Book Reviews of Promises to Keep

Promises to Keep
Promises to Keep
Author: Alexandra Raife
ISBN-13: 9780340826270
ISBN-10: 0340826274
Publication Date: 9/1/2004
Pages: 352
Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5

3.5 stars, based on 5 ratings
Publisher: Hodder Stoughton
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

2 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Promises to Keep on + 718 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
II have always tremendously enjoyed this author's books, but this one was a severe disappointment to me! Most of my disappointment lay in the author's characterization of Miranda, the main character, and her inability to take responsibility for her actions and attitudes, the way she chose to be such a doormat, etc. I got so tired of her being such a wet rag that I found it hard to care about her and all that happens to her in the book. And it left me wondering why any of the other characters in the book cared about her. Since the romance between her and Ian Ross is the crux of the plot, I did not feel that the characterizations supported it sufficiently. Raife's books used to be more uplifting, more hopeful, more involving and the last two written have been darker and unsatisfying.
reviewed Promises to Keep on + 221 more book reviews
Very enjoyable family drama; for fans of Rosamunde Pilcher and Marcia Willett.