Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Printing wrapper problem

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Printing wrapper problem
Date Posted: 9/26/2013 9:33 PM ET
Member Since: 4/25/2007
Posts: 11,532
Back To Top

I just tried to print two wrappers for book requests.  They load just fine in Adobe Acrobat and all looks normal and readable on my computer screen.  When they print though, it's like they're written in some foreign language.  Not readable, weird symbols and such but still in the format of the PBS wrapper.

Anyone else seen this or had anything weird happen like that when printing wrappers?

I should add this is only a problem when printing a wrapper from PBS.  I can print postage just fine and airline tickets and whatever else I want to.  Just not wrappers.



Last Edited on: 9/26/13 9:36 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 9/26/2013 11:15 PM ET
Member Since: 2/26/2006
Posts: 35,010
Back To Top

Have you tried to print with the back-up wrapper?

Date Posted: 9/27/2013 2:30 PM ET
Member Since: 8/26/2006
Posts: 9,336
Back To Top

There are several solutions suggested here:

 

http://ides.winnefox.org/node/294

Date Posted: 9/27/2013 7:29 PM ET
Member Since: 4/25/2007
Posts: 11,532
Back To Top

That link looks good Patty!  And yes, that example they have is like what I'm getting when I print bookwrappers.

I haven't tried the backup wrapper either.  I'll try that too next time I have a book to send out.

Thanks for the suggestions!

Date Posted: 9/27/2013 8:38 PM ET
Member Since: 9/14/2008
Posts: 379
Back To Top

It does that to me every so often. I just reprint it and the second time it works.cool

Date Posted: 9/27/2013 10:09 PM ET
Member Since: 9/22/2010
Posts: 3,200
Back To Top

Have you tried turning off your printer, then restarting it? I know most printers now stay on in a lower energy mode when not in use.

Same with your computer.

I've worked with computers since the 70s and rebooting, even printers, when all else fails is still very good advice.

Date Posted: 9/28/2013 12:37 AM ET
Member Since: 6/30/2007
Posts: 2,468
Back To Top

Adobe Acrobat can be a memory hog too and I've had it freeze up and do similar things when trying to print or edit PDFs. Especially if you've opened (or closed and reopened) several PDFs.  A reboot will often fix things as it clears out items the computer thinks are still in the acrotray.