Search - The Reincarnationist (MIRA) (MIRA)

The Reincarnationist (MIRA) (MIRA)
The Reincarnationist - MIRA
Author: M. J. Rose
ISBN-13: 9780778301974
ISBN-10: 0778301974
Publication Date: 1/18/2008
Pages: 480
Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1

4.5 stars, based on 1 rating
Publisher: Mira
Book Type: Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover, Audio CD
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed The Reincarnationist (MIRA) (MIRA) on + 33 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
This book had so much potential. It could have been written to provide more tension, more mystery, more meat. Reincarnated persons crossing and re-crossing each others' paths could be so much more interesting and rewarding.

While it kept my interest enough for me to finish it, I'm disappointed (that I finished it). I literally didn't realize that the book was over until I turned the page and found the Author's Note. What?

Yes, it had a very UN-satisfying ending.

I will admit that I didn't see "the big twist" until about the time I was meant to see it, but it wasn't all that surprising. The plotting and character interactions were sloppy and fairly mechanical.

This is the author's 9th book. If this is what she's done after 8 previous attempts, I'm glad I didn't start at the beginning.

I will, however, look for other novels addressing the subject. Now that I've considered the potential for the story line, I'm interested in finding something more satisfying.
reviewed The Reincarnationist (MIRA) (MIRA) on + 173 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
Fans of Preston & Child's thrillers will find somewhat familiar turf and pacing in this thriller that weaves past lives with the quest for some historical artifacts. The rapid switching between the here and now and the past lives can be a bit tricky at first, but the payoff is worth it. An intriguing plot that is fresh and interesting in the thriller genre.
reviewed The Reincarnationist (MIRA) (MIRA) on + 330 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 6
What if one day you had a dream that was more real than your current reality. What if the person you were today kept flashing into someone that you really shouldn't know? What if you know things that happened 1700 years ago with the precision that astonishes the experts? What if you were reincarnated? What if the book just leaves storylines dangling? What if the authors previous writing experience in erotica appears in this book? What if the end is sudden and way too abrupt? What if when you finished the book you said, "so what"? http://tinyurl.com/3c69x3
reviewed The Reincarnationist (MIRA) (MIRA) on
Helpful Score: 3
With all the hoopla about this book I was expecting a great read. Unfortunately that didn't happen. The storyline was predictable and you don't realize the book is finished until you turn the page and see the author's notes. I'm sorry I did finish (?) it, if that's what you call this ending. About a third of the way through I did have to force myself to keep reading.

I have read several books on the subject and much preferred âGreen Darknessâ by Anya Seton.
reviewed The Reincarnationist (MIRA) (MIRA) on + 153 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
Exciting and rather long thriller involving reincarnation and past life regressions. Josh Ryder keeps having hallucinations about a past life as a priest to the Vestal Virgins in Rome, in 391 A.D. He tries to get proof that past lives exist and that souls are reincarnated in another body to right the ancient wrongs of their past lives. The plot gets befuddled with a secondary past life involving others in 1880s New York. I liked the book and wanted to know what was happening, but I felt that the writing was long-winded and belabored the reincarnation theme to death (no pun intended).
Read All 17 Book Reviews of "The Reincarnationist MIRA MIRA"

Book Wiki

Common Title
People/Characters
Josh Ryder (Primary Character)

Genres: