Book Reviews of Saint Tail #1

Saint Tail #1
Saint Tail 1
Author: Megumi Tachikawa, Anita Sengupta
ISBN-13: 9781892213655
ISBN-10: 1892213656
Publication Date: 5/2001
Pages: 190
Reading Level: Ages 9-12
Rating:
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10

4.2 stars, based on 10 ratings
Publisher: TokyoPop
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Saint Tail #1 on + 25 more book reviews
In the vein of Sailor Moon and Kamikaze Kaitou Jeanne, Saint Tail is a magical girl show about a pious girl named Meimi, who by night turns into the legendary thief Saint Tail. Like a small, adorable female version of Robin Hood, Saint Tail steals things from the wicked to return to the unlucky and unhappy. Because every magical girl needs a villain who is also a potential love interest, Saint Tail's rival is Asuka Jr., the cute boy detective. About the only remarkable thing about the series is its use of Catholic religion -- Saint Tail is, by day, a Catholic school girl, and her best friend and co-conspirator is a nun-in-training. Saint Tail does what she does for ostensibly religious motives of doing good by others.

Included at the end of this first volume are two short stories by the same artist, "Portrait of a Morning Glory" and "Music Box of Spring." While Saint Tail is a forgettable, if fun, piece of work, Morning Glory is a lovely, touching story about a sweet morning glory who wishes to become a human, if only for one day, so she can be with a human artist who so tenderly appreciates flowers.

Probably only of real interest to young girls and die-hard magical girl fans.