Book Reviews of Rage Factor (Dixie Flanagan, Bk 2)

Rage Factor (Dixie Flanagan, Bk 2)
Rage Factor - Dixie Flanagan, Bk 2
Author: Chris Rogers
ISBN-13: 9780553580709
ISBN-10: 0553580701
Publication Date: 1/4/2000
Pages: 400
Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33

4.1 stars, based on 33 ratings
Publisher: Bantam
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

7 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Rage Factor (Dixie Flanagan, Bk 2) on + 1130 more book reviews
Based on the wow factor of the first novel in this series, I could hardly wait to start the second book, RAGE FACTOR. If you arent into rape, violence and vigilante revenge, you may want to pass this one. This takes gritty to a new level it is not for the faint-of-heart!

I really liked the fact that Dixie was still with her paramour, Parker Dunn, from the first story. However, theres plenty of angst between them. Theres the issue of the dangerous nature of Dixies job. Parker is worried that Dixie will get into something she cant handle. The opening chapters of this story prove Parker to be right to worry.

As a native Houstonian, Ive enjoyed the generous sprinkling of Houston-area sites and addresses in this series. It is a nice change from the usual addresses in Los Angeles; is just me or are most of the bad guys in crime novels hanging out in LA & San Francisco? Im glad to see that a few have moved to Houston.

This book has several things going on; it begins with an assault/rapist escaping conviction through his good looks and sincere smiles. The rapist has the prosecutor and Dixie in his sites for vicious retaliation.

In the meantime, Dixie has taken a bodyguard job protecting the 16 year-old daughter of a famous actress. Threatening notes have been coming for weeks to the actress. The most recent one has promised that the stalker will take his anger out on the daughter.

At the same time, a vigilante group of unknown persons is wreaking vengeance on those miscreants who escape justice in the court system. Dixie is worried that she may know some of the participants. All these strands make for a well-paced book with lots of action some of it grisly.
4 stars

Dixie Flanagan
1. Bitch Factor (1998)
2. Rage Factor (1999)
3. Chill Factor (2000)
4. Slice of Life (2012)
reviewed Rage Factor (Dixie Flanagan, Bk 2) on + 38 more book reviews
Fun series. For fans of Janet Evanovich or Sue GRafton. Not Stephanie Plum, but still worthwhile.
reviewed Rage Factor (Dixie Flanagan, Bk 2) on + 1130 more book reviews
This series by Chris Rogers speaks to me; I have enjoyed each story for different reasons. The main characters are engaging; the relationship problems between Dixie and Parker are fascinating.

I believe Rogers has created a believable situation - a woman struggling with her past and her fear of letting a significant male (Parker) get close to her. Dixie carries some serious wounds from the emotional abuse via her birth mother. Dixie tried to get her mother to protect her from her "boyfriends" - instead, her mother ignored her. Dixie tried to avoid the boyfriends on her own; however, Mom often colluded with the men to allow Dixie to be used. When the significant person in a child's life does not protect, that child learns not to trust.

This series seems to be a study in Dixie's learning to trust herself and others. Dixie and Parker love each other but Dixie carries some very heavy baggage from her years with her birth mother. Bless Parker for giving her the room and time to work on herself.

Dixie has made significant changes in this book. It shows in her reaction to the psychologist - she rejects the doctor's pseudo-science, numerology and astrology. However, Dixie hears the messages about her behavior and how it isn't getting her what she wants.

The plot in this book is rather complicated but includes "Granny Bandits," revenge murders and mind control. The only reason I didn't give this a 5 stars is because it dragged a bit at times.

If you will look at the series list below, you may notice that it took 12 years to get the final book in the series printed. That is because Rogers has published it herself. I've already ordered the final installment; otherwise, it is hard to find. 4.5 stars

Dixie Flanagan
1. Bitch Factor (1998)
2. Rage Factor (1999)
3. Chill Factor (2000)
4. Slice of Life (2012)
reviewed Rage Factor (Dixie Flanagan, Bk 2) on + 72 more book reviews
I LOVED this book, which I got entirely by accident! If anyone has any other books by Chris Rogers, please let me know!
reviewed Rage Factor (Dixie Flanagan, Bk 2) on + 657 more book reviews
Amazon.com: "A lot of the fun and energy in Bitch Factor, Chris Rogers's first book about Texas prosecutor-turned-bounty hunter Dixie Flannigan, came from Dixie's unabashed audacity and attitude...This simplicity of purpose also keeps Dixie's return on track, even as the events swirling around her become a lot more complicated. How could a jury actually find a sadistic rapist named Lawrence Coombs not guilty? That's what Dixie wants to know. But she gets over her disappointment and on with her work ...and her life ... Then a vigilante group of women, who call themselves the Avenging Angels, viciously beat up Coombs, and he mistakenly blames Dixie for the attack..." --Dick Adler
From Publishers Weekly: "In a tale with the impact of a blunt instrument, Houston bounty hunter Dixie Flannigan (Bitch Factor) becomes the hunted. After hauling in sexual sadist Lawrence Coombs to stand trial for rape, and getting a broken ankle in the process, Dixie is appalled when the jury lets the man walk. A vigilante group called Avenging Angels (perhaps including one of Dixie's best friends) viciously attacks Coombs. Mistakenly believing that Dixie is one of the Angels, the sadist vows revenge on the bounty hunter. Dixie, meanwhile, agrees to act as bodyguard to Sarina Page, daughter of a TV star who is visiting Houston despite threatening notes from a stalker. To complicate matters, Dixie must balance her job with her developing relationship with Parker Dann, the hunk who was her quarry in her first novel and who now worries that her work is too dangerous. Although gutsy Dixie is undeniably engaging, her adventures this time out suffer from slow-moving subplots. Rogers's handling of violence remains sharp, however, and the climactic showdown scene between Dixie and Coombs is a knockout." Copyright 1999 Reed Business Information, Inc. --
reviewed Rage Factor (Dixie Flanagan, Bk 2) on + 142 more book reviews
Great book! Can't wait to read the next one.
reviewed Rage Factor (Dixie Flanagan, Bk 2) on + 765 more book reviews
Excellent. Female Bounty hunter.