: Levine’s 2009 novel, Illegal, is more hard boiled than the earlier series. Set in motion when a mother and son are wrenched apart on a midnight border crossing, the book introduces Jimmy (Royal) Payne, a lawyer who uncharacteristically tries to do the right thing and is swept up in the world of human trafficking and sexual slavery.

Awards   more �

Other Endeavors   more �

Books   more �

This author page uses material from the Wikipedia article "Paul Levine", which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0
Total Books: 99
2017 - Last Chance Lassiter [Jake Lassiter Legal Thrillers] (Audio CD)Paperback
2017 - Flesh Bones [Jake Lassiter Legal Thrillers] (Audio CD)Paperback, Hardcover
2017 - Fool Me Twice [Jake Lassiter Legal Thrillers] (Audio CD)Paperback, Hardcover, Audio CD
Riptide
2017 - Riptide [Jake Lassiter Legal Thrillers] (Audio CD)Paperback
ISBN-13: 9781536682441
ISBN-10: 1536682446
Genre: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  ?

2017 - Mortal Sin [Jake Lassiter Legal Thrillers] (Audio CD)Paperback, Hardcover, Audio CD
False Dawn
2017 - False Dawn [Jake Lassiter Legal Thrillers] (Audio CD)Paperback, Hardcover, Audio Cassette
ISBN-13: 9781536682380
ISBN-10: 1536682381
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  ?

Bum Luck
2017 - Bum Luck (Paperback)Audio CD
ISBN-13: 9781477823101
ISBN-10: 1477823107
Genre: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  ?

Illegal A Novel
2017 - Illegal a Novel (Audio CD)Paperback, Hardcover
ISBN-13: 9781536665598
ISBN-10: 1536665592
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  ?

Night Vision
2016 - Night VIsion (Paperback)Paperback, Hardcover
ISBN-13: 9780998316659
ISBN-10: 0998316652
Genre: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  ?

In Case You Want To Know
2016 - In Case You Want to Know (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781491795026
ISBN-10: 1491795026
Genre: Literature & Fiction
  ?

To Speak For The Dead
2015 - To Speak for the Dead [Jake Lassiter Legal Thrillers - Volume 1] (Paperback)Paperback, Hardcover
ISBN-13: 9781514774045
ISBN-10: 1514774046
Genre: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1

Bum Rap
2015 - Bum Rap (Audio CD)Paperback
ISBN-13: 9781501248962
ISBN-10: 1501248960
Genre: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  ?

In Vertretung der Toten - Ein Jake-Lassiter-Krimi
2014 - In Vertretung Der Toten - Ein Jake-lassiter-krimi [German Edition] (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781477823026
ISBN-10: 1477823026
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  ?

Habeas Porpoise
2014 - Habeas Porpoise [Solomon vs. Lord - Volume 4] (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781494445959
ISBN-10: 1494445956
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1

State vs Lassiter
2013 - State Vs Lassiter [Jake Lassiter, Bk 11] (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781492184874
ISBN-10: 149218487X
Genre: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1

Lassiter
2012 - Lassiter (Paperback)Hardcover
ISBN-13: 9781475115208
ISBN-10: 1475115202
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  ?

Paydirt
2011 - Paydirt (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781468106039
ISBN-10: 1468106031
Genre: Literature & Fiction
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1

Intrigue
2011 - Intrigue [Stories of Suspense] (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9780615571683
ISBN-10: 0615571689
Genre: Literature & Fiction
  ?

Ballistic
2011 - Ballistic (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9780982811368
ISBN-10: 0982811365
Genre: Literature & Fiction
  ?

Top Suspense 13 Classic Stories by 12 Masters of the Genre
2011 - Top Suspense 13 Classic Stories By 12 Masters of the Genre (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781461032366
ISBN-10: 1461032369
Genre: Literature & Fiction
  ?

Illegal A Novel of Suspense
2011 - Illegal a Novel of Suspense (Paperback)Hardcover, Audio CD
ISBN-13: 9780553591057
ISBN-10: 0553591053
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1

America since 1945 The American Moment
2010 - America Since 1945 the American Moment (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9780230251458
ISBN-10: 0230251455
Genres: History, Nonfiction
  ?

Kill All the Lawyers
2009 - Kill All the Lawyers [A Solomon vs. Lord Novel - Library Edition - Solomon vs. Lord Novels] (Audio Cassette)Paperback, Audio CD
ISBN-13: 9781433227257
ISBN-10: 1433227258
  ?

Illegal
2009 - Illegal (Hardcover)Paperback, Audio CD
ISBN-13: 9780553806731
ISBN-10: 0553806734
Genre: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9

2007 - The Deep Blue Alibi [A Solomon Vs. Lord Novel] (Paperback)Paperback, Audio Cassette, Audio CD
2007 - Trial Error [Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 4] (Paperback)
2006 - Kill All the Lawyers [Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 3] (Paperback)Paperback, Audio Cassette, Audio CD
2006 - The Deep Blue Alibi [Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 2] (Paperback)Paperback, Audio Cassette, Audio CD
2005 - Solomon Vs Lord [Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 1] (Paperback)Paperback, Hardcover
2004 - Managing Ip Networks Challenges and Opportunities [Ieee Press Series on Network Management] (Other)Hardcover
1998 - 9 Scorpions [Audio Cassette - Abridged] (Audio Cassette)Paperback, Hardcover
1998 - Flesh and Bones [Jake Lassiter Mystery] (Paperback)Paperback, Hardcover, Audio CD
1996 - Fool Me Twice [Jake Lassiter] (Hardcover)Paperback, Audio CD
1995 - Slashback [Jake Lassiter, Bk 5] (Paperback)Hardcover, Audio Cassette
1995 - L'heritage Empoisonne [French Edition] (Paperback)
1995 - Mortal Sin [Jake Lassiter, Bk 4] (Paperback)Paperback, Hardcover, Audio CD
1992 - Night VIsion [Jake Lassiter, Bk 2] (Paperback)Paperback, Hardcover
1991 - To Speak for the Dead [Jake Lassiter, Bk 1] (Paperback)Paperback, Hardcover
E L Doctorow [Contemporary Writers] (Paperback)